We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Onkel Tom's Hutte

Onkel Tom's Hutte
Grindelwald, Switzerland
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 62 Restaurants in Grindelwald
Cuisines: Pizza
Good for: Romance
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were in Grindelwald four nights and ate here twice. That's how much we liked Onkel Tom's. The food is great (thin crust pizza with fresh ingredients), the owners are very friendly (even gave us advice on which trails to take on different days) and the atmosphere is homey and welcoming. If you're not sure which Swiss wine you'd like to try let them pick for you. Eat inside or outside. You won't be disappointed.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    32
    9
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Simply fantastic pizza made of fresh ingredients. My only complaint was to be charged for tap water.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great food and charming setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our family had dinner here in a rainy evening. Excellent food and a charming atmosphere. The four of us had a variety of entrees and all were terrific. A husband and wife team run this place and their hard work was demonstrated in the excellent service they provided. Come early (before six) so you won't have to wait.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john's creek, GA.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Swiss Pizza?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

No, not really. But it's a pretty good version of the standard Italian variety. There's a good selection of beer and wine, although the wine prices are fairly outrageous,not unusual for Switzerland. If you stick with beer and pizza, it's a good value in a very pricey town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanoose Bay, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A great find in Grindelwald! Excellent pizza and awesome hosts....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was in Grindelwald for four days and I ended up eating here twice for lunch because the food was great, the restaurant has a very warm feel to it and the hosts are super-friendly. I had the "Al Capone" pizza the first time and it was perfect - thin crust, just the right amount of cheese and it tasted great. The second time I had "The Chef's Special" and it was even better (duh, right...that is why it is the Chef's Special right?). I heard a few people come in and ask if they could reserve a table for that night because they couldn't get in the night before. No small surprise that the place is popular....it sounds like you need to show up early or show up with enough patience to wait for a table...well worth it IMHO....

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Onkel Tom's Hutte also viewed

Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Onkel Tom's Hutte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Onkel Tom's Hutte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.