We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, rooms & food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant Alpina Grindelwald

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Restaurant Alpina Grindelwald to your Saves list
Hotel Restaurant Alpina Grindelwald
Kreuzweg 9, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 40 Hotels in Grindelwald
reading
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great location, rooms & food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Flower bedecked chalet hotel, comfortable newly refurbished rooms in modern alpine style with contemporary shower room. We had a side room with a balcony giving views of smaller chalets & gardens to the rear & mountain tops from side & front - perfect! [as was the weather for our 6 days].
Located 5 minutes up from the main street & station; however the short walk up is very steep so maybe unsuitable for the less fit or able.
Menu limited but food great & deserts are fine as long as you like ice cream.

Room Tip: Front rooms with balconies & views of the mountains are more expensive but standard rooms at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    19
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I stay here every June on my hiking trip of Europe and am never dissapointed. The owners are friendly and very helpful, there is wifi, a filling breakfast, great restaurant and fabulous views.

Even though only about 100 meters from the train station (so very easy to walk to) it seems to be a little oasis on the edge of the village. There Is no road noise, and you can relax on the front lawn staring at the Eiger, while lying in a deck chair.

Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose the balcony rooms for wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This is my second time reviewing this hotel. Having stayed there in 2009 and now again in 2012. We came back because the hotel staff and owners are warm and friendly and the hotel very clean and comfortable.
The restaurant serves delicious food which is very well presented. The rooms are spacious, very clean, new carpets and new linen on the beds. The beds are comfortable and snugly. Free wifi is available in the lounge/library room on the first floor. Breakfast is ample with various cereals, delicious breads, home made jams, ham and cheese, yogurts, fruit. You can also request eggs. The waiting staff are all efficient and helpful and nothing is too much bother. The hotel has a fast working lift. The hotel is situated across the road from the train station and slightly up a driveway. You are right in the township and very thing you need is close at hand. I fully recommend this hotel as good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms looking out to the Eiger which will be directly in front of you. Amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

My husband and I (aged 62) were fortunate enough to have discovered Alpina Hotel. The owner/staff were extremely helpful and accommodating. We needed information on the train to "Top of the World" Jungfrau. They helped us purchase the tickets with no charges for assistance. After that we wanted to arrange a helicopter tour and again they stepped up to make it happen. Then they drove us to the helicopter pick up place. All this while running a hotel. The rooms were clean and simply appointed. You have an amazing view from your room but you are not in Grindelwald to stay in your room. All in all the hotel value for the money was well spent but the extras from the owners put it over the top.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niantic, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

My wife and I spent 5 days and 4 nights at The Hotel Restaurant Alpina and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Our room faced the mountains and provided a marvelous view. We had several dinners at the hotel and the meals and presentation were on par with the finest restaurants we've ever been to. The location, within a short walk to the train station, was very convenient and allowed us to easily explore the region and we certainly did that. The hike up the steep driveway is a little rough but not that long. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Go and enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

We recently stayed two nights at the Alpina, a centrally situated hotel above the main street in Grindelwald. We had originally reserved at the Hotel Bodmi but cancelled as this latter place was way too far from the town. Hotel Alpina provided a basic room with comfortable beds, good plumbing, and pleasant hosts. As the hotel is mid to large in size, it sometimes accommodates groups. If you this hotel ,try for a room with a view. Some rooms may need a fan during a hot spell in the Summer.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

I am highly recommending this hotel for those that want comfort, cleanliness and friendly staff for their hotel experience. The hotel appears to be family owned and in every aspect runs like clockwork. Set high from the main street in town, the view looks out to the Eiger is just stunning. The rooms are extremely comfortable and large in comparison with some other hotels we have stayed in. The restaurant food is more than wonderful, it is amazing. The Chef should be an International celebrity because he is so wonderfully gifted and creative with his craft . His wife is the waitress and was pleasant, cordial and efficient. The meals are very generous and delicious. We ate all 3 nights we were there because I doubt we could have eaten any better.
The hotel is in Grindelwald just up from the train station and the bus station. So convenient in every way.
The staff were very friendly and informative with local information and efficient.
There is only one downside. The WIFI and internet access was not working for the entire 3 days we were there which was a shame.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Restaurant Alpina Grindelwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Alpina Grindelwald

Address: Kreuzweg 9, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 40 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family owned hotel is situated in the centre of the village, on a quiet spot 3 minutes above the railway station to Kleine Scheidegg/ Jungfraujoch and Interlaken and close to Männlichen- and Firstbahnstation. Our rooms offer a wonderful view to the EIGER and other mountains. Our restaurant is known for our traditional Swiss dishes as well as a selection of specialities from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Alpina Grindelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Restaurant Alpina Grindelwald, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.