We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At the Railway Station” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Derby Hotel

Save Saved
You added Derby Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Derby Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorfstrasse 75, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #15 of 38 hotels in Grindelwald
Houston Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“At the Railway Station”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This place is actually closer to the railway lines than the railway ticket office! You can see the railway timetables from the rooms facing the tracks. Otherwise, typical Swiss hotel in the Oberland area. My room had a balcony and the views were good on clear days. The rooms themselves were ok, with a mini-bar fridge, nice linens. Typical Swiss breakfast. Last review said the bathroom was large. ....obviously they did not stay in room.

Room Tip: Front desk told me rooms on the railway track side are quieter than those on the road side. You get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    63
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
40
72
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Accrington UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed one night at this hotel on a trip round Europe with friends. The approach to the hotel must be unique as a drive along a railway station platform is required to get to the car park and reception. Parking was free, an unusual experience in a hotel so well situated.
The hotel is archetypically Swiss in appearance and the greeting by the multi lingual reception staff was warm and friendly. Check in was quick and efficient and the rooms we had were beautifully equipped and large. The bathrooms was large, clean and very well equipped. We had reserved rooms with fantastic views across the valley to the north face of the Eiger and a very pleasant time was spent looking across at the view with a beer.
The hotel is well situated a short walk from the main part of the town and its numerous restaurants, which we used. The hotel restaurant was almost full on the night we were there, so although we did not use it, it was obviously very popular.
Breakfast the following day was excellent, a large cold choice available and great coffee, freshly made on demand and check out was as quick and efficient as check in.
The hotel is not a cheap option, but then, very little is in Switzerland. As for its situation, it would be difficult to find a better one in the town.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the south side overlooking the Eiger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This was one of our first experiences in switzerland. Wow! Grindelwald is absolutely wonderful!
This hotel was lovely. The breakfast was good and it was a cute swiss style place to stay. I enjoyed my time and would come back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel staff were very helpful and spoke good English. The rooms are bright and modern. Better to be on the south side with a balcony and view of the Eiger. The railway station is outside the north of the hotel. The trains are funicular and electric so are very quiet. We ate in the ground floor restaurant every morning and evening and were not disturbed by any noise from the trains. The food is good wholesome Swiss mountain food. 5 course dinners and a self-service continental breakfast. Great location from which to walk in the surrounding mountains.

Room Tip: South facing rooms with a balcony are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

You have to understand Grindelwald to love this hotel. Grindelwald is really one street on the side of a hill. If you come by train, then you will have to drag your bags up a hill to get to whatever hotel you are staying at and they aren't all that close. Belvedere is a good walk down, Spinne, a longish walk up and then down, etc. Most of the hotels are on the main street and few struck us as luxury. Take a look at a map to see where the hotels are in relation to the station. As for the station, which is literally right outside the hotel front door, this is no big station. Three or four electric trains an hour, no noise to speak of and this is not a busy town, certainly not in May when we were there. There was more noise from trucks on the road than from the trains which just slide in and slide out.

As for the hotel, we are four star people and this place was great. Rooms are pine furniture and I will call it swiss style, --it looks country-ish but very clean, good spacious washrooms, very comfortable beds, excellent and attentive service, nice people. We were there two nights in May, to see the Jungfrau. We had a family room, second floor looking up at the Eiger, i.e. on the back side of the hotel. Family rooms are like two rooms, large master area plus a pull out couch. Fruit in the rooms, good (more than continental) breakfast in the morning. We had dinner there one night and it was very good. We looked for other restaurants to eat in in Grindelwald and other than the Mercato Italian at the Hotel Spinne, (again a good walk away), none looked impressive.

This place was very good value, 238 francs per night including breakfast. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, PA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel as part of a ski club trip. This hotel is sooooo convenient to the trains, lifts, and gondolas needed to travel around the region, especially if you are carrying ski equipment. The staff was helpful and friendly. The food is nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Derby hotel for 3 nights. The rooms are spacious and clean albeit a little dated but that doesn't even matter when your view is so incredible. We enjoyed just sitting on our little deck just taking in the sights. Would definitely reccomend if you are staying in Grindewald.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Derby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derby Hotel

Address: Dorfstrasse 75, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#16 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Derby Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Derby Hotel in Grindelwald is a traditional superior hotel in an incomparably centrally location and home of familial hospitality. Situated direct at the train station the hotel Derby offers the ideally departure point for all kinds of summer- and winter sports, as well as an excursion to the legendary Jungfraujoch. Our 69 comfortable furnished rooms provide the right atmosphere to relax. After an eventful day outside in the fresh alp air you are welcome to relax in our sauna or solarium which are both free of charge or use the indoor swimming pool at the sports center in 300m walking distance, where you get free admission with your guest card. The delicate Bernese cuisine can be enjoyed in our à la carte restaurant Föhrenstube. During the winter season our cozy cellar restaurant "Cava" invites you as well to taste a Fondue or Raclette in rustic ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Tingo and Expedia so you can book your Derby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derby Hotel Grindelwald

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Derby Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.