We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, delicious and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Onkel Tom's Hutte

Onkel Tom's Hutte
Grindelwald, Switzerland
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 63 Restaurants in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Pizza
Good for: Romantic
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Quaint, delicious and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Amazing pizza, and they even had a goat cheese one for lactose intolerant me! Friendly staff, warm/lovely atmosphere - real family run feel. We paid 45CHF for two personal pizzas, 2 beers and a bubbly water. Loved it and would definitely recommend

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    38
    10
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best pizza I've ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

As newcomers to Grindlewald we asked a local where was the best place to eat and was told to go to Onkel Tom's. It is in an authentic style house which was just charming. The people were wonderful, the service fantastic and the pizza was the best I've ever had. Great!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Delicious pizza, charming atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had a delicious pizza in a delightful atmosphere at Onkel Tom's Hutte. The place is very busy. We ended up sharing a table with a very nice couple from Zurich.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Onkel Tom's- Character in a tourist town with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Onkel's Tom was awesome. We got into Grindewald late and ended up at Tom's by accident. We went back the second night we were there because looking at other restaurant menu/prices, we justa assumed we go back for a second round. The staff here was great and the food was good and the price was well within reason. The restaurant is smal but busting with character. It does not have a large number of tables inside, so expect to wait in prime time.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kincardine, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Onkel Tom's Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Nice little roadside restaurant. The pizza was great and considering the location the price was reasonable.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Onkel Tom's Hutte also viewed

Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Onkel Tom's Hutte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Onkel Tom's Hutte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.