We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely Recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Olten

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Olten to your Saves list
Hotel Olten
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahnhofstrasse 5, Olten 4601, Switzerland (Formerly "TOP Hotel Olten")   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Olten
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Definitely Recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

Conveniently placed near the station, the hotel offers spacious, well looked after, well appointed rooms. The shower room was very modern and also looked new, like the rest.

The breakfast was perfect, with smoked salmon, meat slices and most importantly scrambled eggs and bacon, I really enjoyed that.

Most friendly staff

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    27
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
10
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Unteraegeri, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014 via mobile

Wow, was I ever surprised! For a short notice assignment in Olten on the Weekend, I needed a room. I was advised that others would stay at the Hotel Olten, so I booked my room. From the minute I stepped into the Hotel, until I left it was just one Wow.. After the other. Checked in late on Saturday night and the Staff was very attentive and friendly, in fact all the staff I encountered have been very friendly.
My room was super clean and spacious! My Room was facing the Railway Station but I have absolutely no Noise complains.
I was also very surprised to receive an e-mail two days before my arrival, to wish me a safe trip!

The Manager and her Staff deserve a big Thank you, for making my stay so comfortable. When staying in Olten, this will be my only address!
(Refreshing to see this in Switzerland)

Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

A group of 6 of us stayed at the Hotel often in early September 2014. The newly renovated hotel is clean, spacious and functional. Well situated within walking distance from the old town, the hotel offers a scrumptious breakfast and efficient, friendly staff. Every request was adhered too with a smile and the manageress, Esther, is always on hand to assist. Even with the odd request of a trolley or very early breakfast was not too much to ask of this super team. The staff also converses well in English, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms are pretty similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Ended up here due to a mix up with one hotel and they were great. Quickly accommodated me on the spot, provided ironing facilities for me and even a Swiss plug adapter when mine decided to break (bad day!!!)

Wireless access was free and good quality. The room was super warm though and the air con noisy so ended up opening the window which meant getting the noise of the trains nearby. Being a city boy it's no problem but light sleepers will have a tough time.

Very helpful staff, easy access and direction from the station and good clean rooms.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genf
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I've been last week at the Hotel Olten (business trip) and it was fantastic! Its a little bit more expensive than the 4* hotel arte in olten but its worth to pay! Huge rooms, very clean and the staff is friendly!! The face of the building is not really attractiv but everything from inside, reception, rooms breakfeast etc is excellent! Thanks for the good service!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOlten, Front Office Manager at Hotel Olten, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Hello,

thank you very much for your time and the great feedback.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our house.

Best wishes from Switzerland

Your Hotel Olten Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
153 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

CH is expensive, but this hotel offers good sized rooms at excellent value. It seems mainly to be a congress hotel, so when I stayed at the weekend it was pretty empty so much so that check in was by using an automatic code to find a key card in a box at an unstaffed reception. Breakfast was the normal buffet style, with a few hot items, and was fine but unmemorable. It's about 50m from the main rail line but I hardly heard the trains at all, thanks to excellent noise insulation. Overall, for Switzerland this was great value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

The Hotel is located just next to the Railway station providing good connectivity . The rooms are spacious and clean. The Breakfast provided is good and staff is also helpful. Overall a good Hotel for its price.....will definitely stay here next time.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOlten, Front Office Manager at Hotel Olten, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Google Translation
Danke schön!!! Für Ihre wertvolle Zeit, uns zu bewerten. Sie helfen uns nicht nur unsere Dienstleistungen zu erweitern und perfektionieren, sondern auch die Beliebtheit des HOTEL OLTEN zu steigern.
Mille Grazie!!! Thank you very much!!! Merci beaucoup!!!
Ihr HOTEL OLTEN-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Olten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olten

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 5, Olten 4601, Switzerland (Formerly "TOP Hotel Olten")
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Solothurn > Olten
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Olten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Olten 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here we are...... with new rooms, with a new front desk and new conference rooms.Hotel Olten is a modern business and city hotel in a central location in Olten. It is ideal for tourists, business persons, conferences and much more.We are located at the train station. It is only a two minutes walk from the old town and the city center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Olten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Olten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.