We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointing for the price.Staff somewhat disengaged.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arc-en-ciel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Arc-en-ciel to your Saves list
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Egglistrasse 24, Gstaad, Saanen 3780, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
255 helpful votes 255 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing for the price.Staff somewhat disengaged.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

As a 50th birthday treat we paid the £360 a night to stay here. Had dinner too.
While the room was beautifully appointed we were stuck in an annexe with a view of the car park and the nearby wine warehouse. Staff barely spoke to us, didn't even mention when and where breakfast would be served.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    29
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
20
28
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We absolutely loved this property - the service here was phenomenal as was the restaurant. The staff is extremely hospitable and thoughtful. The vegetarian choices at the restaurant were plenty and one could enjoy their meals here for a full week. We stayed here for a week and weren't saturated as one usually is after staying at a hotel. It was very comfortable yet homely.

Our suite was beautiful with a minimalistic design which we appreciated because of our week-long stay here. The tub in the middle of the bedroom was a nice touch. The location was beautiful (although bit distant) - we were overlooking snow capped mountains from both our terraces in the summer!

The two mild negatives were:
1) a bit distant from the town center - be prepared to walk for 10 - 15 minutes each way, however, this does provide a buffer from the large tourist crowds that do day trips to Gstaad and also provided for beautiful scenery little further out.

2) No air conditioning which made us feel quite hot at some times

All in all - we would stay here again if we were to visit Gstaad.

Room Tip: choose a junior suite with terrace/ balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I have been staying at this family owned hotel for many years. The rooms are all very comfortable and extremely clean. Ask for a room on the river, the sound of the water flowing is very soothing. The restaurant is very nice with smiling efficient staff. The menu has a large selection of offerings but the pizzas are to die for. My personal favorite is "Atomic".

In the basement there is a huge playroom for children, they love it and it enables the parents to have a nice dinner or lunch whilst kids are having the time of their life. In the parking there is a little go cart track that the kids love.

The location is a five minute walk from the promenade. In the winter the two main ski lifts of gstaad are a literal 1 minute walk so no need to take the car, just have breakfast and hop on a lift. The ski school is a three minute walk.

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Good traditional hotel in a beautiful location. Get a room facing river. Good breakfast and lunch. Courteous staff. Had a spacious room with wooden decor and comfortable bed. Hotel within walking distance from center of Gstaad. Close to chair lifts. Ideal for winter and summer vacations.

Room Tip: Get room facing river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

The pizzas are excellent and have been for decades. It's a great place to eat with kids, there is a games room downstairs and a little park next to the hotel. Kids are well occupied before the food arrives. This service is also good and the location is ideal in the winter under the Eggli ski slope and in the summer as a long of hiking trails begin form here. A must visit while in Gstaad for a quick meal.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aminanora, Inhaber at Hotel Arc-en-ciel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comments. We are happy to hear that you like the Arc-en-ciel. It is always a pleasure to welcome families wich children, they bring live into our restaurants!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We often go the hotel Arc-en-Ciel in Gstaad. It is ideally located, just a 10 minute walk from the center of Gstaad. The rooms are refreshingly clean and are just the right size - we like the ones by the river so that we can hear the running water. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The restaurant is consistently good - the breakfast is also excellent. Another advantage is that it has a large outdoor parking lot so one does not have to look for a spot in the center of town.
Highly recommended.
Gabor Kato
Geneva, Switzerland

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aminanora, Owner at Hotel Arc-en-ciel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Mr Kato
Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. It was a pleaure to have you as our guests and we are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with our services and the hotel. Your comments are a good motivation for all our team! We hope to welcome you back soon and whish you all the best. Christiane Matti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Arc-en-ciel is very nice hotel in the traditional sense within walking distance to Gstaad town centre. Convenient location 2 mniutes walk to the Egglistrasse chair lift and across the road from a ski hire shop.

Whilst Gstaad is generally expensive and this was not a bargain stay we felt that given the food, room size, comfort of the beds (we slept like logs) and the overall level of the hotel it wasn't too bad.

The wood fire pizza's and local beers are superb. Breakfast has great variety and freshness to allow you to stock up on for a hard days skiing.

The only let down was no free spa amenities. You had to book the entire spa.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Arc-en-ciel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arc-en-ciel

Address: Egglistrasse 24, Gstaad, Saanen 3780, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Gstaad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Gstaad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arc-en-ciel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful chalet-hotel, personally run by the family Matti, has a peaceful location near cable-cars and ski-slopes. You will immediately feel at home in our comfortable rooms and apartments in the hotel and Residence. Cosy Pizzeria, restaurant "La Sarine" and Wintergarden with Swiss and Italian specialities. Newly renovated lounge with fireplace. Private Spa & Fitness and beauty treatments. For children we offer: bikes, playrooms and playground with electric cars and in summer a heated pool. Enjoy a relaxing holiday in the Swiss mountains. The hotel is open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Arc-en-ciel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arc En Ciel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arc-en-ciel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.