We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than adequate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Solsana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Solsana to your Saves list
Hotel Solsana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Unterbort / Solsanastrasse, Gstaad, Saanen 3792, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Northampton, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“More than adequate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were visiting Gstaad for a few days in summer to see the Tennis and the Glacier and this hotel fit the bill perfectly. Our room was a family suite and was very spacious, modern and well equipped. Far better than we expected. The indoor swimming pool is large and modern although we couldn't access the sauna which was annoying. We ate in the hotel restaurant each night and both the food and the service was excellent. There was a lot of traditional local cuisine on the menu too which the waiters and waitresses were happy to give advice on. Car parking was close to the hotel and easy to find a space. It is probably a mile outside of Gstaad so a car is almost essential if you're staying here.

Room Tip: the family suite is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
southwest va
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband, a friend and I stayed at the Solsana at the end of May on a whim. It wasn't a planned part of our trip, but I'm so glad we came here! The hotel room was perfect! The bed and pillows were comfortable. It was clean. Plenty of room. Our friend had a separate twin-sized room attached to ours with a door that closed. The views from our window were stunning!
The only negative I can say about this place is that my dinner was not good. I ordered a pasta dish with asparagus and both were so over cooked they were mushy. However, our friend ordered the rosti with bacon and egg and it was fantastic. Also, our waitress was fabulous. Super friendly and knowledgeable!
Overall, I would definitely stay here again and would recommend to all!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed here for a night to visit Saanen where some scenes from a memorable Bollywood movie DDLJ was shot! Had booked 3 rooms. one of the rooms had an awesome view of the Gstaad and Saanen valley.

Warm folks at the reception. We reached around 3.30 pm. Welcome apertif session was at 5.30 pm but they offered it to us earlier. Most corridors of hotels are dim necessary approaches to the rooms. Not here. It is bright and colourful. The rooms were contemporary in apearance and the TV had loads of english channels too.

Would stay here if in the region again.....

Room Tip: Ask for valley facing rooms with balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011 via mobile

Sitting in the hotel as i write this review, xmas eve infront of the fireplace with champagne and finger food all put on by the hotel.

From the moment myself and my wife arrived at this hotel we were made to feel at home. We are on our honeymoon from Australia and could not have picked a better place to stay for christmas. Travelling 2.5 months in europe and this is the first hotel to congradulate us on it and also provide a complimentary champagne for the room.

Apart from this the rooms themselves are amazing and should be a minimum 4star hotel. Swimming pool, sauna, solarium etc. The staff are very very friendly and even a presence and warm welcome, conversation and tips by Daniel the host of the hotel which is a great thing for hotels to do.

The views are unmatched and look down on Saanen and Gstaad. Would much rather be looking out our bedroom window of our room rather then other hotels in the region.

Make sure you get here if you can and splash out for rooms with a view, Amazing. The only issue would be menu and different things in english as well but no doubt this hotel is more a hidden gem for the swiss and french :)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Solsana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solsana

Address: Unterbort / Solsanastrasse, Gstaad, Saanen 3792, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Gstaad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Solsana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Solsana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Solsana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.