We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return was as good as ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Derby Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Derby Hotel to your Saves list
Derby Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorfstrasse 75, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Grindelwald
Worcestershire
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Return was as good as ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We returned to the Derby in March for a ski trip, having visited 2 years earlier & it's as good as ever. We were given a free room upgrade to a south facing (224) which was lovely with a view of the Eiger & very much appreciated. The room was absolutely fine with a lovely bathroom. Very, very minor niggles were that the shower always flooded the floor and it could do with having some coat hooks on the wall to hang our ski jackets/pants but that is all. Plenty of wardrobe space, a safe & a well stocked mini bar were also in the room.

The restaurant food & staff were superb. As we were skiing every day we appreciated the addition of the hot food at breakfast & dinner was a 5 course feast every night - just too much for us though.

We used the bar most evenings before dinner whilst meeting up with fellow travellers from the Ski Club of GB but I'll be honest the bar is a little on the quiet side at most times. It's a shame the hotel don't do more to promote the bar area & we often walked after dinner to the Avocado bar in the town which was much better on the inside than it looks from the outside!

Many thanks once again for the chocolate & the cheese & we look forward to visiting again in a couple of years time.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    76
    20
    4
    2
See reviews for
48
94
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

We have stayed at the Derby several times in the past few years. This February we came with friends and our week was fantastic, everyone who works at the hotel is so friendly and helpful. The views from the rooms are amazing which ever side you are on. My son had one of the recently refurbished rooms which was lovely, the furniture was nice and modern and the carpet really set the room off. The food is amazing and some lovely local dishes. The Derby is an excellent base to get out and about, we like to walk and the views are breathtaking.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

We stayed here just for a day 24 hours to be precise. Lovely hotel not luxurious by any standards but when you are out for most of the day what you look for is a comfortable well appointed room. Some people might find it odd but we found the location just awesome. Its practically on the railway platform. So on the way back you can easily sip a nice cuppa while waiting for your train to arrive and then saunter into the train takes all of 2 minutes 3 if you have loads of luggage :-). Lots of eating places around. And of course very friendly reception speak good english tell you what to do etc etc

Room Tip: We chose the Junior Suite had a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Our family has stayed at the Derby in the past and has enjoyed its great hospitality and atmosphere. We recently returned as a family for a week's skiing, and were not disappointed. The staff and owners were exceptional in their friendliness and helpfulness - nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were very comfortable and clean - we can recommend the south-facing doubles. The skiing and weather were also exceptional and the return to the hotel each evening brought a very tasty and varied meal to look forward to. We will be back!

Room Tip: South-facing rooms give a stunning view of the Eiger and evening sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

The hotel is situated in an ideal location by the train track for visiting Kleine Scheidegg. The facilities for storing skis and boots are excellent. The free WiFi didn't have complete coverage in our room, but it was fast enough when it was connected. The room was a good size with a balcony although it would be nice to see the twin beds separated by default, which had to be done manually and there was only a few inches of separation. The breakfast was great, with lots to choose from.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
March, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Well, to be honest, not much had changed - at least to the perception of the guest. The revamping of the rooms continues (mine had been done, whoopee!). The welcome on arrival from the fantastic team on reception was as warm as always. The breakfast menu now also offered bacon and eggs as well the meats, fruits, cheeses, cereals etc. etc. The dinner menu (five courses based on half board option as opposed to a la carte) was well presented and filling. The nice thing about the Derby is that if there is something you really don't like they will try and find an alternative for you. One of our group had to have a gluten free diet, the hotel were so helpful and ensured a suitable meal was always prepared. If you are considering the Derby for a holiday it is very centrally located in the village with the railway station just outside the front door, don't worry about train noise - you won't notice they're there and the people watching is excellent - when you're not skiing, walking, tobogganing, snowboarding, exploring. If you prefer a quieter stay, free wifi throughout the hotel is an added bonus.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton on Trent
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

My husband and I spent a fortnight here with friends, enjoying a ski-ing holiday in the lovely area around Grindelwald.

The hotel's situation by the railway station is very convenient, both for arrival at Grindelwald from Interlaken Ost station and also for accessng the huge ski area of Kleine Scheidegg by mountain railway.. For those wishing to ski the First ski area, the local ski bus stop is a short walk from the hotel.

We had a superior room on the second floor at the rear of the hotel, with a view of the Eiger from the window and balcony. The room was comfortable and warm, with twin Austrian-style beds, good mattresses, down-filled duvets, plenty of feather pillows, ample wardrobe and drawer space, a built-in desk, a small 'fridge, a safe for valuables, and a wall-mounted flat-screen television on which we could view BBC1, BBC2 and BBC World News together with a plethora of various European channels. The bedlinen was good quality cotton and was changed frequently, as were the towels in our bathroom.

The bathroom had recently been modernised and, although quite small, contained a bath with a power shower overhead, a vanitory basin unit, loo, heated towel rail and a hairdryer, together with a large well-lit mirror.

The lighting in the bedroom was adequate, but the lampshades on the bedside lights prevented us from being able to read comfortably in bed. The window curtains were in need of replacement as they were thin and shabby, although clean, but thankfully there were separate blackout curtains so we weren't disturbed by light infiltration from outside.

As we like to sleep with a slightly open window for fresh-air ventilation we were conscious of some noise from the street below, particularly buses, snowploughs (it was a particularly snowy fortnight, great for ski-ing but not so great for motorists!) and late-night revellers on Fridays and Saturdays. Friends sleeping at the front of the hotel, overlooking the railway station, told us they were woken early by station staff clearing snow from the platforms, but as those problems are outside the hotel's control this obviously can't be blamed on the management.

The reception area is light and pleasant, with a comfortable seating area, and there is an adjacent bar where one can relax. Additionally, there's a lounge area on the fourth-floor with sofas, armchairs, a television and DVD player, a selection of books, and a tremendous view of the surrounding mountains.

The dining-room is well organised, with eager and efficient waiting staff, and the food was ample and (mostly) tasty and well-prepared. We were on a half-board basis, so enjoyed plentiful breakfasts with a buffet comprising cereals and muesli, juices, fruit,, fresh breads, rolls and croissants, also various cooked dishes such as boiled and scrambled eggs with bacon, cold meats and cheeses. Dinners consisted of four set courses plus a salad buffet, and there were also vegetarian and gluten-free options. One evening each week one can enjoy a meat or fondue dinner in the hotel's cellar restaurant.

The hotel's owners were very friendly and mingled with the guests, including a weekly party before dinner when they treated us to complimentary wine and savoury pastries. And we found the hotel staff to be well-trained, helpful and efficient, particularly the ladies at the reception desk.

As one would expect, this is a smoothly-run and comfortable Swiss hotel, very conveniently placed for active holidays, with heated ski and boot rooms in the basement, and a covered parking area for guests' cars.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the higher floors to minimise noise from outside the hotel. Rooms at the rear are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Derby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derby Hotel

Address: Dorfstrasse 75, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#5 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#6 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Derby Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The very walls that greet you as you approach the Hotel Derby are steeped in history. The "Hotel de la Gare" was built here by the legendary Captain Gsteiger at the end of the 19th century. The same underlying principle applied then as it does now: we want to offer our guests a holiday that will long remain with them as a happy memory. Just travelling to the Derby is a pleasure in itself. The journey by rail could hardly be easier. We are passionate about hospitality and welcome you with a very special combination of attention to details and unobtrusive service. Stylish rooms and suites offer you plenty of space to unwind, relax and take in the splendid Mountain View. All rooms offer view to the surrounding mountains and are equipped with shower or bath/toilet, satellite TV, minibar and safe. The junior suites additionally provide a separate sitting corner. Most of the rooms have a balcony. In total 4 restaurants are at your choice. Either for an elegant dining experience, a tasteful 5-course-menu, a hearty Swiss dish or one of the various fondue specialities, our knowledgeable staff will be happy to advise you and to complete your stay by an attentive service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Derby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derby Hotel Grindelwald

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Derby Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.