We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel to your Saves list
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorfstrasse 53, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Grindelwald
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great Location and Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We spent a few nights at this hotel in September 2013, to kick off two weeks in Switzerland/Italy. I slept very well in the comfortable room. We enjoyed the location, for both the views and the ease of getting to trains. The staff was excellent, very professional. We got to attend a welcome reception one night and met some of the family - great people. The restaurant was enjoyable, though perhaps a bit pricey. We loved the views from our balcony. We also enjoyed the sauna/hot tub/steam room very much. We would love to go back at some point.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelvedereCH, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Belvedere guest
Thank you very much for staying with us. It was a pleasure to meet you. We understand that our restaurant might seem expensive. The truth is that for Swiss standards we are not very expensive. We deliver high quality food, when possible with regional ingredients. Quality is very important to us and so we get the best available. This is unfortunately not cheap, especially not in Switzerland. We're glad to read that you nevertheless enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

Family Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    61
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
143
268
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carrabassett Valley, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

My family stayed at the Belvedere in August 2013 and had a very enjoyable stay. The staff and owners were friendly and courteous. The service was excellent. We loved the history and the beauty of the hotel. It has beautiful views of the mountainous Grindelwald region from rooms and decks.

Our breakfasts were very good with a wide choice. We were unable to try the restaurant for dinners due to our traveling times and prior commitments but heard very good reviews.

Room Tip: We were fortunate to have a corner room as one of our two rooms and it was delightful to have window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelvedereCH, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Belvedere guest
Thank you very much for the kind words. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Of course having a corner room is very nice but all views from Eiger view rooms are exceptional. We hope to welcome you back with us soon.

Best regards

Family Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights in early October 2013, we loved it - everything from start to finish was what we wished for in a stay at a quality Hotel. The staff, atmosphere, food (including optional German lessons, especially from Sonya) were all well above expectations. Nothing was too much trouble yet no fuss was made. All the reports on trip advisor, that we had read prior to booking, had not overstated the quality of the hotel.

We have not contributed to trip advisor reviews previously but will now do so, but I feel that this hotel and holiday experience has set the bar very high indeed.

Would not hesitate to return or recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelvedereCH, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Belvedere guests
Thank you so much for your stay with us and for your lovely comment. We're glad to hear that we could live up to your expectations and that you learned some German with Sonya. We'll be happy to let her know that you appreciated it.
We hope you got home safe and look forward to hopefully welcome you again soon.

Best regards

Family Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Grindelwald Belevedere in September this year.
It was a dream location with great window views in an excellent room, perfect TV and easy internet connections, and great food service.

Reception staff guided us to the walks that suited us and this created a totally enjoyable experience.

Reception was the key - excellent service and thoughtfulness for our enjoyment of the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelvedereCH, Inhaber at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Belvedere guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely comment. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The hikes are absolutely beautiful at this time of year with the trees changing color. We're glad we could guide you around Grindelwald so you could enjoy your stay to the fullest.
We hope you got back home safe and hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Family Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is my third time staying here, and even with 12 years gone by since my last stay, this family run hotel is better than ever. First of all, the Belvedere offers the most beautiful views you can possibly imagine of a pristine, velvety green alpine village and the Eiger. They certainly enjoy one the best positions in Grindelwald. The hotel and restaurant staff all exemplify the perfect combination of warmth and professionalism. As others have mentioned, there is a welcome drink, which is not done half-heartedly. The hotel really makes an effort to welcome you, offering tasty hors d'ouevres and seconds on our Champagne cocktails. The lounge room and connecting outdoor balconies offer breathtaking views of one of the prettiest places in Switzerland, if not the world. The rooms were quiet, comfy and well appointed (ask for the Eiger view side). The breakfast and dinner were innovative and delicious, all served in a wonderful atmosphere that was elegant without being overly fancy. The indoor pool and jacuzzi area are very well done and one can comfortably do laps in the large pool. There are two jacuzzis, one outside which is set in a lovely garden. This is a haven for comfort and enjoyment. The receptionist offered us small bottled waters for our drive home. Need I say more?

Room Tip: They do have good suites and family arrangements are possible. For the best views, do ask for the Ei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelvedereCH, Inhaber at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Belvedere guest,

Thank you for returning to our hotel after so many years. We're always happy to see people that have stayed with us before. Thank you also for the wonderful comment on our hotel. We're very happy we could make your stay so enjoyable and we hope to welcome you back with us soon.

Best regards

Family Hauser

PS: Did you know that our restaurant is on tripadvisor as well? If you could find the time to rate it too, we would be most thankful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My 10 year old son and I stayed in this hotel and we had a wonderful stay. My son is very picky about hotels and even before we made it to our room, he had fallen in love with the place. from the welcome drinks to the walk through in our hotel room, he was completely beside himself with excitement, all i could hear was "Oh Wow" from him. we were completely comfortable and the room (120) had two views, which made it even better. I had read a lot of great reviews about the hotel and went in with great expectations and the experience exceeded my expectations. The only regret was I didn't get to meet the owners, it is obvious that they are proud of this establishment. Now I see why some people have visited every year for decades, I intend to return with my wife.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelvedereCH, Inhaber at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Belvedere guest,
Thank you so much for staying with us and the nice comment. We're sorry we didn't get to meet you personally this time but we are very pleased to hear that you intend to return with your wife and we look forward to meeting you then. Until then we wish you the only very best.

Kind regards

Family Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We asked what visit this was for us to the Belvedere. They told us it was our tenth in fifteen years. Perhaps that by itself constitutes a review. The rooms are impeccable. The Eiger side of the hotel is a spectacular view. Our schedule each day was breakfast…lots of choices…continental with the breads, butter, cheeses, jams/marmalades outstanding and many cereals and/or eggs, meat, pancakes on the weekends...you get the idea.

Then we would venture out on one of our hikes. Our favorite is First/Bachalpsee/Faulhorn (strenuous for us, roundtrip about 9-10 miles with 1,700 foot ascent, but if you take your time you’ll make it with the reward being rosti and a cold beer at the Faulhorn hotel, reputedly the oldest continuously operating mountain hotel in Europe). Another favorite is to walk down about 1,100 feet from Mannlichen to Wengen. The entire walk has the Lauterbrunnen Valley with Jungfrau as the backdrop. When we need a break from the strenuous ones (at least for us) we walk from Mannlichen to Kleine Sheidigg where one has the Grindelwald Valley in sight the whole time. This year we saw one young couple take the walk with their baby…in his pram. They say you can push a wheelchair the distance…beautiful and easy. We also enjoy walking down from Kleine Sheidigg to Alpiglen our favorite little mountain restaurant serving…yes you guessed it …our mountain favorite rosti (shredded fried potatoes with onions and, at Alpiglen, with cheese (many other variations).
Our daily walk was often followed by the whirlpool. We always do the fresh water one; this year we discovered they had added an outdoor salt water whirlpool. We did not try it but most guests seemed to favor it over the fresh water.

After a rest, it was time for dinner. The routine on our first nine visits was a six course meal with wine (starter, soup, salad, main, dessert, cheese). This year they changed the practice…much more sane. The meal was not part of the cost; one could choose from two to six courses and pay accordingly. Our two courses each night were followed by one or two pieces of exquisite swiss chocolate (bought by the piece at a suisse chocolate store visited each day on the way home from our walk) with tea in our rooms or in the lounge...always hit the spot. We still ate far too much.

A small tip along the way. This year for the first time we took advantage of a morning at a mountain farm observing and learning about “life on the farm”. It was extremely interesting. In our case two young people were the cheesemakers…up at 4:30 to milk the 17 cows, then several hours of making that day’s cheese (from three to one 18 inch rounds each day, more early in the season as the cows eat more grass each day), a rest after lunch, followed by 3-4 hours of rounding up the 17 cows and bringing them home for evening milking. Dinner at 7:30 then to bed. They do this for about 3 months, seven days/week. The visit is capped by cheese and milk tasting. Cheese we love; the milk was the first I have had in decades other than on cereal. It was quite good.

After a good night’s sleep in extremely comfortable beds, we started the whole routine over the next day. A fantastic week. We look forward to our 11th time in the next few years…although now at 72 whether we’ll make it to the top of Faulhorn next time remains to be seen. One final observation which leads us to know we’ll be back. There is no finer mountain transportation system anywhere than in the Berner Oberland. There are gondolas, cogwheel railways and other forms of lifts that will take you from the valleys to 6,000 to 7,000 feet. From all of these spots there are beautiful views even if you don’t/can’t walk up another 1,000 or more feet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelvedereCH, Inhaber at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Belvedere guests,
Thank you so much for returning to the Belvedere this year. It was a great pleasure hosting you for the 10th time. The trip to the farmers is truly a special experience for whoever is willing to join us on this early morning trip and it was our great pleasure to take you with us. Thank you also for the wonderful and very detailed comment. There really isn't anything to add apart from the outside whirlpool, which you should definitely try next time you are here.
We wish you a wonderful rest of the year back home and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards

Philip Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel

Address: Dorfstrasse 53, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald: Your holiday hotel in Grindelwald! Enjoy your holiday in Switzerland, in the Jungfrau region at the foot of the world-famous Eiger. Relax in the Spa with indoor pool and salt-water Jacuzzi in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Venere, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Swiss Quality Grindelwald
Hotel Belvedere Swiss Quality

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.