We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posthotel Roessli

Save Saved
You added Posthotel Roessli to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Posthotel Roessli
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Promenade 10, Gstaad, Saanen 3780, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 22 hotels in Gstaad
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Of course, you can also spend your night at Posthotel Rössli Gstaad, but it is also highly recommended to visit the "Rössli" just for an excellent lunch or dinner. This is exactly what we did - and what we got.
The atmosphere ist truly, simply and authentic Swiss. On the menu you find an excellent variety of Swiss specialities. And what you get is simply a joy. Everything was perfect and most enjoyable. Also the vine selection was outstanding without being too expensive. Service personnel a joy as well. At the "Rössli" you are truly feeling at home - and one wants to get come as soon as possible. As we ware not the only ones to know about the qualities of the "Rössli" Restaurant you need to reserve your table in advance.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    16
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
10
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suisse
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

Really good place, clean, comfortable, in a typical swiss chalet.
Nice view, good size bathroom and the breakfast is good with amazing bread and homemade fruits salad and jams.
I was in large room 344 on the top floor with a private balcony. Really great!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtomenson
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

We recently stayed at Post Hotel Rossli whilst in Gstaad for a friend's wedding. The service was wonderful and the staff was very friendly. They put up with a rather rowdy crew of American wedding goers with incredible patience and graciousness. The rooms are simple but clean and cheery and the beds are comfortable. We would definitely come back for another stay! As a side note, I accidentally left a few things in the room when we checked out, and they quickly sent them back to me in the States.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2008

We found ourselves in Gstaad to stay, as Glacier 3000 was the only ski slope open during the week of 23 Nov 2008. We stayed at Post Hotel Rossli after being recommended by locals on our train ride to Gstaad.

If you are looking for clean, comfortable and safe atmosphere, I highly recommend Post Htel Rossli. It is a short walk from the train station. The staff is wonderful and the rooms are very cozy. There is free internet access and a computer to use. A gathering room offers checkers/TV/computer...feels like home.

  • Liked — family friendly
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2007

my wife and i decided to stay in gstaad for a week in jan and it was everything we thought it would be. hotel was very clean and with a great atmosphere.we never had a meal there so cannot comment on the food. the olden hotel across the road was fantastic for an evening meal. plenty of walking trails in the mountains although we did have to wait 2 days before it snowed. all in all we had a fantastic time and would def go back.

  • Liked — great atmosphere
  • Disliked — no bar area
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2007

In June 07 26 of us, from Ireland, stayed here. We were on a walking holiday and I found the hotel to be warm, friendly and clean. I have stayed in some of the best hotels around the world and I must admit that this 3 star was more enjoyable than some of the 5 stars. I believe that all of our party enjoyed their stay there. We were made to feel welcome and at home by the owners and staff. The breakfast was excellent and set us up for our long morning walks. A lovely, cosy hotel well situated in a most beautiful town . I would certainly return again.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — poor assistance at check in
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2007

This was one of the worst hotels I have stayed in for a while. The service was terrible and the food was inedible. Try the Gstaaderhold instead - much better hotel

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Posthotel Roessli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posthotel Roessli

Address: Promenade 10, Gstaad, Saanen 3780, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Gstaad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 hotels in Gstaad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Posthotel Roessli 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posthotel Rössli – the most traditional and oldest Hotel in the middle of town! This building was built approximately in 1823 and bought by Bendicht Steffen in 1844. It first opened in 1845 as a guesthouse. Back then it also was used as as a post office. By the way, the Rössli-Hotel is the oldest hotel in town. Since 1922, our family owns the establishment, and today we are proud to be the fourth generation, managing the Posthotel Rössli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Posthotel Roessli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel Gstaad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posthotel Roessli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.