We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic setting to be waited upon hand and foot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gstaad Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gstaad Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Gstaad Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Palacestrasse, Gstaad, Saanen 3780, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Idyllic setting to be waited upon hand and foot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The name aptly applies to this hotel. Where the only the most famous guest pictures adorn the hallway walls.
The super wealthy with their cigars, cognacs, furs, designer handbags, heals and finery.... wow. Romantic lounges log fire and comfy sophistication.
The finest level of service where you feel you are the only guest. Nothing was ever too much to ask for.
Professionalism personified, friendly, multilingualism with staff of the highest level.
Top quality spa, hairdressing, gym and relaxation areas.
Romantic fine dining, gastronomic delights offered, could have been raised a bar or two for the prices charged, a little disappointing. The finest of ingredients only the best quality of everything encountered. Staff again in the restaurants outstanding and could not do enough.
Breakfast in bed and room service superb and an experience to behold. Trays decorated and presented fit for a king.
The breakfast selection was extra ordinary with every detail perfectly in place, planned and exact. In my opinion the finest in room breakfast dining that I certainly have experienced. Response times were unbelievably good.
Although I did not ski, for the social to intermediate skier the slopes looked ideal.
Would I go back. Maybe when the special offers kick in.
Very glad to have have experienced the Gstaad Palace and certainly a place I would recommend to all my friends. A special treat.

Room Tip: Request the rooms on the south side as the views are really a treat. the 5th floor highest available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    19
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
30
53
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
haifa israel
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

we stayed 3 nights on a package in a deluxe room with view on a ski vacation at early february.
the sight of the palace from the promenade is incredible, especially at night.
many hotels say they have great vistas but from the balcony here there are great sights that are more impressive than dedicated mountain viewpoints.
the spa is big and even the free usage is extraordinary. the outside jacuzi pools with sights of the hotel and the winter world and the indoors fireplace lounge are a top winter experience.
all other aspects are of the quality you expect from a top class hotel.
very reccomended.

Room Tip: it worth to pay more for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stay in the hotel for ski vacation for five days we enjoy it the location of the hotel was good I like the lobby there is afire place and the hot chocolate there is very delicious the spa is fantastic all the employee in the reception and the concierge and the house keeper are wonderful and very helpful the food in all the restaurant are very good thanks to all the employee in the hotel

Room Tip: Take the deluxe room the view is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Although I always loved the fromagerie as I have spent many fun evenings there. But after not going for a couple of years I was slightly disappointed. The cheese fondue with truffle and champagne was excellent but then we had the fondue bourguignonne and although the meat was super fresh, when you put it inside the oil it would literally carbonised. I made fondue bourguignonne at home and it does not happen normally. I asked the waiter what oil they used (sunflower, which is good) and why it was so hot and he said they keep the oil hot on a surface all night to have quicker service. Well the result is oil that smells very strongly and has been boiling over and over and literally kills the very good fillet meat. A pity. For the price we paid the oil should be fresh and heated up gently before serving.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We booked a last minute rate for two mid week nights in January.
We were pleased with our north facing room and thought it still had lovely views despite not being on the favoured and more expensive south facing side.
The bathroom was very pleasant with a large opening window with a nice view.
There was masses of storage space in the room but disappointingly only one armchair which meant taking it in turns with my husband to sit on that or on an upright desk chair or on the bed. Two comfy chairs for two guests doesn't seem too unreasonable but it was tight for space as the room was quite small.
Shortly after arriving we made our way to the main dining room for lunch. We were so pleased to be able to take lunch until 3pm. Everything about this meal was wonderful, the service , the presentation and the food all excellent.
We were on a half board deal which allows the guest to take either lunch or dinner as the half board option which is something else we thought was a good idea. The allowance of 110 Swiss francs per person was generous and enabled you to have pretty much what you desired within the price.
The following morning we went down to breakfast in the same room but what a different experience this was. Unfortunately all the worst things about a buffet breakfast were in evidence, a scramble of guests looking for what they needed and so called hot food which was luke warm on both our visits. We thought it was a great pity that hot meals were not cooked to order from a separate menu.
The lounge is one of the great assets of this hotel. It is a lovely room and the service was outstanding from friendly and helpful waiters. However the price of the drinks is horrendous.
We would expect to pay a premium for drinks in such a hotel but most things were about two and a half times more than a normal Swiss price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBour, Deputy Manager at Gstaad Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Mrs Hollins,

We are grateful that you took time to describe the situation you encountered in your room and at the breakfast buffet. We immediately informed our kitchen team who took steps to resolve this issue. Such comments are very precious as they enable us improving our service. We are also very pleased to read that you enjoyed our newly renovated Lobby Bar.

For any further information, we remain at your disposal.

In the meantime, we wish you a good start into the new week and remain with kind regards.

Romuald Bour
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Viande des Grisons served was cut 3 hours ago and stale. When we complain the italian waiter who knows it all said, they were too busy and it was normal to cut in the afternoon to serve at dinner ??? He was not told obviously that when a customer makes a comment, he does not need to get a lectured. This is generally speaking the problem at the Palace; a staff that has been there forever with a "unionized know it all mentality". The raclette was average and the mocha ice-cream, I am sharing the picture and will leave you judge if you call that a serving size, especially for what the charge. The Palace is an institution, so for the wannabes "I went to the Palace", go for it and you will get the treatment.... If you want a real raclette and service, then there are 1/2 a dozen places in or near Gstaad that are better than La Fromagerie.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is my second time at this wonderful hotel in the impossibly chic village of Gstaad.
We were here for a private event during the weekend so the hotel was open exclusively for us.

Staying here is a real privilege, a dream come true.

The setting couldn't be more magical with views of the village and mountains all around.

Our room was so luxurious, such a treat! Walk-in closet, hot tub with tv, large shower, etc.
Last time we were here our room was beautiful but had not been refurbished. I was told they were slowly remodeling all the rooms in the hotel so make sure you get a modern one!

The service is absolutely impeccable as you would expect and they cater to you your every whim.

The spa is an absolute delight! Especially the outdoor pool where you can roll around in the snow and then jump back in the warm water.

This hotel is amazing in every way and I hope I get the chance to stay here again.

I really can't think of anything negative to say except for the obvious... it's expensive! Worth it though.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the newly refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gstaad Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gstaad Palace Hotel

Address: Palacestrasse, Gstaad, Saanen 3780, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Gstaad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gstaad Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over the years the Gstaad Palace has earned an unrivalled reputation for discreet, refined hospitality, and has always welcomed the most discerning international clientele. Set on a hill overlooking Gstaad, the resort is privileged to offer a breathtaking view of the majestic Swiss Alps. The 104 tastefully decorated rooms include 19 junior suites, 4 suites, 2 Tower Suites and the most luxurious and sophisticated three-bedroom Penthouse Suite ever built in an Alpine resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gstaad Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gstaad Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.