We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the place and the gracious owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gletschergarten

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gletschergarten to your Saves list
Hotel Gletschergarten
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obere Gletscherstrasse 1 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Grindelwald
Arcata, Ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We loved the place and the gracious owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The sparce rooms are more then made up for with a balcony view of the Eiger. Food 1/2 board good as are breakfasts. We would stay there again for sure. The hotel, while not right downtown, we liked. The owner drives us to and from the train station! Lifts for skiing and hiking a very short walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: We didn't see the other rooms so can't compare but a balcony room overlooking the town and E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    64
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
142
233
23
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was a wonderful experience. I originally found this hotel on karenbrown.com. Gary picked us up at the train station; although the hotel is only a 15-minute walk from the station, it is uphill. We had a large room on the front, which faced the Lower Glacier and the Eiger. The room was spacious and quiet. There is a comfortable parlour at the back of the hotel where it was nice to have a drink before dinner.

The hotel was able to sell us the train and gondola passes we needed, and Gary advised us what time of day to go to the Jungfraujoch and to First.

We ate at the hotel all three nights. The dinners were excellent. Gary, Gabriela, and the rest of the staff were very attentive with the dinner service. One could see that they wanted everything to be perfect, and it was. We thought the dinners were an excellent value.

I cannot say enough about Gary and Gabriella. They are wonderful hosts. They take very good care of their guests. They are very pleasant and helpful. We strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel face the Lower Glacier, between the Eiger and the Schreckhorn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I don't think I'm adding much here. Gabriela and Gerhard work long hours, but you never feel like they're anything other than delighted to have you staying with them. Their local tips on walks and public transport are hugely helpful. The hotel's lovely: excellent roomy rooms, views of the mountains, quiet, comfy, + a top breakfast ... it really is ideal. We'd go back in a flash.

Room Tip: Room 30 has a nice skylight and good space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This gem is at the end of town yet only a short walk from the center---superb location, great views of the surrounding mountains, lovely rooms with balconies, and wonderful hosts.
Gerhard is a master at tourism and gave us best advice on good rates for seeing what we wanted---cable cars to mountain tops, trains, panorama walks in the mountains......he is very talented in everything he does.The young staff at breakfast were exceptional. Additional amenities include a pretty wine bar and a separate lounge with piano and a computer----both venues were grand for a quiet evening with a glass of wine.
When in Grindelwald again, we'll go right back to the Gletschergarten Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with mountain view are lovely. One can also choose rooms at the back with green pastures to vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

A wonderful family-owned hotel in a beautiful region of Switzerland. My comments echo the many other positive reviews. We enjoyed the location, beautiful views, and good food but our experience was memorable for the helpful advice and personality of the owners - Gabriela and Gerhard. We really did feel as though we were sharing their home! If we return to this area we would definitely stay at Hotel Gletschergarten again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Grindelwald was the last place we stayed in our trip and this hotel was the cherry on top of the entire trip.
Outstanding staff and service, very kind and personal treat. The rooms are great and big, and the balcony view is breathtaking!!
The breakfast was wonderfull and right around the corner of the hotel there is a lovly bakery to use.
This hotel was one of the best parts in our trip, and we couldnt have choose a better one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had an amazing stay at Hotel Gletschergarten in August. With our two teenage daughters, we stayed at the Chalet Hohtumen which is just across the street from the main hotel. From our balcony, we had a spectacular view of the mountains that was beyond imagination. After a day of hiking,we sat on the balconcy and enjoyed the view. Gabriela and Gary were very friendly and helpful, with many suggestions on what to do. The breakfast was very good, and they were quite flexible with supper for the two daughters. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for reasonably priced accommodation in Grindelwald.

Room Tip: The chalet is a good option for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gletschergarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gletschergarten

Address: Obere Gletscherstrasse 1 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gletschergarten 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 115 years old, the traditional family-run Hotel Gletschergarten in Grindelwald offers you panoramic mountain views, free WiFi and a free internet terminal. In good snow conditions, a ski run leads almost to the hotel. Breakfast is served every morning. After a day outside you can relax at the fireplace in the lounge. Half board, including a 4-course dinner, is available on request. A free pick-up service from the railway or bus station is offered. The Grindelwald First Cable Car Station is reachable within just a few minutes' walk, and the bus stop is just 20 metres away from the Gletschergarten Hotel. Further free time activities can be organised by the help of the staff. The hotel also has a new renovated wellness area with sauna and steam bath. You enjoy free access to the sports centre of Grindelwald, which features an indoor pool and an ice skating rink. Various tickets and ski passes can be bought at the regular rates from the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Gletschergarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gletschergarten Hotel Grindelwald

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gletschergarten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.