We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kreuz & Post

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kreuz & Post to your Saves list
Hotel Kreuz & Post
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorfstrasse 85, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Duxbury, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

My tour group had a wonderful evening at this charming hotel. Ambiance, clean, quiet, restful, excellent service, convenient to train and shopping area and restaurants, Beautiful views. Excellent breakfast

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKreuzPost, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kreuz & Post, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you so much for your opinion on tripadvisor. The Hotel Kreuz & Post-Team is happy to read, that you had a wonderful stay with us. We all hope that you returned with good memories from your trip and the village Grindelwald.

We hope to welcoming you again in our house.

Best regards
Your Hotel Kreuz & Post - Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    83
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
49
106
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Great room with dated, but clean furnishings .... with a very modern bathroom. The only drawback was that the bed was not the most comfortable. Excellent wifi and nice spa. Beautiful views of the Eiger!! There was some construction nearby. but the hotel does not control this and we enjoyed our one night stay. The breakfast was plentiful and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama,usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We loved our stay at this hotel! We can't say enough nice things about the great staff and the service that we received! Breakfast was very good and our waiter Daniel was very helpful! The owner / manager Helena was most gracious, loved the restaurant...food was wonderful and dessert was delicious! Rooftop was a great place for gatherings!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Grindewald is an adorable Swiss village. We visited off season so town was quiet and many things were closed...Restaurant at Kreuz Post is a 4 out of 5. Breakfast very good as well. Hotel clean, dated, but had nice amenities. Unfortunate that construction is taking place right outside close to front of hotel disrupting natural beauty. South facing rooms face Eiger but the Main Street is on foreground and noisy in yhe morning if have window open. Front desk staff could have been more hospitable. Spa at this hotel is very nice but closes at 8 pm and was actually closed before then when we expected to use it. All said, nice hotel, close to train station, clean, and wonderful breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Just returned from trip and spent 5 nights at Kreuz & Post!! Great service, great hotel and staff was superb!! Great access to train station! Had great meal in restaurant with superb service! Helena (owner/manager) personally greeted and visited with us!! All good!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were looking forward to going to this restaurant and went on the last night of our holiday. What a total and utter mistake.

The staff were unhelpful to the point of being rude! I ordered the special which was advertised outside and I didn't get it but I did get something similar but I definitely didn't pay the price of the special.

The staff were fawning over a table of 4 and I think it was pretty obvious that they could not have cared less about us. Very weird atmosphere in the place not helped that it wasn't busy.

Totally embarrassed when I asked discretely where the toilets were and the waiter pointed to a sign and told me in a loud voice to follow the signs to the toilet.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Mississippi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a trip to Switzerland and we adored Grindelwald. It was a real pleasure to stay at the Hotel Kreuz & Post. Our room was on the front of the building and we had a super view of the mountain. We were only steps from the train station and from great restaurants. I didn't have an opportunity to eat in the hotel restaurant, but heard that the food was wonderful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to other travelers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kreuz & Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kreuz & Post

Address: Dorfstrasse 85, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#5 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#11 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#11 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kreuz & Post 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schones Hotel an bester Lage im Zentrum von Grindelwald neben der kleinen Jungfraubahnstation. 42 Zimmer und Suiten mit traumhafter Bergsicht. Rustikale und elegante Restaurants und Panoramasaal. Intern. Kuche. Verschiedene Aufenthaltsraume und Seminarraum. Wellness. Fitness. Dachterrasse. Gratis WIFI und Parkplatze ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Kreuz & Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kreuz And Post
Hotel Kreuz Post
Kreuz Post Grindelwald

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kreuz & Post, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.