We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel to your Saves list
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorfstrasse 53 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save on Activity tickets
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed a family of 5 at this hotel on July this year. We planned to visit the area and were looking for a good location to start our daily trips.
The hotel is well located and was with parking as we had a car.
As you enter the hotel you get welcoming drinks, so you can relax by siting and looking at the grate view of the mountains surrounding the town.
We had a great room for 5 (you even have an air refresher in the room). We stayed on the weekend and enjoyed the house cocktail in the evening on the lawn. The breakfast is excellent. They offered for my small child to do especially for her pancake. Also on Sunday you have special treats in breakfast.
The staff was very smiling and friendly. The hotel location is wonderful and the atmosphere is relaxing, 5 minutes' walk to the train station and to the center of town.
Everything was perfect including the swimming pull, Jacuzzi and saunas.
When we went to Jungfrau, we didn't need to rush.
We had a very relaxing time.

Room Tip: Get rooms viewing the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oz999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelvedereCH, Inhaber at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Belvedere guests,
Thank you very much for staying with us and for writing a wonderful review. We really appreciate it. As you mentioned we are located only 5 minutes from the train station, but as we know 5 minutes can be a long time with all your luggage, we offer a pick up service for arrival and departure. In winter we also offer a private ski bus to the First and Männlichen gondolas. We hope you got home safe and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

best regards

The Hauser family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here for five nights in August. Actually, we planned to stay for four nights, but found the hotel to be so wonderful that we extended our time there an extra night. The hotel is wonderfully situated, close to town but with privacy. The location could not be better. The family rooms are fabulous for a family of four, including two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a sitting area, and a balcony. Our 8 and 9 year old girls loved the pool area and jacuzzi which provided us (the parents) lots of time to relax after hiking. The restaurant is the best in town, and we decided to eat there the majority of the nights (we regretted any night we ate off premise). Their breakfast buffet is also incredible! The food could not be beat. Our daughter celebrated her birthday at the restaurant and they decorated the table beautifully in her honor. The staff was especially kind and aware of her nut allergies. They were very patient with our family, as our trip was cancelled numerous times due to personal circumstances. It is one of the best places we have ever stayed. Hotel Belvedere just gets it right!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent with views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KOChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelvedereCH, Inhaber at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Belvedere guest,
Thank you so much for staying with us this summer. It was a great pleasure to meet your family. Your two girls are just lovely and we were more than happy to make sure the allergy would not be a problem. Did you know our restaurant is on tripadvisor as well? Should you have the time it would be wonderful if you could rate it as well. The room you stayed in is one of four rooms that size. It works perfectly for a family of 4 or 5 people. Of course we also have bigger rooms if you have a larger family.
We hope you got back to the US safely and hope to welcome you with us again soon. Maybe even in winter for some family skiing.

Best regards

The Hauser family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel last week, as part of an excellent Inghams tour package. The standards in the hotel and the hotel restaurant are truly excellent, but the major factor in our enjoyment was the friendly and helpful family and staff who make guests feel so welcome. I can't imagine stayng anywhere else in Grindlewald. VERY good choice Inhghams.

Room Tip: Rooms with views of the Eiger are particularly good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomBSm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelvedereCH, Inhaber at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Belvedere guest,
Thank you for booking our hotel with Inghams and for the wonderful comment. It was a great pleasure to have you with us and we hope you will return to Grindelwald soon. If you wish to book with us, you can also do this, either over our website or you can also send us a email or give us a call.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

best regards

The Hauser family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have been going here for many years. The management bend over backwards to meet individual needs. They offer pillow and bedding options and cater for fussy eaters, like me. Everyone is friendly but also efficient. The hotel's position gives it the best views of the village.

Room Tip: South facing have views of the Eiger
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelvedereCH, Inhaber at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Belvedere guest,

Thank you very much for returning to the Belvedere. It was wonderful to see you again. Thank you also for the wonderful comment. We always try our best to cater to every wish. Not only do we offer a pillow selection but also our restaurant is capable of preparing food for any allergy thinkable. Just let us know in advance so we can get organised.
We look forward to welcoming you back with us soon and remain,

with best regards

Family Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a very nice stay at the hotel for six nights in July. We had a family-suite Mettenberg with a view of the Wetterhorn. The room was very nice, and our three kids loved their room with bunk beds. The train that passed outside was not a problem even with the windows open during the nights since they make very little noise.
The hotel has a perfect location. Only a few minutes to the train station and to the main street of Grindelwald. They also has a big parking lot where we could park our car for free.
The staff were very helpful and friendly, especial the girls/ladies that served in the restaurant. The breakfast was very good and the kids had pancakes every morning! The dinner were very delicious, the salad buffet is huge! For some of the meals we got a window table with a great view of the mountains.
We also used the pool and outdoor jacuzzi - the kids loved it and after a long day in the mountains it was a good place to relax before dinner. It is not the biggest pool and a little cold but more than good enough for us.
We had a wonderful time in Grindelwald and at Belvedere and can recommend both the place and the hotel if you would like a holiday in the Swiss alps.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathrine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelvedereCH, Inhaber at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Belvedere guests,
Thank you very much for the wonderful review. Accommodating your family was a great pleasure for us. We do our best to make our hotel attractive for families with small as well as big children. Our games room for example has Nintendos, a pool table, ping pong and more. We also have a small outdoor playground in the hotel garden. We once again would like to thank you for choosing the Belvedere and hope to welcome your family back soon.

Best regards

Philip Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We enjoyed 4 fabulous nights at the hotel in August. Every aspect of the hotel is perfect, the restaurant quality and menu are outstanding. The staff were very warm and friendly with nothing too much trouble. We were lucky to be at the Hotel during the celebrations for Swiss National Day and were invited to wonderful evening with the family and staff. Another reviewer said it is somewhere you feel at home, I can only repeat that and recommend the Hotel. A wonderful holiday.
Philip.R

Room Tip: We had a room with a view to the south towards the station (not an issue, views spectacular) rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelvedereCH, Inhaber at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Belvedere guest,
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for your wonderful comment. The room you had was a Wetterhorn facing one on the 4th floor which offers a nice view to the Wetterhorn from the balcony. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our Swiss National Day celebrations with the outside dining. We hope to welcome you and your wife back with us soon.

best regards

Philip & Carole Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the end of the Classic Rail Tour. It really was the perfect way to end the holiday. We were only there for three nights but wish we could have stayed longer. From our balcony on the 4th floor, we had an amazing view of the Eiger and typical Swiss meadows and chalets.We couldn't fault the hotel in any way. The rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean. It was lovely to have a choice of pillows. All the staff were friendly, attentive and polite. The food was delicious. Lovely ambience in the restaurant - especially on the last evening when a pianist was playing during the meal. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: High floor with view of Eiger
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelvedereCH, Inhaber at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Belvedere guest,
Thank you so much for your lovely comment. It was a great pleasure to meet and accommodate you. We hope you will come back to Grindelwald again soon, maybe this time outside of an organised tour.

We wish you a beautiful summer back home

Best regards

Philip & Carole Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 40 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 stars 606 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#10 of 40 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#3 of 40 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#4 of 40 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#5 of 40 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
#13 of 40 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel

Address: Dorfstrasse 53 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald: Your holiday hotel in Grindelwald! Enjoy your holiday in Switzerland, in the Jungfrau region at the foot of the world-famous Eiger. Relax in the Spa with indoor pool and salt-water Jacuzzi in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Swiss Quality Grindelwald
Hotel Belvedere Swiss Quality

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing