We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alpine Delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Spinne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Spinne to your Saves list
Hotel Spinne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorfstrasse 136, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence 2014
York, Maine
1 review
“Alpine Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Hotel Spinne matches the view of the Eiger from the dining room. Magnificent.
A good hotel with very friendly staff and in an excellent central location. Suitable for guests of all ages. With two restaurants and a bar there is a good choice of menus and prices, including happy hour during our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on north side over street noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    52
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
47
86
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Spinne for 2 nights. The hotel is very centrally located and has a lovely restaurant with large terrace and excellent views of the Eiger. The room we were allocated was nice and spacious but faced the street. It was still relatively warm for early September and since there is no fan or AC in the rooms we had the windows slightly open. Needless to say we didn't sleep due to the noise from the street. There is also a bar and disco in the hotel so there are people chatting on the street all night. The second night we stayed in one of the guesthouse rooms and although the room was smaller we much preferred it as it was quiet and had great views onto the mountains. The hotel staff are very friendly and accommodating and the location of the hotel is very convenient and close to everything in town. I would definitely consider staying here again but would request a guesthouse room.

Room Tip: If you value your sleep request a guesthouse room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Hotel Spinne set in the beautiful Alpine village of Grindelwald is quite wonderful.

We arrived on a cold Spring evening, by the little mountain train from Interlaken. It's a lovely trip with beautiful lake and mountain scenery to enjoy. At the station we were received by the smiling gentleman driver who was there to collect us with the hotel van. A short trip to the hotel, checking in with a warm welcome from the receptionist and soon we settled into our suite, the Eiger suite.

The suite was very spacious, comfortable, and with extremely nice bathrooms. Multiple bathrooms, with large showers, a bath, quite luxurious! We felt a bit spoilt, and the best was yet to come. The bedrooms were also well laid out, the place like a medium sized apartment with the master room set away from the 2nd room. In between was a hallway and the large living and dining area.

We had a bit of trouble working out the heating system, it may have been automatic, but by trial and error we eventually found it to be working, mostly. Quite a necessity too, some heat in Switzerland most nights!!

The true beauty of our room was to be seen the following day, where we awoke to a quite spectacular vista, looking directly across to the Eiger from the bedroom. Outside on the balcony, the Eiger filled about 70 degrees of the view looking out, while another peak of over 4000m stood nearby. The views over the village, clad in snow were also storybook perfect.

The room had several doorways onto the main, super large balcony, and it was a delightful perch to watch the snow falling and turning the scene into icing powder heaven before us. A magical place to be, nice staff, not an over elaborate breakfast but quite classy throughout. Absolute recommendation even though it’s not cheap, nor are we wealthy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We've stayed in Grindelwald five or six times previously but not in the 'downtown' area. The location is wonderful - central to everything and the view from the rooms (ours for certain and it looked like all have similar views) is nothing short of incredible.
Service is top notch, rooms very clean and truly Swiss in character. We had slippers, bath robes, a fruit plate and welcome card on our arrival - a very personal touch.
Swiss breakfasts are always a wonderful event where you can eat all you wish and not be hungry for many hours and they certainly take care of that here.
The receptionists (and all the other staff too) are very helpful and take the time to listen and answer any questions.
I'd certainly stay here again and would highly recommend the property.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed 4 days/3 nights for anniversary (post-prime ski season). We were upgraded to room with mountain view and balcony (which was fantastic because it snowed 13" the third day) and a welcome basket. Not a luxury hotel and a little dated, but still pleasant w/ friendly staff. Room was large w/ comfortable bed and large spa bath. Picked this place as base for skiing in Grindelwald, but ended up skiing in Lauterbrunnen. Excellent european-style breakfast -- consisting each morning of fresh breads, cheeses, meats, fruits, and cereal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed 3 nights in the hotel as part of my honeymoon trip. I'm so delighted that I was offered an upgrade of the room with mountain view and balcony.

When my wife and I entered the room, we loved it very much. The setting, the balcony, the view of Eiger, the personal greeting card and also a plate of fruits as welcome refreshment....we appreciated it much and had a very warm feeling.

As our room located in the guest house (the block in front of the main building of the hotel at a lower place), the balcony faces Mt. Eiger. Since there is the hotel main building as the 'shield' which block the noise from the street, we could even hear clearly the sound of waterfall from the mountain in front of us.

The staff (front desk or restaurant) of the hotel is very nice and helpful. Though the breakfast did not have many choices, it's already enough for me.

There are spa and sauna facility but it's bad that we did not had time to enjoy it. However, with the balcony and nice view, we did enjoy the time for resting there for the sunset in the evening.

There is also free wi-fi provided in the room and throughout the hotel. And there is kettle provided in the room and it's very useful as we could prepare hot water before going to various mountains nearby.

Room Tip: Room with mountain view and balcony, but unavoidably, the room rate is higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Situated with marvellous views of the Eiger this is an excellent place to stay.The food is very good and there iis a panorama terrace so you can eat outside looking right at the mountains in good weather. We had half board and the evening meal was four courses including soup and waiter served. Desserts and pasta were particularly good but every dish was well cooked. There was a choice of main course. Staff are friendly and helpful. We had a lovely balcony with unforgettable mountain views. Rooms are very clean and quite spacious although bathroom more compact. One tip is to bring a spreader plug as well as plug adaptor as there was only one socket for phone chargers etc. Make sure to bring a thin euro plug adaptor, the thicker ones will not fit. One negative is the spa, Although it is a nice facility with 2 saunas, steam room, jacuzzi and rest rooms it is strictly naked, no swimsuits are allowed. Perhaps as a result it seemed little used. Although this is a custom locally of course it is a pity there is not a period in the day when clothing is allowed for those who prefer this. The hotel is well situated in what seems the most interesting area of the town in summer but only five minutes walk from the train station which you are likely to be using most days for trips out.

Room Tip: Mountain view with balcony is worth paying for, just stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Spinne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spinne

Address: Dorfstrasse 136, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#7 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spinne 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Year-round Four-story Hotel with shuttered windows & wooden balconies, located 500 meters from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, seekda GmbH, Hotel.de and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Spinne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spinne Hotel Grindelwald
Best Western Grindelwald

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Spinne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.