We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gletschergarten

Save Saved
You added Hotel Gletschergarten to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gletschergarten
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obere Gletscherstrasse 1, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 39 hotels in Grindelwald
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just finished 6 days in Gindelwald and we very much enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Gletchschergarten. This was a family vacation, with my wife, my 16 year old son, and me. The hotel was our base of operations, and each day we went out on an Alpine adventure.

The hotel is a family business, located on the main street of town, but just at the end of all the hustle and bustle, which was perfect for us. The train station is a 15 minute walk away. We walked with our bags to the hotel upon arrival, and they drove us to the station when we departed. I think most guests would call the hotel upon arrival and get a lift, but we like to walk.

Our rooms were recently renovated, and while a touch small, very nice. Breakfast at the hotel was great, and we very much appreciated that they held the dining room open for breakfast as late as 10:30.

We had dinner one night at the hotel, and again, a very satisfying experience.

Everyone at the hotel was friendly and helpful and I would definitely stay there again if and when we return to the area. The view from the balcony of our room was just incredible -- snow covered mountains.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    371
    57
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
128
212
21
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Framingham, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We loved this place, all 4 of us! We spent 5 nights in this charming hotel with our 2 boys in August 2014. We found it on Trip Advisor and emailed the owners through the website. They responded quickly and found us a large family room with a view of the Eiger. The family run hotel is located at the end of the main street of Grindelwald village, an easy walk to the center, train station and gondola to First. The location is ideal- very quiet, everything easily reachable by foot and breathtaking views. The bus stop, if you need to reach the train station or gondola at Grund, is free with the guest card provided by hotel.
Our room was spacious with a double bed and 2 single beds for the boys, and was very comfortable.The room also had a small sitting area with TV and coffee table.
The bathroom was a little dated (they are renovating this fall), but very clean, roomy with a newer shower/bathtub and sink. It suited us just fine!
Our room had a large balcony with two chairs and a table to admire wonderful views.
Breakfast was great. A buffet with good selection of fresh breads, cold meats, cheese, cereal, eggs made to order, fresh fruit and that wonderful Swiss coffee, served to your table. The boys enjoyed the fresh croissants and hot chocolate milk.

I totally agree with other reviewers that one of the best things about this place are the owners, Gabriela and Gerhard, who were so welcoming and helpful, and gave us recommendations of hikes suitable for children, activities suitable for our family and kept us informed about the all important weather forecast! You can even buy train, gondola and bus tickets at the front desk.
We felt very welcome throughout our stay, and will definitely recommend this hotel to our friends and family. We hope to be back one day, but in the meantime- Thank you for making our visit to Grindelwald so special!

Room Tip: you can't go wrong in this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I love everything about this place. The management is fantastic, the food at dinner is great, the town is lovely, the accomodations are nice, clean and welcoming. This is our second visit and I hope to go again and again. I wouldn't stay anywhere else. There are games and activities in the evening if you have children. The views of the eiger and mountain range are breathtaking. The breakfast is good with plenty of choices. The dinner is excellent and the chef is accomodating. The hotel is family owned and I believe the 3rd generation. This really is a special, unique place. I cannot say enough nice things about this location. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A very friendly and well run hotel, the staff making sure that you made the most of your time in Grindelwald offering lots of advice and suggestions about what to do and the best times to do it. Quite a dated decor, but this added to the charm and authenticity of the hotel. A wide selection offered for breakfast but although cooked eggs could be provided this was not widely advertised!! Location is very good, and free parking was provided just over the road from the hotel. Although located at the opposite end of the town to the train station, it meant that nights were very peaceful and although not needed, staff were more than happy to drive you down to the station if this was required. A great family run hotel which I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

"Gletschgarten" means "glacier garden" because it has a nice view of the glacier that comes down the mountain toward the town. The view from this hotel can be quite spectacular. Having stayed over 1,000 nights in hotels, on a "5 star" system I would give this hotel a "4". (And the only reason it's not a "5" is that it's not a true luxury hotel.) But it is a very nice hotel in a good location, and the kind of place one could come back to over and over. ...I certainly would. The owners are hands-on, right there at the desk from early until late. One of their grandfathers built the hotel if I recall. Every year they do some kind of refurbishment project between seasons, so the hotel is definitely clean and it's modern enough. Rooms are very comfortable, not fancy, but more than you need. The owners know pretty much everything about what to do in the area - and have lots of information right there at the hotel. They also have a restaurant, and the food is very good. They have a breakfast buffet which is not just a high-carb continental breakfast, it includes eggs if you wish (but you do have to ask for eggs if you want them - good to know that.) They have a cheery young waitstaff. We also had their four-course dinner one night and everyone's meal was very good - there were six of us. My daughters had decided to go "vegetarian" on this trip, and although they had no vegetarian entrees for dinner, the chef was very happy to put together something for them that was tasty. I would call the breakfast "good", but the dinner was more like "very good to great"; and the hotel itself "very nice and comfortable". We would definitely stay here again. Grindelwald itself is a lovely town and a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the back, which is kind of a "chalet view" for lack of a better word; and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent a week in this charming hotel in August 2014. Booking was easy through hotel's website, which actually led to booking.com. Hotel is located in the other end of Grindelwald village, about 1 km from the train station, from where you'll be picked up if notified the owners of your exact arrival time. Location is good, very quiet apart from church bells, and everything is reachable easily by foot. Local village buses are free of use with guest card provided by hotel.

Our superior room was spacious and even had a small hall way to hang outerwear and leave hiking boots. Double bed was very comfortable and had warm fluffy feather quilts and pillows. There was a big wardrobe with dozens of hangers and several shelves but only a tiny safety box. Bathroom was also roomy but very dim. Ok shower in bathtub, but best thing was a big cabinet with mirror doors just above the sink. Perfect place for your bathroom items and rarely found in any hotel room.

There was a nice balcony with two chairs and a table to admire wonderful mountain scenery and sunsets. A desk, three chairs and a small writing desk along side with flat screen TV with more than 100 channels + 200 radio channels existed also. Never watched/listened any as we were out in nature all the time, though.

Breakfast was adequate enough, cold buffet and eggs to order. Coffee and tea was served to your table in old fashioned set of dishes. 4 course dinner was a good bargain (42 CHF per person) but varied from delicious to average, but was a nice way to taste different food. Wine list had many Swiss wines, try the gold medal red. Downstairs was a washing machine (2 CHF a load) and a tumble drier (1 CHF for 27 min), superb way to get your washing done.

Unquestionably, best of all were the owners, Geri and Gabi, who always welcomed us with a big smile and gave us recommendations of various activities. You can even buy train, gondola and bus tickets from them (they've got the same ticket machine in reception than SBB uses) to avoid queueing with tens of Asians at the stations. We felt very welcome throughout our stay, and will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to the area. Thank you for making our stay unforgettable!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you are planning a dream holiday in beautiful Switzerland, make the family-run Gletschergarten Hotel in Grindelwald your home base. You will enjoy every minute of your stay. The owners will become your host, tour guides, and travel agents. At the reception, you can buy all your excursion tickets and ski passes for the Jungfrau area. Come rain or shine, you will be spoiled by the comfort of your room, the exquisiteness of their food, the beauty of your environment, and will return home with some of the most lasting memories a dream holiday has to offer. We came to Grindelwald from Montreal on a whim. But we couldn’t have planned a more romantic four-day holiday on top of the world. We will be back. Thank you, Gabriela and Gerhard and your attentive staff for your friendship and hospitality. “Made in Switzerland” has just taken on a new and unforgettable meaning. Needless to say, the Internet service at the Gletschergarten is free and flawless and made it possible to stay in touch with our family at home to share our joy and happiness, even in moments of inclement weather.

Room Tip: All locations have their beauty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gletschergarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gletschergarten

Address: Obere Gletscherstrasse 1, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gletschergarten 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Gletschergarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gletschergarten Hotel Grindelwald

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gletschergarten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.