We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value! nice spa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald to your Saves list
Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorfstrasse 168, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Grindelwald
Herzliya, Israel
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great value! nice spa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were very happy with our choice here. Rooms were large, clean and comfortable, with all the extras you'd expect from a 4-star hotel, breakfast was generous and the spa was very good. Most important, the overall value was well worth the room rate. Staff was also very friendly and helpful. Location was great, right between the train station and the cable car station. Grindelwald in general was a wonderful overnight location with amazing scenery.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    74
    25
    6
    6
See reviews for
48
69
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

the StarHotel is nice with nice amenities. Love the pool with the view of the mountains. The room is fine -good storage and comfortable overlooking town. Food is plentiful. Dining choices at this time of year are limited, so. Go out when we want something else. The hotel is near the bus line and activities.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I was here only for three days and I was not impressed by this hotel. I wouldn't characterize it as a 4* hotel. Everything was average: the room (very modest), service (staff is not nice and not available), the catering was terrible, there was no variety and not enough food to feel satisfied. The location is nice though and if you get a room with a mountain view, the view is amazing.
In my opinion it is over-priced and over-rated.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had read some average reviews of this hotel before we arrived and frankly we were concerned. In the event we were delighted. The room was very good with excellent views. Service was fine and breakfast was outstanding. Yes, the room facilities were not right up to the latest one has come to expect in a modern hotel but we were not in Grindlewald to watch the TV or play on the Internet.

Swimming in the pool whilst looking up at the North Face of the Eiger will long live in my memory. The gym was very good for a hotel facility.

Room Tip: Face the Eiger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here during a walking holiday, second time we have had accommodation here. Very spacious lobby and nice rooms although we overlooked the main street and up the mountain to First this time. Last visit we had fantastic views of the Eiger.
Both breakfast and dinner were enjoyable and waitresses were excellent.
One downside is that the hotel is dead at night.

Room Tip: Check what side of the hotel you will be located in. There is also a newer wing which doesn't a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I spent three days at the Sunstar Hotel in Grindelwald during a scientific meeting. The hotel is comfortable and rooms are clean. Not very well furnished for a 4 star hotel. The suite didn't even have a music system or a dvd player (crazy for normal standards). The service is absolutely inadequate and insufficient. Courtesy doesn't seem to be important for the hotel management. Rough answers from simple waiters and slow service even for a simple coffee. The doorman/receptionist during night time was even worse if possible. Rude and mannerless.
I can only say that if I had to pay the stay there, which I didn't, I would have left in a couple of hours and they won't anyway see me again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Ive stayed there in September and loved it. Very friedly staff, Nice Room and especially a nice lobby with awesome views to the Eiger North Face. Felt a little bit like in a nice Whistler Hotel. Definately highly recomendable !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald

Address: Dorfstrasse 168, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#8 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#9 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#12 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This holiday and spa hotel is in an outstandingly panoramic location, quiet and central but with uninterrupted views of the famous North Face of the Eiger, Wetterhorn and First. Inside, the hotel is decorated with lots of warm wood, and the spacious lobby has an open fire, creating a cosy atmosphere. The large, comfortable bedrooms with their light wooden furniture are perfect places to relax in. Those in certain categories have a balcony. The half-board "Ambiance" restaurant has picture-perfect views of the mountains, tempting you to linger and eat to your heart's content. Gourmet diners are also superbly catered for in the à-la-carte "Adlerstube" restaurant. In the spa centre, you'll find all kinds of ways to unwind: try the large swimming pool, the Finnish sauna, the Roman baths with four climate zones, the hydro-massage showers, the solarium or the rest room. The hotel also offers an attractive range of sports, from a fitness centre to aquagymnastics and aerobics. If you take your holidays in the glacier village of Grindelwald, you'll have the opportunity to enjoy all the many and varied activities that are available in the Jungfrau region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grindelwald Sunstar Hotel
Sunstar Grindelwald
Grindelwald Hotel Sunstar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.