We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay while visiting Gstaad in the spring” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Hotel to your Saves list
Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lauenenstrasse 19, Gstaad, Saanen 3780, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to stay while visiting Gstaad in the spring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We had the unexpected opportunity to extend a Swiss business trip for a few days and wanted to visit the Gstaad region. Nothing is inexpensive in Gstaad, but the Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Hotel seemed to provide the best balance of cost versus amenities. I must say we were very pleased with our decision. Much of what made our stay pleasant were the personal touches provided by the staff.

This started with our early arrival. Even though we didn't expect it, they were able to provide us with a clean room, which was great since we had been traveling since early morning. The room itself, while small, was clean, well furnished (bed was fine), and bright. We had no problems with sound from other rooms. Internet in the room was free.

The main focus of our visit to Gstaad was to hike. The substantial breakfast (extra at the time of booking) was a good value (tough to find in Gstaad). Between the breakfast and picking up half-price (day-old) pastries in Gstaad, we were well-fueled for our daily travels.

As a side note, we found the Gstaad Easy Access card a great bargain--36 CHF/3 days of public transportation was definitely a value compared to paying per ride. Even though many of the cable cars were not operating (late May) we still got our money's worth from the buses and rail travel.

The hotel's "Wellness Center" was great after a day of hiking. The sauna and steam room are well done and clean and, together with relaxing afterwards, were a perfect way to finish a day of hiking.

Even our departure was well-handled by the hotel. We departed well before breakfast started, but the night porter was able to gather up a reasonable breakfast (and coffee) for us (eaten in the dining room), and then insisted on driving us to the train station. (Though it would have been an easy (10') walk.)

All-in-all a very pleasant and comfortable stay. I feel that we got our money's worth, especially since we were Americans traveling in Switzerland with a very weak dollar.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    35
    11
    1
    4
See reviews for
22
48
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

1. Room : Simple and Functional - they were clean, modern and functional with web-tv in each room and a small sitting area with a small terrace (enough for 2 chairs and a table). The bathrooms were a little bit of a let down duw to their size but at least the showers were good and strong.

2. Food (half board) : Whereas breakfast is nothing astounding (except for the bread rolls, which are simply superb), the half-boar dinner is astounding. A 4-course meal (choice of 2 starters, a soup, 2 mains, desser or cheese) every night and the quality was on par with anything I've easten at the Palace, etc in Gstaad. Quality of meat was 1st-rate with Barberie Duck, Roasted Beef, etc all making appearances. At no point did you feel like you were getting a second-rate meal as you were half board. Furthermore, the Raclette and Fondue restaurant in the basement is amongst the best available - definitely try the champagne & truffle fondue. Definitely 5-star.

3. Location - not on the main pedestrian area but 2 minutes walk away. Gstaad isnt a ski-in ski-out town but the hotel has a ski bus service and the towns free ski-bus stops directly outside. Furthermore, tyhe hotel has a loarge garage underneath.

4. Kids - made to feel most welcome, especially at the fantastic restaurant. There is a billiards room, a young kids play room and an older kids play room. The staff were very helpful.

5. Service - also impecable at a 4-star level. Not as good as a good 5-star but impressive considering the bargain price point.

Summary - this hotel is excellent. The only let down are the slightly boxy rooms nad the small bathrooms but this is reflected in the price. We have lready booked to go back next year.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

After spending xmas at the Imperial in Vienna, I decided to take a trip to Gstaad with my girlfriend for NYE week. Every nice hotel was booked, so we went for a central 4 star at 450 CHF a night, which in my books, should have been AT LEAST decent.

To be clear, I am as used to staying in palaces around the world, than roughing it up in dumps.

They gave us a room at arms length of the elevator, with paper thin walls where the neighbor whispering to his wife sounds like he's in our room and where kids wake you up 3 rooms down the hall while they're still in their bed.

The bed also doubles up as a seesaw, which means that if one person is on the wrong side of the bed when the other gets into it, they have a good chance of getting bounced out the window.

After 2 nights, I'm sleeping on the floor (picture attached) to try to give my girlfriend a couple hours sleep. It's day 3 in Gstaad, and we still haven't felt rested enough to go skiing.

THANK GOD I have a friend giving us a room in his house here so we can finally start to enjoy the stay, but piece of advice, avoid this hotel like the plague NEVER stay here!

PS: For those of you who might think I'm exagerating, but I'm unfortunately not...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
founex, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

We were pleasantly surprised by the warm welcome we received, and by the size of our room (actually 2 rooms) as we were travelling with our teenage daughter. We enjoyed a larger than usual European breakfast, and had 2 dinners in the restaurant, both of which were very good. The hotel is a 2 minute walk from the main pedestrian area, and the receptionist gave us great hiking options for our Saturday afternoon. The friendly service was outstanding!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
375 helpful votes 375 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

I was absolutely stunned to find a hotel room available for the high season in Gstaad, during the Menuhin Music Festival, too. So I wasn't expecting much. However, the place is a real find! It's located just steps off of the pedestrian street, so it's convenient. My room was ultra quiet, and very large. I spent a week there and enjoyed every moment They offer guided hiking weeks for summer or winter hiking, and I'm definitely going to join one on a future visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gstaad, Switzerland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

If I travel to Gstaad I stay at Gstaaderhof. The Hotel offers top service for a reasonable rate. The staff is very friendly ... for me as morning grumpy maybe toooo friendly! The Restaurant offers delicious meals. Unfortunately the selection of open wine is very poor, but that's my only complain! Make sure to book a room with balcony, you will have a nice view and enjoy the peaceful silcence!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrexham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

Extremely clean hotel with friendly, attentive service at all times from all the staff. The standard of catering was also to be commended. It was heartening to see the owners taking such an interest in the running of the hotel and interacting with guests.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Hotel

Address: Lauenenstrasse 19, Gstaad, Saanen 3780, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Gstaad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gstaad
#6 Luxury Hotel in Gstaad
#7 Family Hotel in Gstaad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Gstaad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.