We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, convenient location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel to your Saves list
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorfstrasse 53, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Grindelwald
Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, convenient location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We have recently returned from our stay at the Hotel Belvedere. Although we have previously stayed at the hotel we have not done so for 4 or 5 years. We were worried that standards may have dropped since our last stay. Happily the wonderful standards of service and cuisine were just as high. The rooms are specious and spotlessly clean. The food was excellent, a wide ranging buffet breakfast and a generous 6-course dinner each evening with various choices and differing buffets on most evenings. The chef was particularly attentive to my mothers specific dietary needs, something she greatly appreciated. Nothing was too much trouble for the dining room and kitchen staff - many thanks. My only slight gripe was the service from reception but we drew this to the attention of the family owners who sent a very kind e-mail on our return to the UK. I was only sorry that not all Family Hauser were present, we particularly missed Urs and Sylvia and send them both our very best wishes. Phillip and Carole - you were both excellent, stepping up during what must be a difficult time for you both. We hope very much to see all of you again - hopefully during the forthcoming winter season.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellently appointed, those with an Eiger view are a must if you have not visited the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reception01, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Belvedere guests

It was a great pleasure to welcome you back after so many years. Thank you so much for your wonderful comment. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our service. Our chefs are specialized on various dietary needs so never hesitate to ask for anything. Health is very important to us and we know how difficult it can be to find a restaurant that knows how to cater to your special requirements. We really look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards

Family Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    68
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
170
301
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We found the Belvedere to be a wonderful hotel, but did suffer some of the drawbacks of a larger hotel when it came to service.

The highlights: great staff who were very friendly and helpful in nearly every case, excellent food for breakfast and dinner (we just went with a 3-course dinner and it was plenty of food!), a nice location extremely close to the train station, and the outdoor salt-water whirlpool was fantastic!

The drawbacks: the "superior" rooms were decent, but not as attractive as a quality Hilton room in the US. Our room facing away from the Eiger faced the railroad tracks - so we heard the trains every morning starting at 6 am. Perhaps the noise level would have been better if we had left our window closed.

And we ran into a couple of service issues.

First, I specifically limited my hotel search to places that had a Finnish sauna. The Belvedere does have a very lovely sauna - but apparently it's only available on request. The first night we were lucky because someone had already requested it. But the next three nights we had trouble. The 2nd night they said we requested it too late (we needed to ask before 7:30 pm, although it doesn't say that anywhere). They made an exception and turned it on. But the next two nights we followed protocol and requested it well in advance...and BOTH nights they were so busy our request was forgotten until we finally had to remind them (and then wait for it to heat up). Very disappointing. (fortunately we consoled ourselves in the wonderful whirlpool - and the first time they gave us a glass of champagne by way of apology)

Second, the hotel assigns people to specific tables in the dining room for meals. I think it would be easier if it was first come, first serve....but it's a way of rewarding guests. Anyhow, we were given a very lovely table by the window and told that's where we would sit every meal - thus setting an expectation. All was well until our final morning when we arrive to find people sitting at our table. We sought out a staff person who apologized - but gave no explanation - and led us to another nice table. But we noticed a room number already there and asked several times, "isn't this someone else's table?" We were assured all was well. Not true. As we were leaving the dining room we were approached by a very angry British couple that told us "there are rules" and that "you can't just pick any table." It was very uncomfortable for us and we had to explain that we were given that table by staff. If the hotel decides to set an expectation that you will sit a certain place every meal, then they have to be prepared for the trouble that can cause. But it was not ok that we were put in a situation where we had to deal with rightfully upset guests.

So, I would be willing to stay at this hotel again and would have an enjoyable time - the food really was fabulous and the staff (particularly the dining staff) was great aside from the two problems mentioned above. However, I would probably look around first to see if there was a smaller hotel that also has the amenities we are looking for. We stayed at a smaler hotel in Zermatt - Cour des Alps - that was less expensive and completely wowed us in terms of the luxury of the rooms and the level of personal service.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, you probably want to spring for a room facing the Eiger to avoid the sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reception01, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Belvedere guest,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Grindelwald. We're sorry to hear that not everything worked out as planed. Our sauna is open for public use during the day and can be reserved for private use in the evening. In the summer we don't heat the sauna unless it's requested, as not many people wish to use the sauna in the summer. In the winter it runs every day. We're sorry that your request was forgotten twice. We had a few problems with our front desk staff over the summer but were able to solve them by now.
As you also mentioned we assign tables, which you usually keep during your stay. We discussed your table situation in our staff meeting. We don't know how this could have happened as the system is very clear. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience and assure you that this will never happen again. We hope you could still enjoy your stay and would be happy to welcome you again to show you a perfect stay.

Best regards

Philip Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

1. The hotel is located in an excellent location near the metro and surrounded by grindelwald village and mountains.
2. Staff are helpful and friendly
3. Breakfast is good . Lot of different cheese to choose from (remember you are in Switzerland).
4. It would be a good idea if the hotel provides a chef who makes omelette in the open instead of ordering one.

Room Tip: Get the room that faces the mountains and river. Amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reception01, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Belvedere guest
Thank you for the kind comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our breakfast buffet offers a wide selection not only of cheese but also of meet, bread and yoghourts. As you also mentioned you can also order omelets, pancakes and eggs. Our cook is not in the breakfast room as we don't have the necessary installations. This is something we'll change when we rebuild the hotel. We wish you a great fall and hopefully we'll be able to welcome you back some day.

Best regards

Family Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The first time for us at the Belvedere and we hope to return! Every aspect of our visit was very enjoyable. We had an Eiger view room which was spacious and well-equipped and a great base for a ten night walking holiday. Hotel staff were really helpful and a special mention must be given to the truly excellent staff in the restaurant, for whom nothing seemed too much trouble! The food was excellent and the ambience first class, with tasteful piano music, good wines and attentive service. An excellent stay.

Room Tip: The Eiger view rooms are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reception01, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Belvedere guest
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Grindelwald. We're glad to hear you enjoyed it. Our team always tries to make everyone's stay as enjoyable as possible and nothing is to much trouble for us. We really hope to welcome you back with us soon.

Best regards

Family Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Our stays at the Belvedere are always enjoyable. The staff are friendly and welcoming and try to meet every need. Nothing is too much trouble.
The hotel has its own charm. It is not a characterless big chain hotel.
We liked the healthy food and the programme of daily activities.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. Go by size to fit budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reception01, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Belvedere Guest
Thank you very much for returning to our hotel. It's always a pleasure to have you with us. Thank you also for your nice comment. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

Family Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Four of us (parents and 2 adolescent sons) used this hotel as a base for our 3 days hiking in the Grindelwald region. We had a family room with double bed, and 2 converted beds, and 2 bathrooms. Perhaps a bit on the small side but as most of our time was spent either out hiking or relaxing using the hotel's other facilities this didn't impact our stay at all. Staff extremely attentive, friendly and informative without being intrusive. Hotel very clean, well run with good facilities; indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam rooms, and outdoor salt bath in the small but well kept garden looking across to the mountains. Hotel is well positioned to reach all local sites of interest either by public transportation or by car. Comfortable lounge and terrace areas with superb views to the Eiger. Good restaurant with excellent food and wine. We would not hesitate to use this hotel again and thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reception01, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Belvedere guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us this summer. It's a real pleasure reading your great comment. We also have bigger family rooms for future visits for example the Roeti suite or the Wetterhorn suite. We also have junior suites we can connect for family use. Grindelwald is a beautiful place for hiking and our hotel is located perfectly next to the train station. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards

Family Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Hotel Belvedere is an outstanding hotel in many ways. It is situated in walking distance to the township of Grindelwald. We had a two bedroom suite travelling with another family member (adult). Wonderful views of the Eiger mountain with balconies from all rooms. Reception staff very attentive, polite and helpful. Rooms clean and spacious. Dining room pleasant, again with lovely views. Food selection and presentation very good. Weekend buffet outstanding. Extensive wine list with many wines from Switzerland, France and other countries. Hotel highly recommended by us. We would choose no other hotel in that area.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Eiger mountain and valley below are highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reception01, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Belvedere guest

Thank you very much for staying with us this summer. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Belvedere. Our family suites are perfect for family vacations, as they have separate bedrooms for children. Also we have the possibility of connecting several of our double rooms to create two bedroom suites. Our suites with extra bedrooms are also popular with couples that have problems with snoring as there is no need to book more than one room. During high season we often have buffets in the evenings with starters, desserts and a special Grindelwald evening with local specialties. We have been adjusting our wine list recently to include more Swiss wine as we try to be as sustainable as possible and therefore do not wish to import tons of wine from the other side of the world.
We hope you got home safe and hope to welcome you with us again soon.

Best regards

The Hauser family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel

Address: Dorfstrasse 53, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald: Your holiday hotel in Grindelwald! Enjoy your holiday in Switzerland, in the Jungfrau region at the foot of the world-famous Eiger. Relax in the Spa with indoor pool and salt-water Jacuzzi in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Swiss Quality Grindelwald
Hotel Belvedere Swiss Quality

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.