We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awsome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glacier Express

Glacier Express
Switzerland
41 (0)27 927 77 77
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 519 things to do in Swiss Alps
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Group tours/train
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This train cuts through the Swiss Alps, providing passengers with some of the most beautiful scenery imaginable.
Victor Harbor, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awsome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We started the Glacier express from Brig, as we didnt have the time to stay more than one night in Zermatt and we would of needed that as we had caught the train from Paris, which was also a fantastic train ride. The Glacier Express was brilliant scenery and we were at the tail end of winter. A bit of confusion was had with the lunch, we chose the 3 course lunch, but that was only in the 1st class cabin but our swiss pass didnt cover that so we had to pay an extra 80 chf, and to be honest we probably could of just chose the dinner plate, as i was expecting a bit better meal. But putting that aside we had a fantastic day the service was fantastic.. We stayed at the Waldhouss Am See in St Moritz, the only Hotel located right on the lake and in my opinion the best location and value for money with gorgeous views you just cant stop looking. The bonus of staying in St Moritz was that you got to see the best scenery all over again, when travelling back to Chur to do a major rail change.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    126
    86
    26
    23
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A wonder in wonderland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Before booking, I thought 8 hours of journey during teh day time would be an overkill. But believe me you, I didn't sleep for a minute during this journey. This could be one of the best train journeys possible in the world.
The train itself is a marvel and the route is breath taking. Your eyes and camera shutters refuse to relax as not only the views outside but options of angles to click from inside provide a photo clicking feast.
Don;y forget to collect your certificate from the train station when you complete your journey.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
199 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Scenic But Long Train Ride With Mediocre Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This train ride offered spectacular views but was long. We took the train from Zermatt to Davos-Platz. We rode in the first class cabin and it was totally deserted. We virtually had the whole train car to ourselves and that was worth the extra cost. We did receive a discount with our Swiss pass. The train was clean, comfortable, and well maintained. The dining car from 84 years ago was like going back in time. That said, there were several negatives I think riders should be aware of. First, even though we were in first class, we were last to be asked when we would like lunch and were only offered a 3:00 PM appointment in the dining car. After stating that waiting 6 hours from departure to lunch was a bit ridiculous we were then offered a spot at 12:20 PM. First class should have been offered dining appointments first and prior to the large tour group riding in second class. Next, even though it appears on the website that you can eat at your seat, that is decided by the train staff not you. Next, it is difficult to take pictures of the stunning view due to reflection off of the windows. It can be done with lens hood and no angle of the camera but it is hard. Third, there are no power outlets on this train so charging devices is difficult. Fourth, while the staff were friendly they were by no means extremely accommodating or polite. Fifth, the train leaves from the train station in Zermatt, but no where on the flyers or website is this made clear. Finally, I would advise riding this train in segments as the day is very long if you do it in totality.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapulpa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sparkling vistas...a unique glimpse into rural Alps. But don't sit in the sun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Our visit to Switzerland was greatly enhanced by our 6 hour ride from Chur to Zermatt. We had comfortable seating with expansive windows to view the panorama of all that the countryside has to offer. Beautiful waterfalls, churning icy streams, towering peaks, vineyards, backyard gardens in tiny villages, All in all, breathtaking! The service was good and the lunch enjoyable. (I didn't care for the cheese and bread option for dessert. But that may have been due to the heat of the day).
Our trip was taken during a rare heat wave in this region and we did find sitting on the south side of the train to be very uncomfortable due to the sun! The train couldn't keep up with the needed cooling requirements on this day. But that is a good side for great vistas! Just take something to protect you from the sun, if needed.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A journey through Ice!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was one of the things I came to do in Switzerland. The point which swung the argument of the holiday in favour of this european nation, rather than others. We travelled from St. Moritz to Zermatt via the Glacier Express, and it was a bit underwhelming; but at the same time, good fun. The main draw of the journey is the Ice-landscapes, but most of it is in the plains, where you are treated to a lovely view of the switzerland countryside. This however, you'll experience all over the nation, so didn't really make up for the 1st class tickets. And just because of us being tourists, your can't choose your seats, and may end up in all aisle seats, like we did and kill the view.
The big glass windows are really good for the view, but painful for photography. The redeeming element of the trip was the excellent service of the staff, and the fun of seeing so many people standing doing the journey waiting for that perfect moment to snap the shutter!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glacier Express also viewed

Swiss Alps, Switzerland
Jungfraujoch, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Chur, Canton of Graubunden
 

Been to Glacier Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glacier Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.