We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Treat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Regina Grindelwald

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Regina Grindelwald to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Regina Grindelwald
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorfstrasse 80, Grindelwald CH-3818, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 38 hotels in Grindelwald
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Christmas Treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Following renovations this hotel is probably worth 5* rating again. Our room (with view and balcony) was spacious with luxury bathroom. The service was beyond reproach and the elegant 'Pendule' restaurant, with it's glorious views of the Eiger, serves mostly excellent meals (just one meal below par in 7 nights). The situation, opposite the train station, is very convenient and central to the village. Our room was quiet with no noise from adjoining rooms or traffic.
However, it is expensive for a British visitor: cheapest bottle of wine about £40.00. But this was Switzerland in high season, and not Bulgaria! Tip for all visitors flying - make use of the excellent Swiss "Fly/Rail" transfer system to handle your suitcases.
Prospective visitors should be aware that Grindelvald is building a new central Car Park with works continuing throughout 2014. The site is a bit of an 'eyesore' in such a pretty village.

Room Tip: Pay extra for "Mountain View". Stunning panorama.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina A, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Regina Grindelwald, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Hello

Thank you very much for your Feedback - we appreaciate your information very much.
We hope to welcome you very soon again. As you may have noted the Regina will expect some intense renovations in the future. Until then we enjoy the very unique historique Grand Hotel athmosphere and keep you updated about the Regina Project on our Homepage.

Kind regards
Gina Achermann
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    34
    8
    3
    9
See reviews for
23
45
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Larnaca
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Grand hotel Regina ...from the 30th December 2013 until the 2nd January 2014 ( including New Years Eve ) Coming from a very warm place , we were longing for ...WHITE holidays and as Switzerland is our favourite country we decided to go to the beautiful resort ..Grindelwald ! ( we have been there before, in summer ) The hotel location is great because it is next to the train station and its very convenient with luggage ..we got a room with a balcony on the 4rth floor facing The Eiger mountain with superb view ... !! The spa is very good ...I had a massage with a very good masseur...Tatiana and the indoor pool area is really nice..On New Years Eve , we were first offered an aperitivo at the hotels Bar and then we entered the big dining room where we were shown to our table...there was a long buffet with an excellent variety of starters ..next you could have a tasty mushroom soup with truffle flakes on top ...a champaigne sorbet came after and then we chose our main course , a choice between fish and veal filet steak ...finally there was the buffet with sweets and cakes !!! Everything was perfect !! There was a pianist during dinner and a music band afterwards.. we had a glass of champaigne while we were waiting for the New Year to arrive ....I want to thank Mrs Gina who is a very polite and sweet person ! ( But my only disappointment ....and I have to mention it , is the old T.V that was in our room . which reminded me of my childhood...!!!! So old.... This hotel needs a furniture ..lifting !!!! ) But I would definitely reccomend it , as I am sure that it is one of the best in Grindelwald !!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina A, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Regina Grindelwald, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about your expericence at the Regina. We enjoyed having you with us for the New Years celebration and are happy that you liked our Dinner and Party Arrangement. As we had the chance to discuss with you ons site about our TV Situation we are indeed looking forward to the upcoming renovation of the Hotel infrastructure, which shall hopefully take place very soon. The new owners are in the planning process to give the Grand Hotel Regina à fully refurbisihing and make over. Until then, we keep up our good service and attentive care of our guests in this historic and charming Grand Hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon back
Gina Achermann
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Being staying at a few places as we travelled around around Switzerland and ended up staying here based mostly on availability, but at a slightly higher cost.
The little extras coming out of the hotel that just makes this stay above the rest.
It starts from arrival. Guided tour of the complex at its facilities. Better facilities, welcome present of drinks and biscuits, the breakfast is of a higher quality, beds turned back early evening with chocolates, extremely informed and helpful staff about what is best to do. The list actual goes on.
The view of the Eiger at breakfast is very welcoming start to the day.
This hotel has ranked as the most comfortable stay in our complete trip. It is going to be difficult to top.
Arrival and departure is also easy with the train station across the road.
Consider this hotel. I would.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina A, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Regina Grindelwald, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Peter M.

Thank you very much for you lovely comment. We enjoyed spoiling you very much and are happy that you enjoyed the athmospere in our very special "Grand Dame" the Grand Hotel Regina in Grindelwald. We hope you have had a safe trip back home and wish you all the best for the 2014. We are looking forward to welcome you back again.
Gina Achermann, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

On the 5th day of a European driving trip we had picked the only 5 star hotel of the trip - from the moment we pulled up outside the Regina it delivered on its reputation.

Check in was faultless, car valet parked and luggage delivered to our room. Spa facilities were superb and deserted so lots of time to enjoy.

Evening meal was excellent and the bar was a great place to be, staff attentive but discrete - the perfect combination. Upon returning to the room, the beds had been turned down, curtains closed and chocolates placed on the pillows - a real welcome treat.

We were planning on a trip on the Eiger Railway but the weather looked like defeating us - the front desk checked the summit station webcam at 5.30 and advised against it. Again excellent service and attention to detail.

Breakfast was magnificent and again the service and attention to detail from the staff was out of this world.

Not a cheap experience, however as the old phrase states "you get what you pay for". This is one of the few hotels that delivers on its promise, but it does it quietly and with style - well done to all the team.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

What a great hotel! The staff is really friendly and helpful and the food is amazing (the breakfast and the dinner).
They have a really nice spa, that you can use when you are tired after skiing or hiking.
The view for Eiger mountain in the room and in the restaurant is fantastic!
we have a great time in this hotel!!!!
And the lacotion is great: the trains station is across the street!!!!!!

Room Tip: Room with a view to the Eiger mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waitsfield, Vermont
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

What a view! fantastic room, excellent breakfast. Right next to the trains, shopping across the street. GHRG was a perfect ending to out ten days in Europe. Staff was friendly and helpful. Sensitive to our family's needs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We booked the Grand Hotel Grindelwald just before Christmas in order to go skiing nad we had an absolutely fantastic vacation ! The skiing could not have been better, and the hotel was superb in every way. We especially appreciated the outstanding help and service provided by all members of the staff ! We can't wait to go back again !
GMK

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the mountains !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Regina Grindelwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Regina Grindelwald

Address: Dorfstrasse 80, Grindelwald CH-3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 38 hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Regina Grindelwald 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Regina welcomes you at a prime location with panoramic views of the famous EIGER-Northface and within Walking distance to the the village center and railway Station. Here you will expericence the unique and traditional charme of a Grand Hotel with his typical individual ambience and charm as it is found only in Belle Epoche Hotels.We welcome our international guests with heart and spoil you with charme and personel attention so you can enjoy your holiday in Grindelwald and simply relaxe. Our restaurant professionals await you with a neat and seasonal market-fresh cuisine with a focus on the Swiss food and wine world. Fresh summer cocktails and our wide selection of whiskeys and rums , you can enjoy during summer at its best on our panoramic terrace or on cooler days in our fireplace lounge . Our Alpine Spa with 1600m2 area invites you to relax and slow down . The sauna area, the large indoor pool and our diverse application program helps you take care of your personal wellbeing.In our spacious and timeless, classically furnished rooms , equipped with the classic comfort, you will enjoy peace and security as well as a unique mountain panorama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Regina Grindelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Regina Grindelwald, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.