We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel-Restaurant Alphorn

Hotel-Restaurant Alphorn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel-Restaurant Alphorn to your Saves list
Hotel-Restaurant Alphorn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gsteigstrasse, Gstaad, Saanen 3780, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Not bad at all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This is un unpretentious 3 stars mountain hotel, like many similar chalet-shaped hotels in the Alps and didn't exeepct much of it. We were however pleasantly surprised by a smiling and efficient welcome, simple but convenient rooms with good beds and very decent breakfast. There is also a mini sauna available. The place is slightly off center in Gstaad but only 10 minutes or so from the station. Wifi is unfortunately not free, which is a shame given the (very Swiss) prices of the rooms that are obviously even more extreme because of the "upscale" reputation of the place. Although not horrible, the restaurant can be safely forgotten. Overall not a bad place though.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    17
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
GVA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Excellent value for money. Ideal location, just a 5 minutes-walk from the center. The ski school/shop is located within the building, which is very practical. Very good breakfast (buffet). Friendly and helpful staff. The hotel would be perfect if the smoking room would have its door closed. There is a constant smell of smoke at the reception and in the stairs.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I stayed at the Alphorn for 2 nights with my girlfriend.
The room rate is very competitive for Gstaad and for that you get a very well appointed room and well-sized room. The bathroom is finished to a high standard.
The hotel is situated at the bottom of a slope and serves as a base station/ski shop and is immediately adjacent to the ski school. It is located a 5 minute walk from good skiing on Eggli. There is a ski room on site to store your gear.
The hotel is a 10 minute brisk walk from Gstaad centre and all the better for it.
The staff were friendly and attentive.
I would certainly visit again when in Gstaad.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed at the Alphorn Hotel as a family for a week (2 adults & 2 children). The location is excellent, right next to the ski lift and ski school meeting place, this was the main reason for choosing this hotel.

Hotel has a nice restaurant downstairs, the staff were wonderful, the food was good and reasonably priced (whatever reasonably priced is in Switzerland, as everything is expensive.)
Our room faced onto the ski lift and up the hill, we had a family room, so the children had their own room and bathroom upstairs, it was very spacious, warm and quiet.

The village is a 10 minute brisk walk from the hotel (it was wintertime, so no casual stroll)

If you are a smoker the hotel has a smoking room downstairs, it's the only place where you are allowed to smoke in the entire hotel.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, as were the owners.

Ski rental is located downstairs, which the staff are very fast and efficient. They cater mainly to skiers, as my husband and daughter were snowboarding, there wasn't much choice. My son was skiing, so there were no issues.

The ski school was great, convenient and very helpful. My son had 4 days of lessons, although he was more interested in playing with kids his own age (5) rather than listening to the instructors.

This was our first time in Gstaad, and I would definitely stay here again. I would also recommend this place to other travellers with children.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I've been going to Gstaad for the past 40 years or so and have more or less tried all hotels in the vicinity from Schonried to Rougemont, Saanen to Les Diablerets and honestly this one is ideal for a family with kids who want to have all the facilities nearby. Ski school is virtually 100 meters away, Wispile ski lift departure is also the same distance and ski rental is under the hotel! For the past 7 or 8 years we keep going there even though some more luxury hotels are available, but a lot further away from the ski action. Remember that in Switzerland, ski school take your kids in the morning, eat with them at lunch to bring them back in the afternoon; No harassment of coming back at lunch....About the hotel itself, typical family swiss hotel, lot of Gstaader people coming there all day long for their lunch, breakfast, play cards etc....Hotel is very clean, family room size can accommodate up to 4 people, price are reasonable and service always very friendly despite rush hours activities at lunch time for example where some of the ski school classes come to eat there. As other reviews are saying, only 10 min walk from downtown or take the bus (included in ski pass) and if you want to indulge yourself for lunch or diner you can always go to the numerous high ranked table of the area, even though the food quality and quantity!!! is always there. Ski itself is great either in Wispile (Not too many tracks though), Eggli or further in Schonried. To cut the story short a excellent choice for family trips and relax skiing.

Room Tip: Choose family rooms if you are 4 (Duplex rooms), and in any case make sure you have a balcony ideal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Very clean and tidy everywhere, with helpful and friendly staff. Just 5 minutes walking distance from the village centre.
Our room was superb, lots of wood yet not old-fashioned. The big, sunny balcony was just above the al-fresco dining area, however sleeping was no issue as the windows were noise-proof and shut the other guests out.
The restaurant has a typical Swiss rural-area charme, the menu card offers a wide selection in an affordable price range. The locals come here for a drink before heading home after work.
Unlike other restaurants, the service remains friendly even if you're not after the most expensive dishes or you are having a child with you.
We recommend this hotel and will stay there again when next time in Gstaad.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Stayed at the Alphorn Hotel with my daughter who took up skiing for the first time. Location is excellent!!! - right next to the ski lift and ski school meeting place - main reason for choosing this hotel and not in the village. Let me make this quick and easy;
-Hotel itself is terrific with a nice restaurant downstairs - food very tasty and reasonably priced comparing to the prices in the village.
-Location excellent, if you came to Gstaad to ski otherwise you would be better off in the village, which is 10 minutes walk from the hotel and where the action is (don't expect to much of it though, Gstaad is kind off quiet). My daughter took up skiing for the first time so for us hotel location was perfect!!! I myself wasn't skiing this year - to busy exploring local cigar lounges and sampling on different local and not local beverages :)
-If you are a smoker, cigarets, cigars, pipes or whatever then hotel has a nice and cozy smoking room downstairs where you can enjoy your favorite beverage or a meal if you don't mind the smoke, that's the only place where you are allowed to smoke in the entire hotel.
-Internet? no problem, works great in every room - I need it for work so checked it beforehand.
-Staff extremely friendly so are the owners.
-Ski rental - very conveniently located downstairs - very fast and efficient!
-Taxi to 'downtown' Gstaad - around 10-11 Sf
-Bus/ski bus stop next to the hotel - but then again it's only 10 minutes walk to the village center.
- Great shopping possibilities in the village but pricy but that's why we came to Gstaad in the first place to spend some money, right? Otherwise plenty of good and cheap skiing in Italy or Austria.
-Many celebrities live in Gstaad so be ready to shake some hands or snap photos - I saw few but then again who cares, right?
Over all great vacation, it was my second time in Gstaad, first was back in late 70's so I can't remember much but I'm pretty sure we'll be back in Gstaad next year since my daughter loved it and me 2! Cheers!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel-Restaurant Alphorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurant Alphorn

Address: Gsteigstrasse, Gstaad, Saanen 3780, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Gstaad
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Restaurant Alphorn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel-Restaurant Alphorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Restaurant Alphorn Hotel Gstaad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel-Restaurant Alphorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.