We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, clean and well located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Hotel Solothurn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Hotel Solothurn to your Saves list
Ramada Hotel Solothurn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schanzlistrasse 5, Solothurn 4500, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Solothurn
Eu, France
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Nice place, clean and well located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I stayed there for 1 night in July. Very clean, big rooms and nice furniture. I recommend room 502 which is a corner room with great views of the river.

Room Tip: Room 502 is a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    65
    16
    8
    2
See reviews for
13
32
13
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

While doing some research on family history in Switzerland I had the opportunity to stay at the Ramada Hotel Solothurn. This is a very nice, modern facility located on the banks of the Aare river. The hotel enjoys a wonderful view of the old city, to which it is a couple minute walk (also to the train station). The hotel itself was very nicely furnished, and I enjoyed the breakfast buffet which included a nice variety of hot and cold dishes. Unfortunately I did not get to enjoy their Sunday brunch - but as they were setting it up I got enough of an eye full to make me wish I was staying to enjoy the variety and selection of good food. Solothurn is a very nice city with an outstanding old town section with well preserved buildings, city walls, towers, gates and fountains. Although the weather was very cold (we are in the middle of a cold spell here in Europe) I enjoyed walking around this very picturesque city. While staying at the hotel I splurged and ordered a Ramada cheeseburger - excellent! As a cheeseburger expert I highly recommend it! I would recommend this hotel to anyone who has the chance to visit this charming city.

Room Tip: Recommend a river and old city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal M, Manager at Ramada Hotel Solothurn, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your nice recommendation. We are pleased to read that you liked our hotel, as well the city of Solothurn. Sure I pass the good feedback to my employees.
We would love to welcome you again here in Switzerland.

Best regards from Solothurn

Daniel Siegenthaler
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenchen, Switzerland
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We never slept in this hotel because its just next door to us. But if we have celebrations or friends with us we book a table for the great sunday morning buffet. (Be careful its always booked out for weeks!) Time is from 11:30 am to 2 pm. You start with a glass of champagne, then you will be served with coffee and tea and you go over to the buffets. Just great with bread, cheese, cold meet and fish, cooked meat and vegetables and and and. Finally you move over to the sweet buffet.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sodertalje, Sweden
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel at several occasions. The hotel is very stylish and modern. Location is great close to the railway station and only a short walk to the city historical centre of Solothurn. The rooms are very nice and comfortable.

The breakfast is very good. The only thing I’m missing is orange marmalade which asked for several times but they don’t understand why this should be normal at a breakfast. Very strange for an expensive breakfast like this.

There is only one thing I don’t like about the hotel. The air condition does not work very well. Last time I stayed at the hotel it was very warm in my room and I could not sleep. Tried to adjust the temperature but nothing happened. I called the front desk and they could not do anything about it. The next morning I complained and they promised to send the service guy during the day. No improvement the following night so I had to sleep with the window open towards a noisy street. A high priced hotel like this should do much better than this.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

Very good value for money hotel which made staying in Solothurn a real pleasure. The rooms are large and beautifully decorated. WiFi in room. Fantastic views over the River Aare and the old town from the large windows. Staff all spoke excellent English and were friendly. The garden bar in front of the hotel facing the river is a great place to sit in the evenings. You can walk to the hotel from the train station and walk to the Old Town from the hotel. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Only quibble was the hot water in the shower which cycled between hot and cold without warning, best to have a bath!

There is a good gym room and spa treatments are available, but very popular so you need to book ahead of arriving.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the old town
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

We enjoyed our stay and the city.
Rooms are very cozy and has a great view over the old town of solothurn.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

modern, new hotel with panaramoc view overlooking Solothurn. Sauna and spa area with panomraic view. I really appriciate that the Wireless Lan was complemantary all over the hotel. Big American Buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Hotel Solothurn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Hotel Solothurn

Address: Schanzlistrasse 5, Solothurn 4500, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Solothurn > Solothurn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Solothurn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Hotel Solothurn 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The RAMADA Hotel Solothurn is located on the riverbank of the Aare in Solothurn, Switzerland’s most beautiful baroque city. The city, also known as «the city of the Eleven», has eleven churches, chapels, historical fountains and towers, as well as eleven altars and bells in the St.-Ursen-Cathedral. The RAMADA Hotel Solothurn has 100 rooms in the Comfort, Deluxe and Suite categories each equipped with air-conditioning, cable TV, Wi-Fi access (free of charge), a flat-panel monitor TV, a safe and blow dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hospitality Alliance AG Deutschland, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Hotel Solothurn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Solothurn
Solothurn Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Hotel Solothurn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.