We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Central Hotel Wolter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Central Hotel Wolter to your Saves list
Central Hotel Wolter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorfstrasse 93 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 40 Hotels in Grindelwald
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

We had a room at the front of the Hotel with wonderful views of the mountains. Rooms at the back of the hotel without the view seemed darker and less inviting. Our room was large and comfortable. The bed was good. Bathroom was large. The breakfast was excellent for the price. It was very difficult to find initially as the signage is ambiguous. The location is near the railway and it is in the centre of town. A small supermarket is close by. The only detractor was that the car parking was behind the hotel in a very tight spot. We then had to drag our bags over a roof top walkway and come in through a back entry to the hotel. As a result of this outside foot traffic the carpets in the rear hallways were dirty and this seemed uninviting when we first arrived.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    63
    23
    2
    2
See reviews for
37
66
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
miami fl
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

I have stayed here 6-8 times in the last 10 yearsfor hiking trips and always find the folks at the front desk very helpful and friendly.
With the US$ so devalued I usually opt for a cheaper room on the 4 th floor but it is always clean bright and modern and with a great view to the alps!
The breakfast buffet is quite good for a 3 star property offering the usual cheeses meats rolls breads fresh fruits coffee.This year noticed the addition of egg dishes which one does not often find at 3 star properties.
Excellent location :an easy 1-2 minute walk from the train .

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

A scene of fake 3D rocks overhead on the ceiling ('like looking out of a cave' said my wife), alpine views on the wall, cupboard and fridge, and even a mountain goat with its head jutting out from the wall, greeted us when we entered our bedroom but after the initial shock we took it in good fun and this reflects the whole hotel. The staff are lovely, really friendly and helpful, nice buffet breakfast with hot and cold food, a terrace for guests overlooking the Eiger, and we had a lovely dinner with some of the nicest staff I have ever encountered. OK, the bathroom was small, and our view out of the bedroom window was bleak, but it was still great value and the location in central Grindelwald, and only 2 minutes walk from the station made up for this.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadillac, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

Our room was small, but bright and cheery. The bathroom was large and had a heated towel rack that we really enjoyed. There was a small table in the room, which served as a dinner table (if you bought food from the grocery store) or desk. The associated restaurant was great -- we ate there 3 of our 5 nights, and we ate at an affiliated hotel/restaurant on another night. Kangaroo was even on the menu (because the chef came from Australia). The ice cream desserts were beautiful and tasted great. Breakfast was good, but as other reviewers have commented, you need to get there early in order to get any of the fresh fruit. There were always Japanese tour groups at the hotel, but they were well mannered. They did, however, tend to eat breakfast before we did, and the would overwhelm the breakfast room and eat the fresh fruit before we got there.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
216 hotel reviews
Reviews in 181 cities Reviews in 181 cities
427 helpful votes 427 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

The Central Hotel Wolter was recommended by the Grindelwald Tourest Bureau: they were very helpful in suggesting alternatives that meet needs and budgets over the phone. The Hotel is located at the center of town, very convenient to the central bus parking and the train station (These are very clean, quiet, and tasteful facilities: there are no worries about noise or safety and it's a net plus for convenience). Covered parking is located behind the hotel (get directions at the desk).

Reception is located up one floor from the street level, where there is a restaurant: for disabled people, there is elevator service to Reception at the back of the restaurant. The desk gave a discount for a two night stay, and provided maps and directions for local trail, lifts, and restaurants. There is an elevator up to the rooms, and the hotel is quiet and clean. Rooms are traditional, lots of exposed wood and beams with a very nice balcony. Street noise was moderate and continuous through the night. There are no 'large' beds, only single beds pushed together. Wireless internet access is free (coupon at the desk), and there was minibar, cable television., and safe in the room. The bathroom had a tub and shower, good hot water and pressure.

Breakfast is served in the lounge adjacent to reception: the buffet has meats, cheeses, breads, cereals, and fruit: coffee pots are left for you at your table. It's good to get there early: as items were depleted, they were not replaced, and fruits and meats were in short supply. There are a number of good lunch and dinner spots within walking distance if you go up the road away from the train station towards the First chair lift.

The views of the mountains are magnificent from the hotel: when the clouds part, the full face of the Eiger looms overhead. There are wonderful trailheads a short bus or train ride away, or take a lift to the upper meadows and walk down.

The Hotel Wolter is a comfortable and traditional property located in the center of the city. It is a good choice for travelers wanting to relax in a place with easy access to all of the activities and sights of the area.

  • Liked — Location; desk staff; free parking and internet
  • Disliked — Need to get to breakfast early
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2007

We originally booked this hotel as it was the only one in Grindelwald that had free child places at the the time we wanted to travel. I was expecting a rather shoddy little hotel judging from some of the other reviews and was totally prepared not to expect anything great. Well, we had a very pleasant surprise.
After a 2 and a half hour train journey from Zurich airport (all of which was beautiful scenery) we were thrilled to see the hotel was literally across the road from the train station. No taxi needed or long walk with two children in a pram and suitcases. The hotel reception is above the hotels restaurant (not a pub as earlier described). You do have to climb some stairs but unless you are disabled or otherwise infirm it really is not a problem. The staff were really friendly and were expecting our arrival. The breakfast room leads off of the reception and is a bright and airy room with views of the Eiger Mountain. We were staying on the 4th floor and had interconnecting rooms with balconies with tables to sit and view the mountains (if you wished...not suitable for us because of the kids kept trying to climb over the balcony!) Bathroom was a good size, beds a little hard but not a prob, mini bar in each room and two tv.s, safe in one bedroom. We were staying on a half board basis and again I was not prepared for anything special. But the food was great! Four courses, all lovely fresh ingredients and really filling. They gave us a childs menu for the kids and they had extra icecreams every night. The restaurant has a really warm, homely feel. We were very comfortable. There is no swimming pool or other luxury touches but for the money you wouldn't expect there to be. There is so much to do here that you really dont miss these facilities. And if you really want to go swimming - or ice skating - , they give you a free pass to the sports centre just up the road. This looked really nice and is worth a visit with the kids - we however didn't go as we really didn't have time. The tourist info office is next door.
The train rides in the mountain are excellent - but very, very expensive - be prepared. Still worth the money. The trip to the top of the Jungfrau is amazing. The scenery is jaw dropping. Our boys are 3 and 5 and even they enjoyed it. They loved the fact that they could play in the snow at the top. They also loved the cable car rides and the horse and carriage ride.
October is the end of the season for Grindelwald and some cable rides are closed. There was hardly anyone in the village at times! But it didn't effect us, we still did everything we planned to do. The Tea Rooms in the village do excellent food by the way. The town is small but it has everything you need.
Overall I would recommend this hotel as a good, warm base. No frills but certainly adequate and we would stay again should we go to Grindelwald. Switzerland is outstanding, picturesque, people are friendly and well organised.
You must go.

  • Liked — the warmth of the hotel
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2007

After reading prior reviews I was pleasantly surprised to find such a nice hotel. The location is close to a train station, situated at the base of Mount Eiger with perfect views. The room was spacious and clean, hotel staff were friendly, and the breakfast served was very good. I would highly recommend this hotel as well as the lovely town of Grindelwald.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Central Hotel Wolter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel Wolter

Address: Dorfstrasse 93 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#8 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Hotel Wolter 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, seekda GmbH, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Central Hotel Wolter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Grindelwald

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Hotel Wolter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.