We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“are we there yet?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maennlichenbahn Grindelwald

Maennlichenbahn Grindelwald
Grindelwald, Switzerland
+41 (0)33 854 80 80
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“are we there yet?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have a funny story about this place, I happened to stumble across it riding my way down from kleine scheidegg station, I figured i would take a detour and head down to the lift instead of opting to take the train back up to the top of scheidegg at the half way point on the mountain, oh if i only knew!! i headed up to the lift, I'm inspecting the cable car which was very old school and tiny and then i'm joined by two other eager german guys at the last second, My idea of a comfortable ride up after a 30 minute ride down went straight out of the window. The journey up was actually quite entertaining although i repeat there is no way those cars are designed for more than 2 people!! we made it eventually to the top after resisting the urge to bail at the earlier stops, the view as we stepped outside of the station was amazing!! it honestly does feel as if you are at the top of the world. But, and this is a big one :P, Mid winter this place is cold! I have been to many cold resorts but this one sticks in memory, as soon as you step outside the station the wind lashes you and literally can take your breathe away being such high altitude, be prepared!! also, i wouldn't recommend going all the way up if the weather is overcast and you can barely see a thing, I guess it must be a quite common thing given the stations position, I made the mistake of attempting to go down during overcast conditions and made it only by following obscure dark objects within whiteout scenery which was a very stupid thing to do but i learnt my lesson that day to be patient or leave it for another day. mannlichen can be accessed via scheidegg but the route is very difficult to reach by snowboard, I had to full speed to make it across the flats and reach the poma which serves access to mannlichen, the view off the top of that poma though was spectacular under the gaze of the eiger.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    65
    8
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Up up & away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Must be one of the longest gondola rides in Europe, 3 stages, the last with a very clever angle change. Excellent cafe/resturants at each stage. The views a the top (Eiger/Much.Jungfrau & many other mountans) are breathtraking, with one of the best mountain range maps etched into a metal plate at the viewpoint platform). It is a superb day when we visited and we just sat in the saun observing. The paaglider club did about two dozen launches that afternoon from theior site near the top resturant & one follows thier progress down the valley towards the distant villages.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larbert, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Mannlichen, Switzerland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

A visit to Mannlichen is one of the best in the Berner Oberland. Best way is train from Lauterbrunnen, cable car from Wengen to Mannlichen. The views from Mannlichen are wonderful, even better if you can climb right to the top. The Berghaus serves delicious typical Swiss in cosy surroundings or outside if the weather is good. We were lucky to see snow in September
There is an easy walk to Kleine Scheidegg or a wonderful descent in the gondolas to Grindelwald Grund

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“One of the easiest hike, with stunning views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

We started in Grund and took the cable to Mannlichen. From there we walked to Kleine Scheidegg. The hike was listed for somewhat more than an hour, but we walked it easily in 50 minutes, with photo breaks. Hike is quit flat, you descend about 100 meter in an hour. We continued to hike down to Grindelwald, which is quit longer and heavier, as you constantly descend. ( from 2300 to 1000 meter).

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
297 reviews 297 reviews
147 attraction reviews
Reviews in 176 cities Reviews in 176 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
“Maennlichen to Kleine Scheidegg 'panoramic' hike/walk - a very easy, flat stroll with spectacular views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I took the cable 'pod' from Grund to Maennlichen. The 3 day Swiss flexi pass gave a 1/2 price ticket of about 16 CHF. The trip up takes about 1/2 hour and is spectacular. At the top more incredible views await. The last pod down is at 5pm in the summer so plan your arrival time. There are many hiking options at the top including the walk down to Grund. I took the 5.5km 'panoramic' walk to Kleine Scheidegg. It was well marked virtually flat and really a gentle walk than any sort of hiking. The views were spectacular. In terms of equipment, a good pair of well supported shoes as the ground a little uneven due to rocks. Certainly for this walk walking poles etc are totally unnecessary, although many people had them. There were a few people pushing prams which give you some idea of the level of difficulty! The walk is supposed to be 1.5 hr which can take a bit longer with photo stops.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maennlichenbahn Grindelwald also viewed

Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Maennlichenbahn Grindelwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maennlichenbahn Grindelwald, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.