We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suberb breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Hostel Grindelwald

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain Hostel Grindelwald to your Saves list
Mountain Hostel Grindelwald
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Grundstrasse 58, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Windhoek, Namibia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Suberb breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Being in Switzerland you can expect a superb breakfast with real good cheese and chocolate. It is also close to the train station and the restaurant and one can take some great walks around there. There is a little stream close by. Houses are only allowed to be build in the same style, which really looks idyllic. The rooms on the second floor are neat and spacious, though its shared bathrooms on the first floor. And the view on the snowy Alps was priceless. They have a lounge with pool table, TV and lots of activity brochures.

Room Tip: the ones showing to the alps are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerymoser3818, Manager at Mountain Hostel Grindelwald, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Google Translation
Guten Tag Annette
Besten Dank für ihre mühe unseren neuen Gästen das Hostel so schön zu beschreiben, das hat uns sehr gefreut:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    29
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
9
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

a very nice place to stay, very budget but quite a few add on fees for services, suc as wifi... walkin distance to some nice food establishment and also trains to jungfraujoch.. further up d slope is city center wif shoppin and sports center.. free bus voucher can be obtained from reception

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerymoser3818, Manager at Mountain Hostel Grindelwald, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
hi aron
thanks for the description of our house, the next guests are grateful to you.
nice greetings from the swiss mountains!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed one night here, had an awesome view of the Eiger north face from the room and could hear the soothing sound of the river flowing near the hotel.
It has a good atmosphere and they have a BBQ microwave and kettle to use, no kitchen unfortunately. They have table tennis, foosball and pool table. Lockers in rooms too which is handy, loved the location in grindelwald close to train station and not far from hike tracks.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This hostel has a good breakfast and an excellent location. However, it also has a few annoyances. Unlike most other hostels, it charges extra for blankets or duvets. So even if you arrive with your own sheets or sleeping bag liner, you will still need to pay extra for the duvet or blankets. To add insult to injury, the extra fee for the duvet or blankets is on a per night basis, so if you stay for more than one night, you will need to pay 7 francs per night for the duvet. Therefore, always remember to bring your own blankets or sleeping bag.

The beds in the room we were in were very creaky. Each time somebody rolled over, the frames of the beds would creak.

Staff were very friendly, nice, and helpful.

Room Tip: Bring a sleeping bag or blankets. Bring some ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerymoser, Manager at Mountain Hostel Grindelwald, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Vielen Dank für ihr Feedback, dank ihrer Hilfe werden wir Massnahmen ergreiffen!

Da viele Gäste die Informationen nicht richtig lesen, sind wir gezwungen unser System umzustellen. Wir werden in Zukunft nur noch Betten mit Decken/Duvets anbieten!
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thank you for your feedback, thanks to your help, we are compelled to action!

Since many guests do not read the information correctly, we are forced to change our system. We will be offering in the future only beds with blankets!

Gery Moser
Coach Mountain Hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Looking for a low cost accommodation in Grindelwald is frustrating. I was pleasantly surprised by this hostel. Beds are moderately comfortable, good breakfast.

Location is good to access Mannlichen bann up the mountain but it is a bit of a hike (or bus ride) up a steep hill.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerymoser, Manager at Mountain Hostel Grindelwald, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Vielen Dank für ihr Feedback!
Es freut uns dass es ihnen bei uns gefallen hat:)
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Thank you for your feedback!
We are very pleased that you liked your holydays in the mountain hostel :)

Gery Moser
Coach Mountian Hostel
Grindelwald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Mountain Hostel is conveniently located next to a bus stop of Grindelwald Grund and the gondolas to the top of Männlichen. The rooms are clean, the showers are spacious, private and clean as well. Also the breakfast was simple, but tasty and came with plenty of choice (types of bread, cereal, fruit, cheeses, meat or sweet spreads).
I would recommend this hostel for groups, not so much for solo travellers. Private rooms are just hostel rooms you book for yourself. Linnen and towels are NOT included. Although this is clearly mentioned on their website, I found it to be rather stingy for the price I paid. It is possible to rent linnen, but it is not mentioned on their website at what price (and I still do not know).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerymoser, Manager at Mountain Hostel Grindelwald, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hi GielO
Great to hear that you had a lovely time in our Mountain Hostel in Grindelwald! Thanks a lot for the Feedback and best regards from Grindelwald
We will take care of the problem Duvet!

Gery Moser
Coach Mountain Hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Came here in a group and stayed for two days. It's just less than 5 minutes walk to the Grindewald Grund train station. Rooms are really clean, showers and bathrooms are shared. We had our lovely breakfast here with variable choices of cheese, bread, cereal and so on. Other than that we enjoyed our bonfire and barbecue session during our stay. Laundry service is provided with CHF5 for wash and CHF5 for dry. Overall is good and we really enjoy our stay here.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EigerSelfnessHotel, Inhaber at Mountain Hostel Grindelwald, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Google Translation
Herzlichen Dank für deine tolle Bewertung - wir freuen uns sehr, dass ihr euch wohl gefühlt habt bei uns im Mountain Hostel in Grindelwald!
Liebe Grüsse Gisela & Daniel, Inhaber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Hostel Grindelwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Hostel Grindelwald

Address: Grundstrasse 58, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain Hostel Grindelwald 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Mountain Hostel Grindelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Hotel Grindelwald

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Hostel Grindelwald, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.