We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't get any closer to the train tracks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Derby Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Derby Hotel to your Saves list
Derby Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorfstrasse 75, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Grindelwald
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“You can't get any closer to the train tracks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

My wife and I spent four nights here. Our room was very nice and the whole hotel appears to have been remodeled recently. It was extreemly clean and the rooms were wonderful. the staff was very nice for the most part and the lady who greeted us was especially friendly. They gave us a complementary upgrade on our room which made us feel pretty special for no good reason on our part. Breakfast was much better than most. We fell in love with a walnut bread they serve . Our room overlooked the train station which was a little noisy early in the morning if the windows were open. But, when all closed up, we heard nothing of the trains coming and going.
We ate dinner in the resturant for two nights and were pleasantly surprised at how good our meals were.
Our overall experience here was excellent. We would stay again if we ever return.

Room Tip: A top floor room at the back of the hotel facing the mountains would be wonderful. We like to peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    76
    20
    4
    2
See reviews for
49
94
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Haven
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Wonderful location, srupulously clean, comfortable, free parking, free internet, but not cheap.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We booked this hotel after reading reviews on tripadviser in 2011 and was impressed by the results so we decided to go for it in May 2012 and what a choice we made.We hit the Jackpot with this hotel.From the moment we arrived in the pouring rain,we were greeted at reception by a smiling member of staff and when we got our room card to un-pack,we were on fourth floor and reserved a superior room with a view of the mighty Eiger Mountain and when we got to our room,we noticed that they had given us a free up-grade to a family suite with two bathrooms,two balcony"s a bed settee with double wardrobe space,we were overjoyed by their hospitality.They said as it wasn"t peak season,they decided to give us a free up-grade as a way of saying thankyou for choosing their hotel.
The location,right on the station tracks was perfect for getting to and from Grindelwald without having to walk too far and there wasn"t any noise when the trains arrived as they were electric.
We asked if we could have tea-coffee facilities in our room as they weren"t compulsery and they gladly obliged and brought them up to our room straight away.
They served a 5 course evening meal each night as we were half board which over the week ,saved us alot of money and the food was excellently presented and cooked and we weren"t rushed between each course so we could enjoy and digest each of the courses.
we had a mini bar in our room but we hardly used it because it was quite expensive and also we was hardly in the room most of the time as we were exploring the Jungfrau region every day.
Breakfast was served between 6.30 and 10am and you have a choice of cereals,cheese"s,cold meats and bread and croisants with jams and honey etc.You could go back as often as you like.During our stay,they gave us a couple of bars of swiss chocolate in our room which was a nice gesture and at the end of our stay,when we checked out,they gave us a big block of Grindelwald cheese which rounded of our stay perfectly.We will definately come back to this hotel again,they treat us like V.I.P."s.
Thanks again Hoter DERBY.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Location stands out as superb ! If you think a hotel on a train platform sounds odd .... Then you're wrong ... This was the appeal of the hotel. 30 minutes stepping outside the door onto the train with a beautiful journey through the Swiss alps and you are at Kleine Sheidigg ready to ski! Standard rooms (north facing) are very small in fact are single rooms with a double bed squeezed in however the south facing Eiger view rooms are lovely and a very different experience , worth the extra. We found the senior Hotel staff fantastic with the owners making a real effort to ensure you were happy and interacted with the guests, there were a couple of staff who seemed quite stand offish but we put that down to the 'Swiss German' way ... Food was okay if you like lots of cheese and fried rich food ... I was longing for a bit of fresh fruit (banana, berries) by the end of the week. Be warned Switzerland is generally very expensive , wine is an average of 30 pound a bottle and the shops / ski wear is a third more than the UK. Grindelwald is sleepy at night probably more so as we went at the end of the season. We used Altitude ski school and had Rob as our instructor who was excellent. We would recommend The Derby for anyone going to Grindelwald.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We've just returned from a week's holiday in Grindelwald through Crystal Ski and the whole area has so much to offer. My wife and her cousin are skiers, and the husbands non-skiers, but we all found so much to do and all had a great time.
The ski pass recommended by the Crystal reps covered all the trains etc through the whole valley, proving great value.
The Derby Hotel was ideal. Lovely breakfasts and 5 course dinners each day were very good, but the little touches provided by the owners really made our stay complete. They obviously know how to care for their guests.
I would agree with the previous contributor, Toby S, that I too didn't relish being on platform 1 of a railway station, but it really did add to the holiday, watching all the comings and goings of the people either traveling up the mountain or down the valley. Excellent visit, plan to return!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge Of Earn
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

My wife and i have just come back from our holiday in Grindelwald and stayed at the Derby for the second time. We did not think it possible that it could be better than the first visit but it was. The meals in winter time are fantastic (not that the summer time meals were not good) and the choice of food and standard of meals was perfect. The staff many of whom were there last summer were very helpful and polite , and must say that the Resturant manager went out of his way to help. The owners are very nice and always ensure that your stay is as pleasant as is possible. Yet again we have no hesitation in recommending this very comfortable and accesable Hotel

Room Tip: If you want to veiw the Eiger go for a south facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Much has been written about how the Derby is basically on platform 1 of Grindelwald station and how this isn’t a problem but I’d go further and say this is actually an advantage. Grindelwald is pretty much a town on a hill and every step you take from the station is a step up that hill. Having to carry your bags only 10 metres to the hotel is a plus. But the real benefit is for skiers as the train to the larger of the two skiing locations in the area begins its journey at the station so you always get a seat. From there its down the hill to Grund from which on busy days it standing room only up to Klienescheidegg. The other skiing area reached by the First Gondola involves taking the ski bus which is about 30m from the hotel. We stayed in one of the hotels larger suits facing the Eiger. This direction also benefits from more sun than the station side rooms although the road noise outside can be quite loud at times. Inside the hotel the reception staff are worthy of a special mention as they were all particularly friendly and helpful. They lent us a couple of sledges one day and pointed us in the direction of the Eiger Run which was fantastic. We found the restaurant staff a bit more mixed but the one evening meal we had was good and the breakfasts typically Swiss but with everything you need. We’d definitely stay at the Derby again if we were back in Grindelwald.

Room Tip: The Eiger facing rooms get most of the sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Derby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derby Hotel

Address: Dorfstrasse 75, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#5 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#6 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Derby Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The very walls that greet you as you approach the Hotel Derby are steeped in history. The "Hotel de la Gare" was built here by the legendary Captain Gsteiger at the end of the 19th century. The same underlying principle applied then as it does now: we want to offer our guests a holiday that will long remain with them as a happy memory. Just travelling to the Derby is a pleasure in itself. The journey by rail could hardly be easier. We are passionate about hospitality and welcome you with a very special combination of attention to details and unobtrusive service. Stylish rooms and suites offer you plenty of space to unwind, relax and take in the splendid Mountain View. All rooms offer view to the surrounding mountains and are equipped with shower or bath/toilet, satellite TV, minibar and safe. The junior suites additionally provide a separate sitting corner. Most of the rooms have a balcony. In total 4 restaurants are at your choice. Either for an elegant dining experience, a tasteful 5-course-menu, a hearty Swiss dish or one of the various fondue specialities, our knowledgeable staff will be happy to advise you and to complete your stay by an attentive service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Derby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derby Hotel Grindelwald

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Derby Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.