We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well appointed hotel with notably friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel to your Saves list
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorfstrasse 53, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Grindelwald
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“well appointed hotel with notably friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed here for 4 days skiing this half term.The location was convenient for the station, the room was large, clean and comfortably furnished with a good outlook; the restaurant was spacious with great food and the spa was a great place to unwind after a tiring day on the slopes. In addition, the highlight were the friendly staff - nothing was too much trouble and everyone went the extra mile - we'll be back!

Room Tip: Rooms to the south have a great outlook over the Eiger, but because the hotel is set slightly on an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypcbeam, Inhaber at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Belvedere guests from the UK.
Thank you so much for having chosen our hotel for your stay for half term. And thank you so much for having taken the time to write a great review. We are very glad to read, that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff did their utmost to make you happy. We hope you will return, how about coming a whole week next time ? Or how about in the summer season, when Grindelwald offers a lot of activites also, like biking, hiking, climbing, golf, tennis, adventure sports and an incredible variety of excursions. For sure a very healthy vacation in our pure mountain air, full of oxygen.
Looking forward to welcoming you back, we remain
with best regards
Silvia & Urs Hauser with children Carole and Philip and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    61
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
146
273
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This hotel is perfectly situated for travelling all around the Jungfrau and neighbouring regions. It is within walking distance of the village and the railway station.
The hotel Belvedere offers a warm and friendly service to all age groups and we enjoyed our stay there immensly.
The room are comfortable in size and quality, we were overwhelmed by the view of the Eiger from our balcony and would highly recommend the Belvedere for a holiday, whether its skiing or walking or just a tranquil break.
We hope to visit again some time in the future and will definately stay at this hotel should we return to Grindelwald.

Room Tip: Definately go for the room with the Eiger view, breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypcbeam, Inhaber at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Belvedere guests from Great Britain.
we highly appreciate that you have chosen our hotel for your stay in Grindelwald. Also many thanks for the wonderful review. British guests have always been the main clientele in our hotel and that since it was first opened in 1907. We are so thankful, that we can still welcome so many British in our hotel and that despite the weak Pound Sterling. A British pound was once worth about 15 Swiss Francs, then Switzerland was a cheap paradise. We hope, for your and us, that your currency will soon gain value again. We would all deserve it, wouldn't we ?
Wishing you all the best and looking forward to you next visit, we remain
with best regards
Urs-B. Hauser with family and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Lawn, Illinois
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

No trip to Switzerland would be complete without a stop at the Belvedere for wonderful views, hiking, and skiing. We're not skiers, but the summer hiking simply can't be beat. We've been guests of the Belvedere 8 times over the past 25 years and we've never been disappointed. The rooms are great, the food is delicious, and the staff is very helpful. An outstanding medium-size hotel right in the center of the Swiss alps, walking distance from the Jungfraujoch train.

Room Tip: Take the Eiger view. The hotel isn't cheap, but it's worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypcbeam, Inhaber at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Belvedere guests from the USA.
wonderful review, thank you so much. Thank you also for your fantastic loyalty. You are right, summer hiking cannot be beat, however also winter hiking is almost as attractive. Actually winter or summer, Grindelwald is always worth a visit, be it for an active holiday or just to relax.
Taking in account, that your dollar was worth exactly twice as much 12 years ago, we highly appreciate, that you are coming to Europe anyhow. We however often hear from US guests, that a winter vacation in their own country is as expensive or even more expensive than in the Alps, if all the costs are calculated together.
We hope to soon have the pleasure of welcoming you back and remain with best regards
Hotel owner family Hauser (since 1907) and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, CA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Belvedere. Family with two teens- two adjacent rooms worked well. Our rooms at end of hall were quiet. Hotel is short walk to train station, village and skiing. Worthwhile to arrange full board; dinners were spectacular. Solid wine list. Breakfast is good too. Service is very friendly, efficient and helpful. Definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: Eiger view a must. End rooms have big windows on two sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypcbeam, Inhaber at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Belvedere guests.
Many thanks for your great review and thank you so much for having decided to stay at the Belvedere. Your stay was really short, you had hardly the possibility to ski in all three areas. But I am glad to read, that this gave you a good impression and that you are thinking of coming back.
Be it winter with lots of skiing, winter hiking or tobogganing, be it summer with lots of biking, hiking, climbing, tennis, golf, adventure sports, both seasons offer a lot and are attractive also for families with children. Many ski resorts are either closed or dead during the summer season, however not Grindelwald. Grindelwald is welcoming more guests in the summer, this thanks to all the wonderful excursions and its unique nature that is offering so many possibilities for all kind of activities.
We hope to have the great pleasure of welcoming you back soon and wish you all the best.
Silvia & Urs Hauser with children Carole and Philip and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Just back from a weeks skiing with my sons and staying at Belvedere Hotel Grindelwald. I have been to Jungfrau region 5 times before mainly staying in Wengen ( 1970's) but after a Summer visit in 2011 decided to try staying in Grindelwald. Hotel Belvedere was excellent from the time I commenced emails, to the collection at the train station. I was a little surprised the ratings this hotel had against some so called 5 star properties but found that they deserved more than a 4 plus rating. We had two suites- one with two bathrooms (shower in one and bath in other). The service and meals were fantastic and the owner Urs Hausser is typical Suisse and visited our table each evening plus took us curling. His family have owned this establishment since 1909 so they must be doing somethings right.

The food was excellent and the staff great if someone felt hungry. The wellness area very clean and offered a range of saunas, outdoor heated pool ( yes in the snow) as well as a larger indoor pool. Also nice to see the hotel addressing environmental issues with detailed programs on waste reductions. Nice to see this being addressed. I would gladly recommend this hotel to anyone and I am sure my sons would wish to revisit.

Room Tip: We had two suites facing the Wetterhorn but as we were out most of the day the view from the lounge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypcbeam, Inhaber at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Belvedere guests from Australia.
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Great that you have chosen our hotel for your stay. Australians are coming in bigger numbers to our hotel every year. This are fantastic news, as due to the European financial crisis, we do not see so many guests from Euro countries anymore. Swiss TV has compared the rates of a Swiss resort with a Austrian resort and they found out that the total price for a 4 star hotel with skipass and food are about equal. Everybody thinks that Austria is much cheaper, but despite the overvalued Swiss Franc, it was proven that this is not true. Taking in account, that the salaries of our staff are at least twice, some job even tree times, as high, one can see what incredible efforts to Swiss hotels make to keep their rates as attractive as possible.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back, be it in the winter or summer time.
I would love to go and play curling with you again or how about visiting a cheese making farm in the summer ?
With best regards
Urs-B. Hauser with family and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We've just enjoyed five nights at the Belvedere; family with three teenage children, and it was perfect. Snow & skiing just great and the hotel minibus service to/from the lifts is a luxury for us. All our hired ski kit was also dropped off at the hotel and they booked our lift passes too, it couldn't have been easier. There's a lovely pool, outdoor saltwater hot tub and a games room with table tennis & table football, so together with skiing, lovely food, WiFi and English TV too, the children ages 13 - 18 loved every minute. We had half board with 3 course dinner option and this was plenty; the food was delicious and beautifully presented. All the staff were charming, friendly and helpful. We had two junior suites between five of us, and this worked well, very comfortable and squeaky clean. The lounge area with cream sofas & log fire is quiet and comfy to enjoy a drink and read or chat. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypcbeam, Inhaber at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Belvedere guests from the UK,
thank you so much for having chosen to spend Half term in Grindelwald, thank you so much for having chosen the Belvedere for your stay. Many thanks also for your wonderful review. We hope that you will visit us again and may I suggest the summer season. Your children would for sure like it here, because there is biking, river rafting, climbing, tennis, golf and a lot of other activities. Grindelwald lies at 3300ft, therefore a good altitude, where we get a real summer with dark green meadows and lots of mountain flowers and also a good altitude where everbody can sleep very well. Often people cannot sleep well in higher resorts and don't know why. Skiing would be possible here until end of April, however the resort is usually closing one week after Easter.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon and remain with best regards
Urs-B. Hauser with family and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We have just come back from a fantastic weeks snowboarding in Grindelwald and were very lucky to have chosen this hotel! We have had exceptional service from all the waiting, bar and housekeeping staff during our stay! Our room had the most amazing view and the food in the restaurant was delicious every day. The outdoor jacuzzi was the perfect way to relax in the afternoons after a fantastic days boarding. I really cannot wait to come back and visit this hotel and all it's staff again. Many thanks for making our holiday so special!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypcbeam, Inhaber at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Belvedere guests.
Thank you so much for the wonderful review and thank you also for having chosen the family run Hotel Belvedere for your stay in Grindelwald. We are more than just happy to hear, that you enjoyed your stay with us. Since over 100 years, the Hauser family and their staff do their utmost to make their guests happy. Wonderful to hear, that you have the intention of coming back soon. May I suggest you try the summer season, when the meadows are dark green with mountain flowers of all colours and when the cows, sheep and goats are grazing all around. The variety of excursions in the summer is incredible, also the hiking and biking trails. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon and remain with best regards
Silvia & Urs-B. Hauser with family and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel

Address: Dorfstrasse 53, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald: Your holiday hotel in Grindelwald! Enjoy your holiday in Switzerland, in the Jungfrau region at the foot of the world-famous Eiger. Relax in the Spa with indoor pool and salt-water Jacuzzi in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Swiss Quality Grindelwald
Hotel Belvedere Swiss Quality

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.