We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cosy room with clean facilities and friendly staffS” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bernerhof

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bernerhof to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bernerhof
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Dorfstrasse 89, Grindelwald CH-3818, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Grindelwald B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very cosy room with clean facilities and friendly staffS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

It's a nice hotel at a good location not only near the train station but also with a amazing view. Staffs are very helpful and friendly.
The only disadvantage is that the breakfast is not very good. They only offer cold food in the buffet.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    38
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
25
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

I was with my girlfriend's family and friends and stayed 2 nights in this hotel. We were greeted by the friendly staff who was very helpful in suggesting itinerary when we were quite at a lost on what to do. The staff also packed breakfast for us when we told them we had to leave early the next morning before breakfast time to catch the first train up to Jungfrau.

The room is a little small for comfort but thats the only complain I have about this place. The view outside (of Jungfrau) was excellent. We had a small television, a working fridge and an absolutely clean bathroom. A safe was provided and the cupboards could all be locked with keys.

The breakfast buffet was also commendable. There was a huge variety of food (considering I usually stay in hostel on my own) ranging from bread to hams to cheese and yoghurt. They even had a boiler for us to boil our eggs to our liking with timing guidelines at the side. One should note that the hotel also has a fully-functional cinema with decent english movies.

Location-wise was perfect for us as it was a near the train-station which the only train that will take you up to Jungfrau terminates. Parking was not a problem as there were plentiful space for 5CHF a day. There was Co-op just 100m away and all groceries could be gotten from there.

All in all a pleasant stay with a great view. The staff made the whole entire experience worth the extra cash splashed out for a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doylestown pa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

This was just about the least expensive hotel that I could find in Grindlewald for 2 rooms. (about $215/night) but everything in Grindlewald is extremely expensive. Definitley an adequate hotel with friendly staff, a good breakfast and if you're in the front, a great view of the Eiger. Beware...the rooms are extremely small- we compared them to the cabin on a cruise liner. Stay as high as you can..on a snowy night the plows are noisy. You are directly across from the bus lot which is conveneint for getting to various ski locations.My cousin stayed next door at the kreuz & Post for 1.5 times the room rate (would not be worth it to me) If you are looking for the "idyllic" Swiss village near to here, check out Muerren...I would love to stay there next time.

Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

This lovely small hotel is located very near to to the Grindelwald train station. About 1 minute walk. The bus terminal is right infront of the hotel but it is not noisy at all.

We had a room on the top floor facing the north face of Eiger. It was absolutely amazing to wake up every morning to such great views. Breakfast was good and the staff top up the food when the quantities ran low. The hotel also has a cosy lounge where you get free flow of tea (a variety) and coffee. The hotel provides internet access and if you brought a laptop along, wi-fi is available.

The First cable car station is about 8 minutes walk from the hotel and there is a co-op along the way where you can get some groceries.

Accommodation in Grindelwald is not cheap. Therefore, Bernerhof Hotel is a great find. We would like to particularly thank the staff Alias and Amy for their warm and friendly service that makes our stay here so welcoming. We will definitely stay here again if we return to Grindelwald.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

Positive:
located in the center, affortable for Grindelwald price level. Paqrking spaces available at the hotel (not all hotels in grindelwald have that)

Negative:
Unfreindly stuff, very hectic, wanted to charge the kid extra after the booking, room small and old fashioned. Overall not very comfortable, bed was breaking down during the night.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

My husband and I took a trip to Switzerland with my mum and dad last week and on our 3rd day we arrived in Grindelwald and to this hotel.
We got great service from the moment we checked in. Room was spacious and comfortable, only complaint was the noise from the roadworks outside-through no fault of the hotel. We all stayed on the 5th floor, my parents in a beautiful room with a balcony with a LCD TV and us in another room with a smaller TV but a nice and comfortable room. Rooms were clean and tidy and cleaned everyday. There is a reasonably priced (for Swiss standards) minibar in the rooms.
We had free internet access. Reception prints off a receipt with a username and password and it expires every 6 hours but they were more than happy to top it up daily. We asked for three at a time and there was no moaning.
Breakfast was free with our stay and served daily from 7-10. I would advise going in at 7 as all the food goes by the time you get there even at 8. They do however top it up if busy. They serve tea and coffee as many times as you like. Food was delicious and fresh.
You can use the swimming pool down the road for free.

Restaurants are quite expensive so we went to the Co-op down the road and bought breads, cheeses, hams and food for dinner to save money. We bought loads of beer and put it in our mini bar to cool (we'd emptied their drinks out and put our food/drinks in)

I need to mention Amy, one of the hotel staff who was absolutely lovely, my mother got talking to her and she went out of her way to make our stay comfortable. We asked her for plates, knives and forks to eat our dinner with and she gave it to us, along with constantly filling up an ice bucket for us for our drinks. One night my husband was unwell and we asked for painkillers, she gave us some along with some tea that my mum asked for and two cups. Nothing was too much trouble for her and she was brilliant!!! would recommend this hotel to anybody and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

Very friendly and helpful reception staff. Our room was on the fourth floor with a mountain view. The room was on the small side and ours had the sink in the main bedroom which was a bit weird. As stated, the bed was two singles pushed together, but not uncommon in this part of the world. The view from the balcony was fantastic and it was great to sit outside at the end of the afternoon with a drink looking at the mountain and the activity on the street below.
Breakfast was good with a good choice of mostly cold food. There's no restaurant, but there are plenty in the village including one in the hotels adjacent to the Bernerhof
A minor negatives was that the soundproofing between the rooms wasn't too good and there's no tea/coffee making in the room although you can get get hot drinks in the lounge till 10:00pm. The internet access was free and in our room there was a good signal and speed - ask reception for a free access code.
I can't imagine why other reviewers have rated this hotel so badly. It's not the best hotel in Grindelwald, but it's friendly, cosy, good value and in a great location. We will certainly plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Bernerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bernerhof

Address: Dorfstrasse 89, Grindelwald CH-3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bernerhof 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel with a cosy bar, directly at the station and sport-center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Bernerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernerhof Hotel Grindelwald

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bernerhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.