We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful area, nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gletschergarten

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gletschergarten to your Saves list
Hotel Gletschergarten
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obere Gletscherstrasse 1 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Grindelwald
Florida, USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful area, nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

We stayed here for 4 nights at the very end of September/beginning of October. This is the low season for the area. It's after summer but before the ski season starts. The weather is variable. Our visit started with blue skies and temperatures in the 60sF. But on the last day, it snowed briefly at the hotel. Since it was low season, very few of the rooms were booked so it was as if we had the whole place to ourselves. The owners were extremely helpful with all our questions. They picked us up at the train station and also brought us back at the end of the visit. They gave us recommendations on restaurants (even though they provided meals at the hotel). The room was excellent with a balcony with views of the Eiger and Mettenberg. Breakfast was very good although I had to specifically request a boiled egg each morning. We had dinner at the hotel twice and the food was excellent. The prices were high for dinner (by American standards) but very comparable to all the other meals we had in Switzerland. The location of the hotel was quite convenient. There is a bus stop right across the street and it's an easy walk to the First and Pfingstegg cable cars or to walk down town to the shops and train station.

There is a coin operated washer and dryer on the premises as well as a billiards table (for a fee) and a lovely living room with fireplace to sit and relax. Wireless internet is free but only works if you are downstairs in the living room or TV room. There is also a sauna (which we did not use).

  • Liked — Location, views, convenience
  • Disliked — Flat hard pillows
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    64
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
143
233
23
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

Staying at the Gletschergarten is like staying at the chateau of an extended family that you secretly hate for having such a grand place to live. The family that owns the hotel is very friendly and speaks English well. When making my reservation, they suggested I call from the train station at Interlaken and they'd meet us at our arrival in Grindelwald. As promised, they were there promptly to meet our train and from there it was only about a five minute drive to the hotel. (It's not a bad walk, but it is uphill and why bother when they offer this service and you're schlepping luggage?)

Our arrival at the hotel took our breath away. It's as cute as the pictures on their website show, with flowers draping out of the planters on every balcony surrounding the hotel.

The rooms were clean and roomy. I think that all rooms have balconies, and because of the location there isn't likely a room that wouldn't have a terrific view. The two rooms that our family got certainly did.

The dinners offered each night in the dining room were very good, and we spent many hours playing cards in the parlor.

One minor caution: Don't plan on doing your laundry here. The washer was small, and the dryer didn't heat up well, so we spent more time that we would have liked getting a couple loads of laundry done.

I highly recommend the Gletschergarten.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham UK
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

nice hotel at the far end of grindelwald,which was good as the middle of the town is busy,busy with tourists.5 minute walk to centre.
friendly and helpful owners,gave good advice about the jungfrau pass, 6 day pass enabling you to travel on all forms of transport & cable cars. a few days of mountain walks & trips on cable cars & you have saved quite a bit of money.
typical chalet style hotel & decor.we had a suite with balcony overlooking the mountains.room was large,clean but the bathrooms do need a bit of an update.
breakfast was a buffet, we had one evening meal at the hotel which was ok, simple set menu but eating out was a better option.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — bathroom
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2008

This hotel I have rated as average as it had some good points and some bad points.

Let's start with the good. I found the owners to be helpful and friendly. We were only there for 2 nights and had to make the most of our one full day in the area. The owner explained to us all of the options available to us and recommended a trip up the Jungfrau train followed by a short hike and cable car back down - a bit of everything . She got the recommendation spot on - we had a brilliant day.

The views from our room were fabulous and the room was a good size, with a nice big balcony and an inside seating area.

Not so good next. It was rather over priced for the quality compared to a lot of other similar places we stayed in this year. We put this down to it being in a major tourist destination, where we usually try to go slightly off the beaten track.

The decor in the room, especially the bathroom is a bit tired and the room was very hot - although it was particularly hot weather when we stayed.

A note for people driving to this hotel - please note that there are 2 railway stations in Grindalwald! - and so the directions given by the hotel on their website are very confusing. If coming from Interlaken, the first station you see, down in the valley, is Grund station, not Grindalwald. The station refered to in the directions is the station in the town centre. If you head up to Grindalwald town centre rather than down to Grund station you should be OK!

  • Liked — Helpful owners
  • Disliked — Over priced
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2008

This is a very charming hotel just on the outskirts of this very small village. We were able to walk from the train station to the hotel with our luggage in about 15 minutes. If I had it to do over again, we would've called ahead and requested a pick up. They did give us a ride back to the train station when we departed.

The furnishings were very dated but clean and comfortable. Like all of the hotels in Switzerland, it was expensive. I have to say, though, that my very favorite thing about this hotel was the view from our balcony. We had a balcony off our room which was shared (although the hotel was essentially empty for the off season) from which we could sit and gaze at the mountains and glaciers.

Breakfast is nothing special and does not change from day to day. There is a laundry room available for a small fee, you can wash your clothes. Also, they have a computer in the tv room which you can use to access the internet for a fee. They also have a game room that had there been more people in the hotel, may have had some good use. All in all, it was a good experience.

  • Liked — The view!
  • Disliked — The breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2008

We stayed here off the back of the No1 position that the hotel had on Tripadvisor. When booking we were told we had to opt for the half board option due to the time of year that we were staying.

Upon arrival we knew something was amiss. The room looked like it had been decorated in the 1970's and then never touched since. It was certainly clean but was old and tired looking and the bathroom in need of a facelift or two.

The food on the first night was really not good at all and when we inquired about cancelling the half board so we could eat somewhere else we were told that they would only discount a portion of the amount not the whole dinner cost. We did not care at this point and so went out anyway.

Breakfast is also nothing to write home about, a small "buffet" style approach which was the same everyday oh, and only boiled eggs as a fried egg was too much trouble!!

The service was okay but faux friendly and when we asked for info on what to do / where to eat we were given almost none.

The resort itself is rather depressing. The weather changes two or three times a day and you need between 30 minutes and 1 hour every morning just to get up the mountain.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

ok the rooms were fine for sleeping in but the hotel is no where near the top in Grindelwald, plenty of others to choose from. The people at the front desk were fake & not very friendly! As for the food there....i didn't bother trying for dinner as it seemed as though he was doing me a massive favour & judging on breakfast it was nothing spectacular!!
Average hotel overall, but skiing was fantastic!!

  • Liked — beds were comfy after a hard day
  • Disliked — general attitude by desk staff
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gletschergarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gletschergarten

Address: Obere Gletscherstrasse 1 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gletschergarten 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 115 years old, the traditional family-run Hotel Gletschergarten in Grindelwald offers you panoramic mountain views, free WiFi and a free internet terminal. In good snow conditions, a ski run leads almost to the hotel. Breakfast is served every morning. After a day outside you can relax at the fireplace in the lounge. Half board, including a 4-course dinner, is available on request. A free pick-up service from the railway or bus station is offered. The Grindelwald First Cable Car Station is reachable within just a few minutes' walk, and the bus stop is just 20 metres away from the Gletschergarten Hotel. Further free time activities can be organised by the help of the staff. The hotel also has a new renovated wellness area with sauna and steam bath. You enjoy free access to the sports centre of Grindelwald, which features an indoor pool and an ice skating rink. Various tickets and ski passes can be bought at the regular rates from the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Gletschergarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gletschergarten Hotel Grindelwald

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gletschergarten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.