We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Pizzeria Da Salvi

Ristorante Pizzeria Da Salvi
| Hotel Steinbock, Grindelwald, Switzerland
+41(0)33 - 853-89-89
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 62 Restaurants in Grindelwald
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Newbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“A good pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The staff here are very efficient and friendly. Tables are cleared quickly, our order was taken quickly and no mistakes, also we had a couple of questions that were answered very honestly.

The food was good quality and very tasty, however I cannot rate the pizza I had as the greatest but it was good. The wine was fine, but only a small selection of wines by the glass - only one white wine and this was not dry. The red I had was not memorable. However they had a very good selection of deserts, which may be a reason to go back!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    24
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We spend our ski vacation in Grindelwald every year and this is the only restaurant in Grindelwald we keep going back to. It is located right at the Firstbahn gondola station in Grindelwald, it is run by Italians, and the food is excellent. Service is efficient and friendly, atmosphere is relaxed and family friendly (which is not a given in Swiss restaurants), pizzas are great, and our kids love watching the pizza cooks prepare the pizzas. Even some meat dishes are grilled in the wood oven right in front of your eyes. Make sure to reserve a table for dinner, because the place can get extremely crowded. Another plus: Restaurant is open all day, i.e. you can come in and eat lunch also between, say 2 and 6pm, when other restaurants might not serve hot food in Switzerland.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delicious food! You must eat there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

We just spend somw days in Grindelwald and we had dinner at this fantastic restaurant two days in row; the service was great, fast and the food is awesome! I had the best tomato soup ever!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abington, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Swiss pizza?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The restaurant was crowded on a Saturday night and my sister asked aboiut the availability for a party of 6. We were told to come back in 5 minutes. We checked the availability at another pizza restaurant and couldn't even get the attention of staff to ask. We returned in 5 minutes and were seated quickly. the pizza selection was great, although the salads were little more than lettuce with a creamy dressing. We chose 3 pies for 6 people and everyone was satisfied. The pizza Margherita was the favorite. And the wine was reasonably priced.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Authentic, fast and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

We were a group of 7 people and had a great dinner tonight. Service was fast, knowledgable and reliable. We had a four year old with us, who received his pizza just minutes after the salads for some of the adults were served. This is perfect for any parent and great we did not have to ask for it. Pizzas and some meats come from the wood fire oven and are very nice. The kitchen is flexible enough to adjust things to your likening. There is a small bar at the entrance and the restaurant has ree man dining rooms with different deco. This way I believe you would have a good time be it for a larger group, as a couple or with your family. If you are into wines, they will have a solution for any budget and taste. Make sure you try the tiramisu, which is home made and very nice indeed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Pizzeria Da Salvi also viewed

Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Ristorante Pizzeria Da Salvi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Pizzeria Da Salvi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.