We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food, garden with spectacular views & great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Spinne Restaurant

Hotel Spinne Restaurant
Dorfstrasse 136, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
33 854 88 88
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 62 Restaurants in Grindelwald
Cuisines: German, Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Melrose, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, garden with spectacular views & great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stopped by chance for lunch and we weren't disappointed. There's a lovely garden at the rear of the hotel with hushed music and spectacular views of the surrounding mountains to the south of Grindelwald.

Tables near the hotel are nice but venture away from the main building and you will be rewarded with some individually placed tables. big parasols and greater privacy - almost like being in your own back garden with waiter service and alpine mountains!

We enjoyed the pizza and pasta dishes. Portions are large so be warned. The mixed side salad was wonderful too. Afterwards one of us tried the passion fruit & frappe - highly recommended, it's delightful. With drinks (twice over) we spend 101 chf before a modest tip for their super service (which is attentive but discreet and never rushed).

The washrooms are modern and clean, buried deep in the hotel and the tables in the hotel itself look great - so it would be a nice venue for an evening meal winter or summer.

We enjoyed it so much that we decided to spend a good few hours of our afternoon there before returning to our hotel in Beatenberg. Highly recommended, good value (for pricey Switzerland) and excellent quality & service.

Arianne

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    19
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fondue!,”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had lunch at this place , right in the shadow of wetterhorn. The views are incredible. The food is decent Swiss fare, I'd give it a three star. Since we went peak tourism season, the service was a bit mediocre.its still worth a trip just for the view.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best Banana Split with a view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have been here lots with family mainly for the ice creams and the view! We had the best ice cream desserts here and the view of the North Face of the Eiger is amazing from the terrace. You should try this place just once and as an added bonus the kids can play mini golf next door.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Good Quality and Splendid staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a grand place to dine and one I can commend without hesitation. I guess if you don't fancy pizza then you may be best to look elsewhere as the choice will be limited.

A very warm welcome awaits you in this restaurant and there is a healthy choice. The quality of the food was very good; presentation excellent; staff commendable and a good atmosphere. The menu is reasonably priced for this area of Switzerland.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Pizza with magnificent views of Pfingstegg and Baregg!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Quick service, pleasant staff, magnificent view of the mountains and excellent pizza - good value for money and great place to spend / relax with family.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Spinne Restaurant also viewed

Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Hotel Spinne Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Spinne Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.