We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had expected more of it....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Alpenhotel and Spa Gstaad-Saanen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Steigenberger Alpenhotel and Spa Gstaad-Saanen to your Saves list
Steigenberger Alpenhotel and Spa Gstaad-Saanen
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Schoenriedstrasse 74, Gstaad, Saanen CH-3792, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Had expected more of it....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

We frequently stay at the Steigenberger Hotels and we are usually pleased with the service and the nicely furnished rooms. Well Steigenberger Gstaad-Saanen did not meet our expectations. The rooms are outdated and desperately need to be modernized. The view made up for the room because you have a wide view overlooking the mountains and the valley with its villages. The surroudings are also beautiful and invite for long walks but also offer luxerious shopping in Gstaad.
We had full board. The hotel has no experienced staff apart from 2-3 managers. We strongly believe that all staff is in training and it shows. We usually had to wait a long time before we were served at dinner, things were forgotten (forks, knives) or brought too late (coffee after almost finishing breakfast). After a few days our patience run out and we complained about the service. The manager offered us a free bottle of wine. You would expect that the service improved over time (after complaining a few more times) but it remained the same. In the end it annoyed us and we regretted that we reserved full board.
A shame for the Steigenberger Group because we are used to different services from them.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    90
    36
    21
    7
See reviews for
74
106
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

We spent three nights at the hotel and could not be more pleased. From the warm welcome (we called from the train station and they came to pick us up), to the helpful and courteous staff, everyone took care to ensure that we enjoyed our stay.
We had dinner 2 nights in the hotel and the food and the service were excellent. The breakfast buffet was very comprehensive, with a small buffet set up for the little guests with plastic bowls and cups.
They offer transportation to and from the slopes, which means you do not need a car and have a ski rental shop on site, so it could not be easier.
Children are welcome and do make themselves at home. One reviewer said their children were asked to be quiet, but the children we saw were all boisterously enjoying the pool.
We found the General Manager to be very helpful and accommodating. He made a point of being in the lobby every afternoon when guests returned from skiing to ask about their day and their stay. Both he and his staff care about the comfort of their guests and you cannot ask for more than that.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

I am sorry that I was only able to stay one night at this excellent and friendly hotel. The service was excellent and friendly from the moment we arrived despite the hotel being very busy. We ate and drank extremely well in the à la carte restaurant and were very happy that the hotel manager made the time to come and speak to us to make sure that we were happy. He seemd to know most of the guests by name!

Our room was very comfortable and the bathroom brand new. The views from the balcony would be hard to beat.

Breakfast was a very well stocked buffet with a good variety including fresh cooked hot food and the service was fast and efficient.

As we left the next morning the manager was there again helping people on to the ski bus.

Our stay was far too short so we will have to come back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

If you don't like kids running around and screaming while you are sipping champagne then find another hotel. Lobby is nice with fire and live piano and food is quite good. Rooms are a little traditional but the views make up for them. Try to avoid rooms on the first floor as it is near the smoking room. No free wifi.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

Thanks to the kind help of the General Manager himself we were lucky enough to spend a few wonderful days at the Gsteigenberger Gstaad-Saanen during one of the busiest week of the ski season. We were welcomed in the lobby with a lovely hot chocolate & pastry and pleasantly surprised by the Alpine interior and the spacious rooms. The staff is very well informed, well mannered and well trained as you only find in Switzerland. They managed to get hold of a pair of special ski's for our youngest, booked places at local restaurants and were very knowledgeable about the region.
We did not visit the Spa area as the weather was too nice to stay indoors!

The breakfast buffet in the morning was delicious and even more as the service was fast and always with a smile. The first night we decided to stay in the hotel and although it must have been pretty much full we were offered a table within 30 minutes and enjoyed the local Swiss specialties in the restaurant. Again, the staff makes or brakes a good hotel and we felt very welcome and looked after by them.

Highly recommended! Thank you Mr. Salverda and your friendly team, we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

With a bus-stop at the entrance, and even shown on the walking route signposts, this hotel is a good base for a summer walking tour of the area, best combined with the "Easy-Access" card, available from the hotel, that gives cheap travel in the area. Food delicious, with large buffet breakfast with chef available for "cook to order" options. Even cakes in the afternoon, if you are back early. Swiss National Day was celebrated in style - all the staff worked tirelessly to provide a memorable evening - finishing with a spectacular firework display.
The design of the hotel is inspired - it is a large hotel, but that is only apparent when inside (like the Tardis) - from the roadside it appears to be a small group of chalets, because it nestles in a hillside and the bulk of the hotel is below road level - but from the other side and from the distance, it again only appears as small chalets.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

This has been one of the best weeks walking I have spent in the past eleven years. The hotel was excellent and the scenery was magnificent. All the rooms in the hotel faced south and were well appointed. Our rooms were extremely comfortable and the staff were friendly and efficient. The cuisine was of the highest.
The bus stopped outside the hotel so that we could travel easily to cable cars or the train or just change to other buses to access our walking program. We took cable cars and walked along the ridges, buses to the heads of valleys and returned to Sannen or Gstaad through beautiful scenic valleys with rushing streams/rivers. The picturesque Swiss chalets were a delight as were the ancient churches. We saw the cows returning from the high pastures with flowers between their horns. The whole holiday was a delight from start to finish. I recommend this hotel highly.
There is an indoor swimming pool and sauna.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Steigenberger Alpenhotel and Spa Gstaad-Saanen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Alpenhotel and Spa Gstaad-Saanen

Address: Schoenriedstrasse 74, Gstaad, Saanen CH-3792, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Gstaad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Gstaad
#11 Luxury Hotel in Gstaad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Steigenberger Alpenhotel and Spa Gstaad-Saanen 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the Steigenberger Alpenhotel and Spa you can enjoy a unique and unobstructed view of the Bernese Alps. The hotel is located just above and at walking distance from the town centre. We offer a varied programme of activities including Yoga, water aerobics, Nordic walking, snowshoeing, tobogganing, and much more. TheSaanenland offers almost unlimited possibilities for sports. Enjoy the fascination of our location and get outdoors. Discover active relaxation, have a holiday for you and your family. Relax in our spa with swimming pool, panoramic Finland sauna, herbal steam bath, splash and special showers, solarium and gym. Discover active relaxation – holidays for you and your family. Be active, unwind and leave your daily stress behind you – in a dream setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Steigenberger Alpenhotel and Spa Gstaad-Saanen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Gstaad-Saanen Hotel Gstaad
Steigenberger Hotel Gstaad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Alpenhotel and Spa Gstaad-Saanen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.