We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alpine Lodge Gstaad - Saanen

Save Saved
You added Hotel Alpine Lodge Gstaad - Saanen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alpine Lodge Gstaad - Saanen
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Wysmuelleriweg 10, Gstaad, Saanen CH-3792, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 22 hotels in Gstaad
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

The rooms were average specially the economy ones which were like small boxes, but since some couples had children, 2 rooms were automatically upgraded which was very good. Rooms have very very low roofs , transparent bathroom doors and sleazy lamp shades. Excellent locatio, good indoor- outdoor pool and garden. Receptionist very helpful. Go for bigger and expensive rooms which are good. Good service in all. Breakfast was good too.

Room Tip: Choose bigger and expensive rooms which are good and not economical ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    28
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
31
31
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Coming back after a week with family in Alpine Lodge. This hotel is very comfortable, you nearly forget you have come to Gstaad for ski. All the service of a top hotel inside a chalet ! Even the food was excellent, we took half board and every evening we got a good surprise in the menu. Kids can choose from a special card and they get every day on their table all the little things they need to stay busy. For sure kids are very much welcome here ! I miss my morning cappuccino it was very good, today it is very difficult to find a good coffee in a hotel, you never know way you get but at Alpine Lodge coffee machine was like a Swiss watch ! Wat I expect also from a hotel is a dedicated service with attention especially with smile all the time and we got that. Our room was big and nice, we were 2 + 2 kids. And the room was on the ground floor and we had an open door to the garden were the children could play. In the room we had also the use of a free iMac and the hotel give you also an iPad to keep you busy while you can take a drink at the bar. In the afternoons you get free tea and there is everyday a desert also provided with your tea during 3pm and 5pm. We also used the pool everyday and the wellness area, all the place was clean and nice. Hotel had also a shuttle service to drop you everyday at the ski point, but we used our own car. It is very near the hotel 5 min drive either you can ski to Gstaad or go to Saanenmöser. If you look for international cuisine in the city you won't find much choice but still you will find a Chinese restaurant or Pizza. The rest is very traditional and local taste. During lunch time in Gstaad you have to hurry because you won't find to eat after 2PM except at the local supermarket. Those in need of classy shopping won't be disappointed all the big brands are in Gstaad and it is not a surprise if you see a famous star walking around. On the whole we are very satisfied and the only little regret I had was about the pillow and no minibar in the room but for the rest all was excellent. Thank you to the hotel management and staff we will come back !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Overall:
Imagine one of those movies where a bunch of friends go away for a skiing holiday and they stay at this picturesque perfect town inside a perfectly cosy hotel...thats Alpine Lodge for you.

Welcome:
I went away with colleagues from work for a skiing weekend. We arrived and were greeted by a very friendly front desk staff. Everything was handled with a smile and we were given a glass of bubbly once we had all arrived. Perfect Welcome!

Rooms:
I had a single room which was cozy, comfy and had everything I needed. Free Internet, space to put my things away, clean bathrooms looked fairly new, apple on my pillow..all there. The only minor thing I would mention about my room is that the french doors faced towards the front of the hotel and straight into the small car park - so no chance of opening the window because anyone could have wandered in. Seeing as we were in the low minus degrees I did not care to do so anyone but could be an issue for fresh air fanatics.

Food:
When we arrived late on Friday we all gathered in the super cozy lounge with open fireplace and ordered some food and cocktails. I had no food but it looked fab, chunky sandwiches and fresh salads rolled up. The cocktail I had was certainly worth its money (expensive as everything in Switzerland is though). Just sitting by the fire on the comfortable sofas chatting was relaxing and the bar staff was fun, friendly and accommodating.
Breakfast was great, too. Buffet style with everything you could imagine, meats, cheeses, eggs, fruit, yoghurt, cereal, breads, cakes, croissants..just anything you would want. Same goes for drinks and juices. I think only a highly picky person could fault the choice.

Staff:
The entire stay was made easy because the staff did all they could to make sure we were happy and well served. There is a free and flexible transport to the skiing lifts and they pick you up when you call them, you can rent the equipment in house or down the road, they provide you with the skiing passes and always everything is done with a smile. I dont think I ever saw any of them get stressed, annoyed or in any way rude. They have been so helpful which is not a given these days.

All in all I would def go back and I would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

extremely but honest friendliness !
complete service
nice rooms
uncomplex interenet accès wether by wifi or the iMac on your room.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

This is an excellent hotel. The owners are extremely helpful and friendly, the location is superb and the facilities great. A very nice place to stay.

Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

As I wasn't skiing this year I needed a spa hotel to keep me occupied while my husband was taken by hotel minibus to the slopes. This is the best hotel we have ever stayed in with facilities to please us both. Extremely comfortable everywhere this hotel ticks all the boxes. Nothing is too much trouble, all the staff are very helpful and pleasant. Since the hotel is a 15 minute walk to the nearest village, Saanen or Gstaad, the accommodation and services provided have been carefully thought out so that convenience and comfort is paramount. The swimming pool and well equipped gym are available all day, while the sauna etc are available après ski from 3pm. A very reasonable half board option is available if you stay for 3 or more nights, so you can sample local specialities without having to go out in the cold. There is an apple IMAC in every room preloaded with a large iTunes selection. Free Internet access throughout the hotel and IPad loan is available too. Great bar with half price cocktail hour before dinner in the large comfortable lounge where skiing can be viewed on the large tv screen. The beds are extremely comfortable and extra pillows are readily supplied on request. We were in a north facing room which was quite adequate for our needs but the south facing rooms are larger with balconies and some are themed in unusual ways. There is a large play room in the basement and a games room. The only slightly annoying thing was that we were seated on a long bench table between 2 families for our evening meal every night. We didn't query this and it was entertaining to some extent but not quite what we expected. Overall we really enjoyed our visit and would definitely go back and try out the south facing rooms.

Room Tip: south facing rooms are bigger and seem to have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed 2 nights and we all had a wonderful time. We travelled with a 3 year old and a 1 year old, stayed on the ground floor with direct access to the playground & pool. The hotel staff was very friendly and they accommodated our children's needs at meal times. The hotel is walking distance from a lovely playground and a 35 minute walk to Gstaad along the river.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Alpine Lodge Gstaad - Saanen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpine Lodge Gstaad - Saanen

Address: Wysmuelleriweg 10, Gstaad, Saanen CH-3792, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Gstaad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 hotels in Gstaad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Alpine Lodge Gstaad - Saanen 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Alpine Lodge Gstaad - Saanen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alpine Lodge Gstaad - Saanen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.