We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food after a good day of hiking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of First Mountain Resturant

First Mountain Resturant
First mountain, Grindelwald CH-3818, Switzerland
+41 (0)33 828 77 88
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 63 Restaurants in Grindelwald
Restaurant details
Marshfield, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great food after a good day of hiking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Buffet style service with outside seating. Awkward buffet service but a very chatty cook. Excellent views as we watched paragliders jump from the mountain. Could just sit on the deck all day.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kaneohe, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Panorama!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This picturesque spot provided a welcomed respite for my family and me after trekking an hour from Lake Bachalpsee. We relaxed in the sun terrace, basked in the warmth of a beautiful summery day and marveled at the amazing panoramic vista of the Bernese Alps. Along with the view, we enjoyed a light lunch. My wife and I had their tasty homemade goulash and vegetable soups; our son went with the hamburger; and our daughter picked the macaroni and cheese. There are two sections in the sun terrace to choose to sit in: service and self-service. But both come with a priceless view.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Prices are high like everything else in Switzerland but the the food quality here is great. The restaurant has great views and is nice and warm. If the weather is nice you can sit outside on the huge deck.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“best view of Grindelwald”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

this restaurant is all about the view. we ate a light lunch on May, on a clear sunny day.The view was spectacular, the service very good, the food also good for a mountain restaurant.There is a little children's playground inside the restaurant.We enjoyed our meal at this restaurant and definitely come back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champery, Switzerland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Average food, a bit pricey - but the view is marvelous”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

It is generally true that the higher up in altitude a restaurant is the more average the food becomes. First Mountain Restaurant bears this out. It is mostly traditional Swiss fare, perfectly adequate but expensive - but the view is spectacular.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First Mountain Resturant also viewed

Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to First Mountain Resturant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Mountain Resturant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.