We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof to your Saves list
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Swiss Alp Resort 1-3, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

Really loved this hotel. Immediately upon entering there was a warm and inviting atmosphere; a perfect place to relax in the alps. Our room was lovely and romantic with lots of little touches like delicious chocolates. The view was outstanding, and we could look upon the Eiger from our bedroom and better still from the swimming pool. The spa was well very well presented and enjoyable. We were looking forward to the six course dinner, but whilst the food was outstanding, unfortunately there was a huge corporate event booked in which we were not informed of at the time of booking. The group were incredibly drunk and noisy, and took over the whole bar and restaurant area, really spoiling the atmosphere we had hoped for. The staff were SO friendly and apologetic and promised us it would be better tomorrow, but we were sadly only staying for one night. Not quite the romantic getaway we had hoped for, but a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schweizerhof3818, Inhaber at Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof, responded to this review, January 31, 2015
Dear guests,

thank you very much for your recent stay with us at our Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your time in our village, hotel spa and the service of our staff.

We however are very sorry that the corporate guests have been an annoyance in the evening. Though only happening but a few times, it is hard to understand why grown up guests sometimes defer even our urging for a respectful volume.

We still hope to once again being able to welcome you in our hospitable (and usually more quiet) resort here in the middle of the beautiful Switzerland mountain scenery.

Kindest regards,
Anneliese & Otto Hauser-Seger, your hosts,
and our Schweizerhof team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    10
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

Visited Grindelwald for our anniversary. We were pleasantly surprised at the wonderful location. Although we drove our car from Zurich, the train station is right across the hotel and all the shops and restaurants are just within the 2-min walk. It was extremely convenient to get water/snacks or to get the train for our Jungfrau trip. The room was way smaller than our expectations (had a huge suite in Zurich) and the furniture seemed outdated. However, the great service/attitude received from each and every person at the hotel/resort made up for that tiny room! Had a balcony that had the splendid view! We chose the half board (2 meals included) option and were not at all disappointed. Breakfast had great choices and the dinner was wonderfully crafted, different each evening. They even celebrated our anniversary by decorating our table with rose petals etc. Overall, a great stay. Next time, I would ask for the largest room as the king room we picked was quite cramped. Did not use the spa but seemed very nice facility. Would def recommend this resort. It's the only 5 star in Grindelwald.

Room Tip: Ask for the largest room. Worth paying! Chef quite flexible. If you don't like the dinner optio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schweizerhof3818, Inhaber at Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof, responded to this review, January 28, 2015
Dear guests,

thank you very much for your comments on your recent stay with us at our Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof here in Grindelwald.

We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us so much, even if you did not have the opportunity to use our comprehensive spa.

Regarding our rooms: indeed there still are some rooms, that have not yet been fully refurbished. In due time also these will of course be done. For your next stay we would recommend to reserve a Junior suite in our main hotel building or a Bussalp suite in our Residence building in order to fully meet your needs.

Meanwhile we wish you a very pleasant time and hope to once again be able to host you as our appreciated guests.

With kind regards,
Anneliese & Otto Hauser-Seger, your hosts,
and our Schweizerhof team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

We stayed for 11 days over Christmas and New Year in one of Schweizerhof's Chalets. The two bedrooms, large living/dining area and en-suite bathrooms left nothing to be desired. A gas fire place and a large warp around balcony with full views of the Eiger Northface completed a perfect setting. We booked half-board and where not disappointed either. A large breakfast buffet with lots of choices and a 5 or 6 course dinner in the evening are delivered by a professional team that took very well care of us four. The kids loved the casual atmosphere and very friendly and efficient services as much as we did. The hotel is located a 2 minutes walk away from Grindelwald's train station from where one gets directly up to the ski slopes of Kleine Scheidegg. The hotel operates also a shuttle bus to the lifts going up to Maennlichen and First respectively. A ski room for storing all equipment includes ski-boot fans to have them dry and comfortable the next day. Grindelwald's ski areas are high up enough to have pretty good ski conditions from mid December, and we had no problem hitting the slopes while lots of other areas in the Alps were struggling to see enough snow. Overall a great place and highly recommended for serious skiers.

Room Tip: Spoil yourself and choose a Chalet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schweizerhof3818, Inhaber at Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof, responded to this review, January 24, 2015
Dear guests,

thank you very much for your vacations here in the Swiss Alp Resort resort of our Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald.

It is very delightful to get to know that you have enjoyed your stay in one of our luxurious chalets ("Rotstöcki", "Mittellegi", "Ostegg") so much and that your service expectations have been met by our hospitable staff. As you said it yourselves perfectly: we are a professional, luxurious resort yet still keep a casual atmosphere since it is YOUR time-out to enjoy.

We would be very honoured to once again host you as our appreciated guests here in the very heart of the Swiss mountains.

With kind regards and our best wishes for 2015,
Anneliese & Otto Hauser-Seger, your hosts,
and our Schweizerhof team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

We stayed here for Christmas and were very pleased that we chose this hotel. Staff could not be faulted and rooms and restaurant / bar were first class. View from bedroom was stunning, Walk from train only 2 mins with many other restaurants and bars within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for Eiger view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schweizerhof3818, Inhaber at Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof, responded to this review, January 24, 2015
Dear guests,

thank you very much for your recent stay in our Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof here in Grindelwald.

It is a pleasure to see that you have enjoyed your vacations with us so much. We have forwarded your comments to our staff, who where delighted to see that their service has met your approval.

We wish a very good 2015 and hope to once again be able to host you as our appreciated guests.

With kindest regards,
Anneliese & Otto Hauser-Seger, your hosts,
and our Schweizerhof team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

We were so looking forward to this holiday, booked the hotel in June , but it was a disaster as a couple staying in this hotel. It was ruined by noisy bus parties and everything else that goes with those kind of holidays. The hotel is beautiful but not 5star, the service and the food was terrible, we were paying a high price and felt that we were subsidising the bus parties! We decided to have breakfast after the bus parties but that was not a pleasant experience as the buffet was decimated
And it has been a long time since I drank tea from a Pyrex cup, the staff were busy clearing the tables and setting up for lunch! We booked half board but only had two evening meals, waited an hour to be served, due to the fact that everyone is served at the same time! We ate at other hotels the remaining four nights, which meant taxis and boots!
We had a beautiful bedroom but the duvets were not fresh and we were given new ones after three days! The mini bar was empty not even water! Big plus was the TV we were able to have all the main British channels, watched the Queens speech! Internet was intermittent, it would work in the middle of the night!
The owner was a very smiling man but he was only interested in filling the rooms which is understandable , times have changed it is very expensive to be Independant travellers,the first night there was only one other couple and we were served in
a small room room as the dinning room was used by a large party!
We will look for a smaller hotel next time, I think they should mention in their brochure that they take bus/ coach parties!

Room Tip: A front room is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schweizerhof3818, Inhaber at Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof, responded to this review, January 28, 2015
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your recent stay with us and your comment on Tripadvisor. We ourselves highly value the opportunity for guests and ourselves that Tripadvisor is providing and we are glad you decided against your former attitude that (quote) "it is beneath your dignity to publish on that portal".

We sure are not perfect since as it is with us: where humans are working, mistakes are made - even in the best of intentions. As such we thank you very much for your advice that after the group's (lovely elderly guests from the Isle of Man who had an even lovelier time with us) departure from the breakfast buffet it looked empty - we have discussed the issue with the according staff in order to prevent this happening again. However we are not certain where you obtained a Pyrex cup - since we sure have none.

Generally we have had various meetings together - all on your demand - where we discussed your obvious discomfort with the situation of our guests enjoying themselves in our hotel. Generally we agreed that a resort of our size simply does not suit you well. However we are glad to have received a lot of positive feedback lately that shows that other individually travelling couples enjoyed themselves during the same season. It seems the situation could not have been that bad.

Regarding our mini bar: yes it is empty, since no one seems to care much for a mini bar anymore due to our copious offers throughout the resort, restaurants, lobby, bar and 24hours-room service. But there is an obvious label in the mini bar itself informing our guests in 4 languages (one of them decent English), that we fill the mini bar anytime according to our guests' wishes - simply inform us.

We wish you all the best for the year 2015 and merry journeys.

Anneliese & Otto Hauser-Seger, your hosts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Brook, NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Can't beat the location and ambiance of this hotel. Short walk from train station - they will meet you to assist with bags but we forgot about this and had no problem. Staff could not have been nicer nor more helpful. Must say that I had had expected a more updated room and our assigned suite had not been renovated as were the rooms on the lower floors. We were on the top floor that just has a few rooms and though our suite was spacious, it just wasn't what one would expect from a hotel that was 5 star. Since there is generally no need for air conditioning, there is none and it was needed when we were there mid September. After 2 uncomfortable nights, I requested to see and then be switched to a renovated room and they were very accommodating and helpful with the move. Since we no longer had a living room, where the balcony door and window gave the most ventilation, our new room had the door and window closer to the bed and it was an improvement. The facilities were more "5 star" than the rooms and I loved the piano player in the lobby. Was able to hear his wonderful repertoire of American standards in the restaurant during dinner. We had the wonderful view from the front of the hotel of the Eiger and it just added to being in this beautiful, accessible town. My husband had a great massage and if we had more time I would have enjoyed the exercise classes offered twice a day. That was a nice touch but should have been earlier in the morning and later in the afternoon so they wouldn't interfere with the day's excursions.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

Just got back from holiday in Alps.
Reviewing my photos of Grindelwald and especially of Hotel Schweizerhof has already got me planning for my next visit.
Major pluses:
- hotel has full-face view of the Eiger ( tip: do request for room in main building with mountain view)
- literally a few minutes walk to the train station (which is useful for trips to Kleine Sheidegg, Jungfraujoch and other scenic attractions). Also close to bus stop.
- the indoor pool and spa
- room I had was spacious yet cosy with 2 balconies, walk-in closet with in-room safe, separate toilet and bathroom ( with both shower and jacuzzi bath tub). What was also appreciated was the no - fuss table by the window with its electric kettle and conveniently placed power points (unlike some overly designed hotels where everything is hidden for a streamlined design).

What also made stay memorable was the efficient and polite staff, who retained professional poise even when faced with tour groups.

Breakfasts were adequate with a reasonably good selection of hot and cold items. Particularly liked their range of preserves and. jams. Dined there twice. Cooking is deftly competent.

Room Tip: Ask for mountain facing room if possible in main building. More convenient access to facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schweizerhof3818, Inhaber at Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your comprehensive and positive feedback on your latest stay in our Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof here in Grindelwald. From the description of the room we estimate you have been staying in one of our top suites either in the Residence building or Chalets. We are pleased that the suite met your approval.

It is a great pleasure to see that you as a well seasoned traveller have been enjoying your stay with us so much. We will forward your compliments to our staff who certainly will be very glad to get to know that their service was truly valued.

Already we are looking forward to your next stay with us here in the very heart of Switzerland.

With kindest regards,
Anneliese & Otto Hauser-Seger, your hosts,
and our Schweizerhof team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof

Address: Swiss Alp Resort 1-3, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#7 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#9 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linked to the Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof, Chalet Rotstocki is the most luxurious chalet in Grindelwald. Located in the beautiful village of Grindelwald and with breathtaking views of the famous Eiger North Face from every room, Chalet Rotstocki is the epitome of modern luxury. Ski lifts, shops, restaurants and the station are on your doorstep, providing easy access to the ski slopes in winter and mountain trails in summer. The chalet’s fantastic living space consists of eight double bedrooms spread across four floors, each with sumptuous en-suite showers and bathrooms. Effortlessly blending Italian designs and electronics with Alpine charm, the chalet provides 3 living rooms - one on each floor as well as 3 dining areas. The chalet can easily accommodate larger groups, with the dining room on the second floor able to seat 16 people. An additional dormitory style room for children allows the chalet to comfortably house up to 22 people. Guests can enjoy the exclusivity of the chalet, as well as facilities including a swimming pool, spa and wellness centre. Catering options are entirely flexible, ranging from breakfast only, to a fully catered in-chalet option including Indian, Halal and Kosher cuisine. Food is prepared by the hotel's gourmet chefs and delivered with full silver service. The chalet is extremely disabled friendly with lift access from the ground floor to the first and second floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel Grindelwald

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.