We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, best hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Spinne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Spinne to your Saves list
Hotel Spinne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorfstrasse 136, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ankara, Turkey
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Good location, best hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

They gave us free honeymoon upgrade to Guest House. Hotel is 10 steps to the ring bus, 200 metres to train going to Kleine Scheidegg and region, 100 metres to First lift and region, parking lot, nice rooms with view, pleasant Italian restaurant, half board menu, shiny after ski terrace, clean and cosy wellness center with 3 saunas and 1 whirlpool.
Staff very friendly and always smiling. Convenient ski room.

Room Tip: Guest house rooms seem to be larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    52
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
47
86
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Stayed on the 28th Jan 2012. The hotel itself was clean and the staff friendly and helpful. I had a single room which was fine, well cleaned on a daily basis.mthe only criticism I had of this room was that it was on the end of the hotel above the neighbouring 'Espresso Bar' and was very noisy on the Friday/ Saturday night. Howeve the rest of the stay made up for it.

The food was fantastic, 4 courses every night of top quality food with a choice between 2 main corses on every night. Breakfast was also very good, buffet style with cheese, meat, fresh bread, choice of yoghurt, eggs , bacon, choice of cereal. I note one review on here that breakfast wasn't exciting, if by that the reviewer means that the toast didn't jump up off the plate and sing a song then I would have to agree, but other than that I could not be faulted.

Staff were keen to have a chat and be friendly and you could tell that it was a family run hotel.

The wellness centre comprising of sauna etc was also very good with fresh towels available all the time along with heral tea and water available as required.

The location of the hotel was also very convenient, bust stop a few yards away, with the first ski lift only anfewnhundred yards up the road. The railway station being a couple of minute bus ride away.

I would stay here again and would not hesitate to reccomend to a friend.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

This was our second visit to Grindelwald and the Spinne and we were not disappointed. This was also our first taste of Christmas away from home and it proved to be a brilliant experience. The Spinne may not look like much from the roadside, but inside it is cosy, warm and comfortable. All the staff (from chambermaids to owners) are unfailingly and effortlessly helpful, cheerful and welcoming. We stayed in the "Guesthouse" at the rear of the hotel for the second time - where the newly refurbished rooms are spacious, light and have stunning views across to the Eiger and the valley below. They are also very quiet and peaceful. As we were on half board we ate in the main hotel restaurant where we had fabulous food every night without fail. We would highly recommend this hotel for it's brilliant location within 5 minutes walk of the First Gondola, the railway station, the bus station and right next to the ski bus stop - but also for the whole experience.

Room Tip: South facing rooms, especially in the "Guesthouse" are spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Lovely hotel, very welcoming and staff and service excellent. Well placed hotel in the centre of Grindelwald. We had an amazing view from our twin room. Good choice of food and very clean throughout the hotel. One of the nicest ski hotels I've stayed in, will definately recommend to family and friends! Thank you

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Great hotel but 2 outstanding features. the views from our room and the dining room overwhelming. And the spa really great. One thing you need to be comfortable in a co ed clothing free sauna, steam rooms etc

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kure Beach, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Hotel Spinne is a good place to stay while exploring the mountains around Grindelwald. It is only a few blocks from the train station and only a few more blocks to the cable cars and walking paths. Katharina, at the front desk, speaks several languages and is very helpful.
Rick Steve's travel book says to avoid Grindelwald because it is a touristy place. Sometimes a place is 'touristy' because it is a wonderful place to visit! The paths were almost empty and we walked all over for 3 days in the height of tourist season. The hotel rooms are spotless and bright and cheery. The beds are comfortable with fluffy white puffs as blankets. The windows overlook the Eiger. Breakfast is delicious and complete, from eggs to meat to choices of bread, cheese, fruit, cereal, etc. and you can eat it in a lovely dining room or out on the terrace under the mountains! I recommend Hotel Spinne.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony from which you can see the Eiger
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

On the contrary to the previous review. I found my stay at the Spinne hotel in Grindelwald very pleasant.

We were there for a snowboarding holiday so we did spend a good portion of our time in the hotel. It's located centrally in the small town, so very handy with a supermarket around 15 metres away across the road.

The rooms were decent albeit the decor is beginning to age, though they have managed to place a flatscreen tele which is always welcomed. The free wifi was a nice touch. Our room had a stunning view across part of the town and the mountains.

Overall, the stay was very comfortable, the staff were very friendly and the food was simply amazing (4 courses every day, we were booked in for halfboard). Almost forgot to mention, the spa is a must. With a number of steam rooms, we went 4 nights out the 6 we were there, spoiling ourselves after a long day on the mountain. Recommended.

Room Tip: A must is the spa in the Spinne, amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Spinne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spinne

Address: Dorfstrasse 136, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#7 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#11 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spinne 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Year-round Four-story Hotel with shuttered windows & wooden balconies, located 500 meters from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, seekda GmbH and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Spinne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spinne Hotel Grindelwald
Best Western Grindelwald

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Spinne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.