We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small but perfectly formed journey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pfingstegg

Pfingstegg
Grindelwald, Switzerland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 19 Attractions in Grindelwald
Type: Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Landmarks
Attraction details
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A small but perfectly formed journey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The Pfingstegg is a good way to ease yourself into cablecar rides if you have never been in one before. The ride is relatively short but nontheless impressive. It is quite expensive for the amount of time the ride takes but you can always take it one way and walk the other, that way you get the best of both worlds.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    27
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“GREAT VIEWS; GREAT TOBOGGAN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

A reviewer comments that she couldn't get her kids off the toboggan. My wife couldn't get me off, either - and I'm now the wrong side of 60!

Views are great, of course and whenever go to the top of a mountain, we have a plate of unhealthy - but oh so delicious - Swiss food (rosti - mmmmm)

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice view and access point”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Easy to get to and short cable car ride, giving good views of Grindelwald and the north side of the valley. It has a nice Berghaus which is great to while away some time, perhaps after a good walk, with good views over the valley.
It is a great start point for a walk up to the Barreg hut, or beyond, in the bowl behind the Eiger. It seems sad to give it only 3 stars but this is only because of the short access route and it suffers from being on the big side of the valley instead of looking at it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Not a big menu, but not bad given you're at the top of tram.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Our kids loved the Rodelbahn toboggans...didn't want to leave!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We specifically traveled here to enjoy the toboggans (3 boys...you have to be 8 to ride solo...but it's very easy for an 8 year old, no worries), which were a fun highlight of our trip! Definitely get a multi pass...one trip down won't be enough for anyone. Even Mom and Dad had a blast. You have the most incredible views of the alps as you fly down the toboggan run...and you are greeted by huge cows only feet away from the toboggan path. We were all tickled by the cows and their relaxed attitude with all the excitement flying by.

Before retuning back to Grindelwald on the cable car, we stopped for drinks at the cute restaurant there...and the boys continued to play on the free trampoline and slide for another 30 mins. They were happy and exhausted by the end of this journey.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pfingstegg also viewed

Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Pfingstegg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pfingstegg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.