We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel I have ever stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parkhotel Schoenegg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Parkhotel Schoenegg to your Saves list
Parkhotel Schoenegg
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorfstrasse 161, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Grindelwald
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The Best Hotel I have ever stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

From being collected at the rail station throughout the rest of the holiday everything about the Hotel and its staff was perfect. Maybe if they could have done something about the weather....
I had a single room with a large terrace (130) and a great view of the mountains,. Everything was spotlessly clean, the food was varied and beautifully cooked, the lounge was spacious, welcoming and and comfortable. The swimming pool was immaculately clean, with a large Jacuzzi and panoramic windows to watch the Mountains.
The owners, Thomas and Anja, came round and chatted to us all every day at dinner, and were full of good advice for things to do, walks, weather. The receptionists too were very helpful, and helped me sort out a missing boarding pass for my flight home.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony facing the mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tschingel P, Leiter Front Office at Parkhotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your very, very nice comment - with great pleasure we hear that you have had an enjoyable and unforgetable stay with us!

We hope we see you soon again and send you our kindest regards

your friendly SCHOENEGG-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    26
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
55
62
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This beautiful and charming family hotel offers views of the Alps that are second to none. The staff is friendly they go the extra mile, the food selections highlight locally produced items. The spa is clean and relaxing after a full day's hiking. I can't wait to come back in the near future.

Room Tip: My room in the back offered quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tschingel P, Leiter Front Office at Parkhotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear SirT
Thank you very much for very nice comment. To meet you here in Grindelwald was a great pleasure for us. It would be an honour to welcome you at another time again at our modern and traditional Hotel.
Your host family Stettler and the friendly team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Having spent 10 days at the Parkhotel Schoenegg we found the Stettler family to be warm, hospitable hosts and their staff to be of the highest caliber.

From the balcony of our room we had stunning views of Grindelwald and the surrounding mountains including the famous Eiger. The food at the hotel was delicious with a wide variety of dishes including good vegetarian options.

I can see why my parents have made annual visits to this gem of a hotel for the last 15 years.

Nicki and Paul Landymore

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tschingel P, Leiter Front Office at Parkhotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Guests
Thank you very much for your nice review – It is a great honour to read that enjoyed your first stay with us in the famous EIGER-Village. We look forward to welcome you again together with your parents in our modern and traditional Hotel.

Your host family Stettler and the friendly team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This hotels wins awards for friendliness and no wonder. Your hosts, the Stettlers, have a long family tradition in the business and their whole attitude is to make guests feel completely at home and beautifully looked after. Great location in Grindelwald village with the Eiger and Jungfrau
right on the doorstep. No doubt the ski-ing is great but we went for summer walking in Alpine meadows with wildflowers, cuckoos, and clanging cowbells. Switzerland at its best...clean, neat,
and always on time !

Room Tip: Rooms at front have great mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tschingel P, Leiter Front Office at Parkhotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Harry

Thank you very much for your nice comment - with great pleasure we hear that you have had an enjoyable and unforgettable stay with us in the unique EIGER-Village Grindelwald!

We hope we will see you soon again and send you our kindest regards

Your friendly SCHOENEGG-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This review is from June 2014 and broken into 2 parts: What you want to know and what you need to know.

What you want to know:
- clean hotel; kind service; magnificent views; across street from best cafe and pizzeria in town; family friendly; next to cable car up to First; 15 min walk from train station (hotel picks you up/drops off); kindest service you will find.

What you need to know:
They just won the 2014 first place award for hotels in Switzerland -- in ALL of Switzerland. That's like a Japanese restaurant winning 1st place for best sushi in ALL of Japan.

Yanis and Alina at front desk are trustworthy and like your nicest cousins. Trust whatever they recommend, such as buying the 3-day Bernese Oberland VIP pass even if you have Swiss Pass since it gets you up to Jungfraujoch (included) and pretty much anywhere in the entire region.

Owner Thomas is the kindest and most fun person to be around. His family has owned the property for over 100 years so he has an interest in taking good care of it.

If you are thinking of staying in Interlaken instead, consider that you have to add 30 minutes to the train ride up to Jungfrau; you save money and time by staying in Grindelwald. Also Interlaken has become a sewer -- okay that's an exaggeration but compared to the pristine beauty and service of Grindelwald.... you get the idea.

Grindelwald too has changed immensely. In 5 years it may be over-developed and look/feel like Internlaken. Even now you have the big tour buses staying at the bigger hotels. But for now - with the help of Thomas, Yanis, and Alina (and family dog Jingles) - Grindelwald is what you seek in a dream trip to Switzerland.

Go. Go now.

Room Tip: Ask for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoenegg, Leiter Front Office at Parkhotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Family

Thank you very much for your nice and extensive comment - it was a great pleasure to meet and accommodate you in the EIGER-Village, also would it be a honour for us to welcome you at another time agian here in Grindelwald!

Kindest regards

all of the friendly Schoenegg-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Last February week we spent at the Parkhotel Schoenegg in the Eiger village in Switzerland. The hotel met all our expectations. The hotel is situated in the beautiful place and only 50 meters from the gondola going to the First Mountain! We had the room with the fantastic view of the Eiger from our balcony. The hotel has free car parking, ski storage room with the ski boots drying. This hotel has 3 star rating, but our family with certainty wants to give it 5 stars, because this hotel has a very friendly atmosphere, excellent service, breakfast and dinners are exceptional. It was very pleasant that the owner of hotel, Mr. Thomas, always was with the guests at the restaurant and was interested in their health, quality of food and other. Such relation gave a homeliness note. Great thanks to hosts Anja & Thomas Stettler and all Schoenegg-Team for excellent rest.
20 – 28 February 2014, Mr. and Mrs. Levshin, Russia, Moscow

Room Tip: the room with the fantastic view of the Eiger mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoenegg, Leiter Front Office at Parkhotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Family

Thank you very much for your nice comment - with great pleasure we hear that you enjoyed the friendly and familiar atmosphere in our Hotel.

We hope we see you soon again and send you our kindest regards

your friendly SCHOENEGG-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We spend 5 days in Parkhotel Schoenegg in early March and the hotel was perfect. Staff made us feel even before arriving very warmly welcome and that they really wanted to have in the hotel. This same friendliness continued after arriving. What we really appreciated and made a big impact was that the owner comes and greets all new guests and hands over a book of the history of the hotel. Additionally there is a welcome reception on Sunday evenings providing free of charge drinks and owners coming to meet customers. In addition to the good daily dinner there are 3 special nights when there is a buffet to choose from for main courses, desserts and many times a week you can swap your dinner from the main room to a fondue or raclette in a smaller, cosy Stubli attached to the restaurant. Hotel location is very good close to the First Cabin station. Ski bus stop is 100m away that takes to Männlichen and others stations. Additionally hotel has a good standard sauna and pool complex for relaxing after a ski day. Close to down town but very nicely out of the mains street proving silence and excellent sleep!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoenegg, Leiter Front Office at Parkhotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Family

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here in Grindelwald - Thank you very much for your precious comment!

We would be glad to welcome you an other time again here in the famous EIGER-Village.

Best regards

Your friendly Schoenegg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkhotel Schoenegg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhotel Schoenegg

Address: Dorfstrasse 161, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#3 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Parkhotel Schoenegg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Parkhotel Schoenegg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkhotel Schoenegg Grindelwald

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkhotel Schoenegg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.