We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Chalet Hohturnen (across the street from Gletschergarten)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gletschergarten

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gletschergarten to your Saves list
Hotel Gletschergarten
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obere Gletscherstrasse 1, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Grindelwald
Miami Beach
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Charming Chalet Hohturnen (across the street from Gletschergarten)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed at the Chalet just across the street from the main hotel (each morning on the way to breakfast you pass a lovely bakery and the smell is divine! I recommend picking up snacks for later!) We had 3 rooms, a hall, a big balcony, and a full bathroom in what is set up like an apartment, although there is no kitchen. It was perfect for our family of 4. Our kids each had their own bedrooms, one had a twin size bed, a TV, and a sink, one had a full size bed, and the master had a king, a couch, and a TV. It was very spacious and after traveling together we for an extended vacation and sharing one single room in some accommodations it was VERY nice to spread out!!!
Upon arrival I borrowed the WIFI at a hotel near the train station to call the hotel. Gerhy came to pick us and bring us to the Chalet. Such a nice personal touch!!! We ate buffet breakfast in the main hotel each morning. One evening we had the set menu for dinner which we enjoyed very much. I even did 2 loads of laundry in the hotel one evening. I wish I had done a third load!!! We purchased all our excursion tickets with Gabriella or Gerhy at the front desk and they helped us figure out the best plans for our time spent in Grindelwald. We loved our stay and highly recommend it to families.
The view from the balcony is exceptional!!!! Its like having the Eiger all to yourself!
It's a very short walk to town for shops, restaurants, and the Coop grocery. Switzerland is crazy expensive! I highly suggest hitting Coop for snacks, drinks, and and picnic lunches.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    60
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
138
222
22
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We chose this hotel for its location and services. we rented an appartment (hotturnen) which included all the facilities and services that were necessary to make our stay very comfortable. We also enjoy a card to go to the sportzentrum. the view from the terrace was magnificent. The owners were very kind. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

It's not the Ritz. Instead it's a warm and inviting hotel which has been family run for generations. Kudos go out to Gabriela and Gerhard Michel-Breitenstein who are the current generation's managers. Their friendly greetings and advice and information to guests on the areas attractions, hiking trails, culture and history are much appreciated. As a bonus, they speak multiple languages so communication isn't a problem.
The hotel's common areas include a cozy wood paneled bar, a separate large lounge area filled with comfortable furniture that makes you feel at home, and a sun-lit dining room where breakfast and dinner are served. Each day fresh garden flowers decorate the lobby, dining room and lounge areas. Our room was comfortable, the bed was lull-you-to-sleep yummy and we had a private balcony with a table and chairs that allowed us to enjoy a cocktail and gaze at the magnificent mountains. Truly a peaceful retreat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We just spent 2 nights and the owners, Gary and Gabriella, made us feel like we were at our own vacation home. The accommodations were perfect for the area, the food was great, and the service was outstanding! We highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We booked very short-notice based on tripadvisor reviews - and we're very pleased. The hotel dates back four generations and the dedication and professionalism of the current manager really shows. We felt very welcome and throughout all staff were kind and professional. Our room was of a good size and we had a nice view from the balcony on the mountains. The free wifi worked flawlessly. The included breakfast buffet was good for this size hotel. The location is at the upper end of the town, so some walking is needed, but still manageable. We got good tips on minimizing the costs for the Jungfraubahn. We definitely will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We are just leaving this hotel after a weekend stay in the area for hiking and top of Europe. Location is great. The hotel is picture perfect and my room had a wonderful view. We ate dinner here both nights and the food was fantastic! Best of all was the service and owners who are wonderful and extremely helpful. Everything was no problem and the whole staff was friendly and inviting. They also helped us book train/lift tickets and gave great recommendations! This is really the perfect place to stay and great value for the price!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
/Suffolk
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel is rather old-fashioned inside, or maybe just Olde Worlde Swiss-style, which I like anyway. The room was a reasonable size though the extremely friendly owner apologised for not being able to upgrade us! As it was we had a terrace with the most fabulous views of the Glacier and the Eiger. Owners a treasure trove of information and very helpful and friendly with it. Breakfast very good as was dinner and staff nice and helpful too. My only quibble is the towels - rather threadbare and this is from someone who rather likes an old rough towel!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gletschergarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gletschergarten

Address: Obere Gletscherstrasse 1, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gletschergarten 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Gletschergarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gletschergarten Hotel Grindelwald

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gletschergarten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.