We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent restaurant for fondue, raclette and Flamkutchen” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant Hirschen

Hotel Restaurant Hirschen
Im Tuftli, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
033-8548484
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 63 Restaurants in Grindelwald
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“An excellent restaurant for fondue, raclette and Flamkutchen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This restaurant is always busy and fully booked so it is best to reserve a table in advance. We ate the cheese fondue and flamkutchen and it was wonderful. They also have a good wine list to choose from as well.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    15
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Krasnodar, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst service in CH”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We came there as first customers and every move of waiter took like 15 minutes. At the end for our advice to be faster we were said that sorry we have many people in restaurant so it is normal you wait - we have already gave you table (which has been reserved 2 days ago) so you should enjoy your stay here! And it was manager who said that (the waiter was so slow she was not able even do her responsibilities)! We asked for warm water - they brought cold one. We asked once again she brought cold again. After third time she brought cold water and boiled water and proposed to mix...as we had raclette we were supposed to have side dish as much as we want but first time they brought 10 little potatoes for 12 people and then each time we asked for some more it took 15 minutes to do that. And at the end the manager said - it is normal in Switzerland... I hope no...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Winter Warmer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed a wonderful glass of homemade Gluhwein after a morning on the ski slope and was thoroughly warmed by this great place

Didn't have anything to eat, but the fondue we saw the couple near us eating looked awesome

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great fondue!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Yes, the other tripadvisor reviews were spot on. The fondue was perfect at a good price. The atmosphere of the restaurant was perfect. Our waitress, Celeste was nice and with a sincere smile, thanks!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Cheesy in a good way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

We followed the Trip Advisor crowd to this little gem for the obligatory cheese fondue. We were not dissapointed. The service was superb, the meal delicious and the atmosphere was great. We especially enjoyed the vantage point over the passing throngs of people ... Most of whom were gawking at our beautiful fondue. In all, the courses were well-sized and appropriately priced. Drinks and extras added up to a bit more than we were looking to spend, however, but if one limits the meal to fondue, light drinks and a coffee it's possible to get out for under a hundred dollars.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Restaurant Hirschen also viewed

Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Hotel Restaurant Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Restaurant Hirschen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.