We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Grand Chalet

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Grand Chalet to your Saves list
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Neueretstrasse 43, Gstaad, Saanen CH-3780, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Kiawah Island, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I had only one night to stay in Gstaad, and chose this hotel based on itsTripAdvisor reviews. It did not disappoint us. We had a little trouble finding it because there were no signs, and the drive was narrow and a bit steep. But once we got there the hotel was a lovely Swiss chalet on a hillside with very scenic views. A bellman appeared as we got out of our car and whisked our luggage off. The receptionist smiled brightly as we came inside and graciously escorted us to our room on the second floor. Our luggage was already in the room. The room was spacious and had a lovely balcony looking over the town and valley, with mountains in all directions. There was complimentary wifi for our iPad. The dinner on the terrace was upscale and delicious. It was very attentively served as we watched darkness descend on the valley. The weather was unusually warm that day and we were disappointed that the hotel did not have a fan for us to use in the room that night, but it did cool down nicely later on and we had a comfortable night's sleep. The breakfast in the morning was very bountiful, and the waitress actually cooked some fried eggs to order for us. All-in-all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
29
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night about ten days ago, and I have no complaints whatsoever. The reception staff was extremely friendly and courteous. She even walked me to two different rooms and gave me a choice, explaining to me that one of the two rooms available has better views, but may be just slightly noisier (since it is close to the restaurant). I ended up choosing Room 122, which is huge and comfortable. The view from the balcony is still quite nice, even though not as grand as the marvelous view (of the surrounding mountains and valleys) from some of the rooms located at the front of the hotel. I did not care for the style of the decoration of the rooms (I would call it very nice comfortable grandma style), but they all seem to be very spacious, clean and comfortable. Wifi was included, and the breakfast was great.

The only downside I can think of, about the hotel, is that it is located on a little hill. If one does not have wheels, it may be a little bit of a hike to go back to hotel from the middle of town.

I would definitely recommend this hotel with no hesitation.

Room Tip: If you like beautiful mountain views, be sure to ask the check-in staff for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on our tour of Switzerland and really wished we could have stayed for longer. The staff are excellent, they can't do enough, going out of their way to make sure you have what you want, they organised a days hike for us at no notice. The hotel is in the style of a typical Swiss chalet so it's quite informal and relaxed (unlike many hotels in this part of the world). The rooms are large and luxurious furnished and ours had a magnificent view over the town and the mountains. The restaurant is first rate, serving excellent well cooked food - and the chef will cook just about anything you want. So are there any downsides? Not really - apart from the price but if you can afford it then this is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

The hotel is very nice and cozy, decorated in a swiss chalet style with a wooden.
It's located in avery quite area, a littile away from Gstaad center, but since we were by car, it wasn't a problem.
The room is big, clean and also very cozy and makes you feel at home.
Sauna is also nice and since the hotel is not big, there are not many people, so we were in SPA center alone.
Breakfast is also marvelous with good choice of local cheese and jams. And from the terrace you have a breakfast there is a nice view on mountains.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

My husband and I went there for my birthday and we booked directly for a Chez vous package (3 nights).
The hotel is located high on the hill top, so we couldn't really walk to walk and back (plus it was freezing cold in Jan.) but the hotel offers a shuttle ride whenever needed till 21h00 (not so sure till what time).
The rooms are cozy, clean and very pretty.
Breakfast downstairs had great choice, also you could order breakfast in room free of charge.
In our package we had dinner included and I can only say kudos to the chef. The food was exquisite.
At the reception, they were very helpful and pleasant. They organized our activities with pleasure and I would like to thank them once more for being so helpful.
We enjoyed our stay there very much and would like to visit again and this time maybe even in the spring.
So I highly recommend le grand chalet to everyone.
Enjoy : )

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We loved hotel! Clean, beautiful, lovely. Excellent staff ,service ,restaurant and surroundings. I highly recommend this hotel. The location is excellent, with fantastic views of the mountains. It has a good transportation service for free to the city. The rooms are very nice, clean and comfortable. The staff is incredible, always helpful and very friendly. We loved everything Everything about the hotel is super! The bed was very comfortable, and there were plenty of large, thick towels and toiletries in the bathroom. We had lunch and dinner at their restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed our meals. The breakfast was very very very good, I think the best of my life !!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Nestled on a picturesque hill overlooking the valley we got some breathtaking views of Gstaad from our room. The hotel is built in the Alpine style with wood furnishings and old world charm. We ate at their terrace restaurant La Bagatelle which was a fantastic experience of traditional Swiss alpine food. The rooms were large and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Grand Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Grand Chalet

Address: Neueretstrasse 43, Gstaad, Saanen CH-3780, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Gstaad
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Grand Chalet 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Le Grand Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Grand Chalet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.