We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect compromise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alpine Lodge Gstaad - Saanen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alpine Lodge Gstaad - Saanen to your Saves list
Hotel Alpine Lodge Gstaad - Saanen
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Wysmuelleriweg 10, Gstaad, Saanen CH-3792, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Certificate of Excellence 2014
west yorkshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfect compromise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

As I wasn't skiing this year I needed a spa hotel to keep me occupied while my husband was taken by hotel minibus to the slopes. This is the best hotel we have ever stayed in with facilities to please us both. Extremely comfortable everywhere this hotel ticks all the boxes. Nothing is too much trouble, all the staff are very helpful and pleasant. Since the hotel is a 15 minute walk to the nearest village, Saanen or Gstaad, the accommodation and services provided have been carefully thought out so that convenience and comfort is paramount. The swimming pool and well equipped gym are available all day, while the sauna etc are available après ski from 3pm. A very reasonable half board option is available if you stay for 3 or more nights, so you can sample local specialities without having to go out in the cold. There is an apple IMAC in every room preloaded with a large iTunes selection. Free Internet access throughout the hotel and IPad loan is available too. Great bar with half price cocktail hour before dinner in the large comfortable lounge where skiing can be viewed on the large tv screen. The beds are extremely comfortable and extra pillows are readily supplied on request. We were in a north facing room which was quite adequate for our needs but the south facing rooms are larger with balconies and some are themed in unusual ways. There is a large play room in the basement and a games room. The only slightly annoying thing was that we were seated on a long bench table between 2 families for our evening meal every night. We didn't query this and it was entertaining to some extent but not quite what we expected. Overall we really enjoyed our visit and would definitely go back and try out the south facing rooms.

Room Tip: south facing rooms are bigger and seem to have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    38
    11
    9
    1
See reviews for
43
47
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed 2 nights and we all had a wonderful time. We travelled with a 3 year old and a 1 year old, stayed on the ground floor with direct access to the playground & pool. The hotel staff was very friendly and they accommodated our children's needs at meal times. The hotel is walking distance from a lovely playground and a 35 minute walk to Gstaad along the river.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

For the price we paid we were ecstatic when we saw the room.
Huge, spacious, big bathroom with a Mac at your disposal. Lovely balcony with a beautiful view. Beds were comfortable. The room is modern and excellent.
Location : Its about 10 mins away from Gstaad city center. If you are taking a bus pls note : The bus does not leave every 5-10 mins...you can ask for a timetable and acc plan your day,..we had to wait 30-40 mins for our bus..it came dot on time but we didnt get the timetable earlier.
Please make sure you take the bus from the correct side of the road..its a little confusing.
Mirka, who helped us check in was so nice. She found out all bus timings for us(on her own..we had just mentioned we will go to gstaad) and in the morning we had to leave at 5 so we would miss breakfast...she packet us breakfast at night. She was a big factor in making our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: Ask for the ones facing the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Stayed in this hotel on the last night of our Alpine hiking holiday. Slightly disappointed that it is outside of Gstaad itself, around 20 min walk. Facilities were excellent, nice lounge and bar, great indoor/outdoor pool and gardens and gym/sauna etc The restaurant was informal and food was good but not as good as other hotels we have stayed at. The main thing is the welcoming and family friendly atmosphere of the hotel. Our ground floor room was disappointing and absolutely tiny...but for one night it was ok. If staying any longer you would need to upgrade.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniontown, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

We stayed (1) night at the Hotel Alpine Lodge in Saanen while traveling by car between Stanstaad and Geneva on a business trip. I was traveling with my girlfriend and we wanted to take more of the scenic drive between the cities and so I started looking for places approximately 1/2 way between our our start and finish. This is how I came across the Alpine Lodge in Saanen. We checked in on a Sunday and were only staying for one night. From the moment we checked in we were treated excellent. The lobby is modern with a lodgey feel. Room was descent size by European standards and very clean. Plus the IMac PC was a nice plus during our stay!!!! We swam in the heated indoor/outdoor pool and used the sauna. Everything was excellent! The hotel was very quiet just due to the staying on a Sunday night. I think we were one of only a few couples in the entire place for dinner that evening. I would definitely stay here again. If you go here for a short trip, I'd recommend staying some day other than a Sunday as everything is closed in most of the town and adjacent town of Gstaad. All in all, a great area of Switzerland, you really feel like you are in true Switzerland in this area. We had a blast!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

We spent the weekend in Gstaad/Saanen and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at hotel Alpine Lodge. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room, though on the small side, was immaculate. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and would definitely recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronse, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

I was very happy with the style, the food and especially the staff. People that really help and upgraded without difficulties to a larger room so the kids and mum could get a great night rest. Oh did I mention everything is very clean and correct and the food is just yummy.

Family Peirs - march 2011

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Alpine Lodge Gstaad - Saanen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpine Lodge Gstaad - Saanen

Address: Wysmuelleriweg 10, Gstaad, Saanen CH-3792, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Gstaad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Alpine Lodge Gstaad - Saanen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Alpine Lodge Gstaad - Saanen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alpine Lodge Gstaad - Saanen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.