We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of First

First
Grindelwald, Switzerland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 Attractions in Grindelwald
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Sports
Attraction details
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Spectacular Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The day we rode the cable cars up to First, First was in the clouds. There was no view of the mountains. We hung around for about an hour and had hot chocolate and a hamburger in the First canteen. The hamburger was very good. We decided to go back down. Before we got to Bort, we passed out of the clouds into a beautifully clear sky with spectacular views of the Eiger, Wetterhorn, and other mountains and glaciers. They seemed close enough to touch. It was breath taking. After an hour or so of marveling at the views, we decided to rent trotti-bikes, peddleless bicycles for downhill coasting, and took an exhilarating downhill ride back to Grindelwald on a nice paved path. This was very enjoyable. There were plenty of places to stop along the way and enjoy the views and take plenty of photos as well as thrilling downhill sections.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    92
    13
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Must go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

With Swiss Pass/Visitor's pass, you will get discount for 15CHF for single trip and 28.5CHF for round trip. After going up to the top, if the weather is good,you can save a large amount for going up to Jungfrau cos you can see the Eiger and Jungfrau very clearly.Then walk for more than an hour(they stated there to walk for 50 mins, but we walk for more than 1 hour), you will see the Bachalpsee. Very beautiful scence. The lake is clear, it reflect the mountains , you will find peace here. You can also play the fliger at First station or choose to walk down to enjoy the beautiful scenary there.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gondola up to First for zip line and paragliding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Easy beautiful journey on the gondola, with a stop at the middle station for coffee before going to the top, where we also had lunch.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peekskill
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Incredible views and hiking.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

The gondola ride up had some of the most spectacular views I've ever seen, and the hikes on the top of the mountain have a difficulty level that just about anyone can handle at their own pace.

If you're brave enough take the First Flyer from the top of the mountain. It's a zipline type of ride that's like no other.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Really good cable car ride - 30 minutes long each way with a warm and welcoming restaurant at the top. Sadly cloudy day but still fun.

Only cost 28.50CH for me (they have a half price deal on until 25.10.15!) and FREE for my 7 year old daughter (not sure why - did mention I had a Swiss travel family card - which is also free by the way and gets your child on all the trains for free!!!). That morning I'd paid nearly the same amount to go on the Pfingstegg cable car - 15CH for me (that was with a 20% discount with my Swiss Half Pass) and 9.40CH for my daughter (full price). The ride was over in minutes. So if you have to choose - go for the First (ha ha).

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First also viewed

Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to First? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.