We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Kreuz & Post

Restaurant Kreuz & Post
Dorfstrasse 85, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
+41 33 854 54 92
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 62 Restaurants in Grindelwald
Price range: $15 - $66
Cuisines: European, Swiss, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Allow yourself to be freshly inspired, time and again! In every one of our restaurants, in the Kreuz Restaurant, the Challistubli and in the dining room, it is all about pampering. We offer you outstanding cuisine inspired by the seasons and our local produce. Fancy cooking and gold leaf trimmings you won't find here. We offer honesty and great taste, regional but also international dishes, all prepared with great care and an abundance of love. Vitality and well-being are at the heart of our culinary creations!
Townsville, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The food was really nice and the service was excellent. The staff warmed up our daughters food for us and even insisted on washing up the bowl after for us.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    30
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice staff and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My wife and I chose this restaurant because of the high ranking in tripadvisor. However, it did not disappointed me.

The restaurant has outdoors seating but we did not choose it because it was near to the road which was dusty and sometimes may have trucks passing through due to the construction work nearby. We thus chose to sit inside. The seating was comfortable but it was a little bit stuffy.

We were not hungry and thus my wife ordered a salad while I chose a mushroom pasta for my dinner. I originally thought the mushroom pasta is common, but I found it was quite tasteful. It was creamy and I liked it much. The salad had a variety of vegetables and beans, and they were placed on a dish neatly.

It was a Michelin-starred restaurant and had some recommended dishes. Too bad that I was quite full on the day of visit and didn't order any special dishes.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
“Ons of the best meals we ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

On our last night in Grindelwald we had a fantastic dinner here. We all ate steak/entrecote, and My fiance said it was the best meat he ever had. Would definetely recommend this place, hopefully we Will hade the opportunity to come back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“cosy retaurant but bit brisk service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

went with party of 16 got divided into tables. service was a bit oudated in that requests to adjust seating to avoid one table of 2 met with an abrupt no. also we were told to order fast to beat other groups and avoid delays. as if we were imposing upon them.. dinner was good (mixed salad and a schnitzel) but nothing special. good place to get decent food and then move on

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“homely atmosphere - great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Dined in the Chaliber a couple of times - very good atmosphere and friendly staff; can get pretty busy so booking might be advisable?

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Kreuz & Post also viewed

Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Restaurant Kreuz & Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Kreuz & Post, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.