We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza and friendly atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Pizzeria Da Salvi

Ristorante Pizzeria Da Salvi
| Hotel Steinbock, Grindelwald, Switzerland
+41(0)33 - 853-89-89
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 62 Restaurants in Grindelwald
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Basel
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Great pizza and friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

Wandered along here on a Saturday evening and were very lucky to get a table - essential to book at popular times.

Lots of choice on the menu; pizzas can also be custom-made with additional toppings.

Margherita pizza with smoked bacon was very good, though I tend to prefer more tomato sauce. Carbonara pizza also highly recommended.

Friendly, helpful staff with the owner much in evidence checking that things were going well, meeting and greeting guests.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    25
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“PIzza in town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

One of the evening, just felt liek having food earlier as usual..decided to go for a pizza at 6pm.
Just just poped in at pizzareia Da salvi.
The restaurant is nice, but the decoration could have a little fresh up.

The pizza are made in a real oven, i mean nice pizza oven. We can the cook making the pizza which is always quite nice - it's a good sign, and at least the pizza are fresh.

It's not the best pizza i have ever had, but they were quite descent, and I would not hesite to come back there next time.

  • Visited December 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good but number 3 (Onkel Toms Hutte is better)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

Hi

This was a nice place to find on our first night in Grindelwald, good service and food. Only bad this for this restaurant is that we also ate at Onkel Toms Hutte, now any other pizzeria seems average.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Grindelwald highlight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

Grindelwald is a lovely place, loved by people from all over the world, including Japan but it is know as an expensive town to stay in. Having dinner in this restaurant is an excellent option. The prices are normal by Swiss standards. What we liked is the atmosphere; the owner of the restaurant welcomed us on a very friendly way, what a difference with other experiences in the same town. The pastas are fine and...served rather quickly. We enjoyed this place much and returned a second evening. It is an excellent value deal.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami, fl
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Makes you feel like family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

I have stayed in Grindelwald each of the past two summers. The prior review is spot on. Especially in reference to the owner, Salvatore. We usually came in very late at night to sit at the Grappa Bar (they have a selection of over 100 grappas, an Italian digestive- by far the largest I have ever seen). Salvatore hung out with us for about 90 minutes (it was late and the place cleared out) as did some of the staff. We had lunch there as well and the pizza is great. We walked by the hotel several times going to First Mountain and each day Salvatore or some of the staff would call out our names as they saw us walk by, saying hello. I love that kind of personal service.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Pizzeria Da Salvi also viewed

Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Ristorante Pizzeria Da Salvi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Pizzeria Da Salvi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.