We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only for skiers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of First

First
Grindelwald, Switzerland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 Attractions in Grindelwald
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Sports
Attraction details
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Only for skiers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The cable car ride up to first was rather scary, kept stopping every few minutes. The scenery was beautiful as far as you could see was snow. Once on top we realized it's a paradise for skiers but not for site seeing, we felt the information on first should stipulate that this is just for skiers. It was rather expensive just going up if you were not going to ski.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    92
    13
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sint-Gillis-Waas, Belgium
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice place to ski”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

First is a nice place to ski. With just 1 lift, you can get (almost) to the top. Slope 23 is just magnificent, but there are too many "uphill skiing" parts to compensate for the beauty of this slope. People at First : please do something about all that climbing on this slope. It would make this slope unparalleled in beauty and sporty skiing.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
313 reviews 313 reviews
164 attraction reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
269 helpful votes 269 helpful votes
“Walk from Schynige Platte”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We walked to First from Schynige Platte. It took about 5 hours, plus extra for food but was the highlight of our trip to Grindelwald.

We also took the trotti bike back down the mountain from First. With the brakes on full it rolled slowly, releasing the brake a fraction allowed me to go fast enough that it was a thrill. I fully released the brake for less than half a second and picked up enough speed to feel like I was going to kill myself.

The First Flyer was expensive and not the thrill it was expected to be.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely awesome Top Notch Powder Skiing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The whole mountain is a a huge Off Piste area when it has snowed all night ! Beware of avalanches. Long vertical drop if you ski all the way down to the village

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Ski Lift”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This telecabine needs upgrading. It is very slow, and creates long queues in the village. It is the only lift out of Grindelwald into the First region.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First also viewed

Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to First? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.