We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cute but not up to expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Posthotel Roessli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Posthotel Roessli to your Saves list
Posthotel Roessli
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Promenade 10, Gstaad, Saanen 3780, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Montreux
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very cute but not up to expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

The hotel is extremely cute and so are the rooms, really what you expect from a chalet in quaint ski resort but the room smelt bad and a strong perfume was present, which I understood was to mask bad sewage odors in the bathroom. Personel is friendly but owner could chill up a bit and show some delicatesse and avoid some words said in swiss-german that should not be translated if in their way...

Room Tip: avoid room on back side where the chimney of neighboring house expels bad fumes
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    21
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
17
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suisse
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Went to this hotel last year and happy to come back again. But I was so disappointed to find hair in the bath tub, dirty bin, and dry blood or other traces on bed sheets. Really disappointed... don't know what happened.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

This was the third time we had spent Xmas at the Rossli. We were lucky this year as there had been a heavy fall of snow just before we arrived but as walkers we were pleased to find that all the paths had been cleared. We had a superior room with a balcony which faced the sun all day. Part of the reason we go to the Rossli is the food and as ever this was excellent. This hotel suits us perfectly, a very pleasant staff and the hotel provides all we need for a good holiday.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Nice central location, nice price, great restaurant, nice heating.
Not so warm staff, but efficient.

Room Tip: Bring your shampoo and soap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Despite the charming location and authentic swiss interiours the Rössli was betrayed by unwelcoming staff and a host who seems to be bereft of all sensibility. All the more sad as this used to be a warm place to enjoy a casual night out with friends. one would assume that spending 500 swiss francs (600 dollars) for a party of four would lead to free tap water but halas no. Not only did we pay for free tap water but were also charged for one late ordered esspresso (the 600$ bill had already been paid for). Where has swiss hospitality and rationalism gone especially in light current economic state of affairs (strong swiss franc vs. any other currency). In austria you could be sure to receive a digestive plus coffee free of charge and a hug on your way out. To round up our impression there not only was no hug ;-) on our way out but the restaurant seemed to be deserted of all staff!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We chose this hotel from Tripadvisor reviews, but ended up a bit disappointed. Positives and negatives, in our opinion (my husband and I):
Positives:
- Nice central location;
- Reasonable price;
- Cozy feel, all wood, historic photos on walls, low ceilings;
- Nice restaurant. Breakfasts were simple but tasty with great bread and croissants, fresh fruit, cheese/meats, decent coffee, juice, etc. We had two dinners outside across the street, under the trees -- nice ambience and tasty food, comparatively reasonably-priced (remember, it's Switzerland, where everything is pretty pricey);
Negatives:
- Broken shower head apparatus, so that you had to hold the shower head or risk spraying the whole bathroom;
- No extras -- no shampoo or moisturizer, etc. -- only liquid gel that could double as soap, shampoo, etc., in a container fixed to the wall;
- Common balcony, with the result that if you left your window open, people could wander by and peek in;
- Thin walls -- could hear people moving around at all hours;
- Staff seemed to have a rather distant way about them, not like the usual friendliness we had encountered at other hotels.

So, nothing terribly wrong with the place, but nothing so special either.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

This was absolutely the most charming hotel I've ever stayed in--and the price couldn't be beat! Everything was wonderful about this hotel--from the welcoming, helpful hosts to the roomy, yet quaint rooms to the spectacular views from the shared deck. I can't wait to go back someday! The small town of Gstaad is also very cute, and a great place to make your hiking base.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posthotel Roessli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posthotel Roessli

Address: Promenade 10, Gstaad, Saanen 3780, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Gstaad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Gstaad
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gstaad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Posthotel Roessli 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posthotel Rossli - the most traditional and oldest Hotel in the middle of town! This building was built approximately in 1823 and bought by Bendicht Steffen in 1844. It first opened in 1845 as a guesthouse. Back then it also was used as as a post office. By the way, the Rossli-Hotel is the oldest hotel in town. Since 1922, our family owns the establishment, and today we are proud to be the fourth generation, managing the Posthotel Rossli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Posthotel Roessli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel Gstaad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posthotel Roessli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.