We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, quiet, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel am Spisertor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel am Spisertor to your Saves list
Hotel am Spisertor
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Moosbruggstrasse 1, St. Gallen 9000, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in St. Gallen
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“clean, quiet, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

It comes as a bit of a surprise that the hotel shares the building and the dining hall with a nursing home. The hallways of the hotel have a bit of an institutional feel, but the rooms are spotless and relatively spacious and don't feel like a nursing home room! I liked the fact that the dining hall is shared with the nursing home residents but it may not be for everyone. The guests of the hotel and the home are kept separate and hotel guests get their own breakfast selection. The location is very good for exploring the old city.

Room Tip: a room out the back away from the main street would be quieter in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    17
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
1
19
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed here for a couple nights in August 2013 while visiting the Appenzell region. Highly recommend it! The room was nice sized (spacious compared to others in Switzerland!), with very comfortable bed and large bathroom. Breakfast was included and was excellent with lots of choices. It's a short bus ride from the train station, but also a short walk. We rode the bus going (not knowing the town), but walked through town to catch the train the day we departed. It is right on the edge of the city center, so perfect for visiting the sites and dining out. So what if it's connected to an elderly stay place... Oh, there's also a grocery store adjacent to it, so very convenient to pick up something to take with you for a picnic. Good wifi service. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: They only offer a few rooms; any of them is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellinzona, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The hotel share the same structure with a residential care home for aged people. Restaurant is shared, but of course this was not a problem at all.
Hotel position was the great thing. We just had to cross a road and were already in the city center. The Abbey with his breathtaking library was just 5 minutes walk from the hotel.
The check-in was very fast, staff friendly. The hotel offer a free parking just below the structure. You will be given a free card to exit.
WiFi worked well everywhere in the hotel, including our room.
The room was clean, and comparing quality-price, I would certainly recommend this hotel for a visit of the city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Bit of a drama getting into the place! We emailed to say we may arrive 15 mins after check in time closed (9pm) and they said that was fine. Arrived at 9.10pm and the place had shut up shop, we walked around the side and found an intercom, which took us through to a cleaner there who spoke very little English. After a lot of mucking about we eventually got our room key from her and shown to our room. It had two single beds, booked a double, no air con. The room was clean and tidy and the shower was good with plenty of towels. The place was quiet and we had a peaceful sleep. The breakfast was continental, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, juice, cheese bread, tea, coffee. It was a 15 minute walk from the station, about 5 minutes to town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I usually try to maintain an open mind, but this was unquestionably the strangest place I have ever stayed. We arrived on a Saturday evening and the front desk had a sign that said please proceed to the dining room. When we entered the dining room we were greeted by stares from numerous tables consisting of elderly groups, until a staff member spotted us. While she was escorting us back out to the desk it was explained that one side of the building was a hotel, the other side of the building was a nursing home, and they shared the dining room. The room was basic with the shower being the floor to accommodate a wheel chair. The breakfast was limited and basic, where the only cereal offered was two flavors of individual cereal boxes; no muesli at this place. The only redeeming factor was the great location, which made the entire altstadt accessible by foot. I’ll probably end up in a nursing home eventually, but I am not ready yet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have stayed here twice now (once in September 2012 and most recently 2 weeks ago) and I was happy both times. The rooms are nothing fancy but they are clean and comfortable and for the price it's really fantastic. The hotel is part of an old persons home so it's a quiet location and there is a separate entrance if you come back late at night. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We wanted to get the room by 12 30 as we had to be showered and ready by 1:30 and it was no problem, they just shifted us to a room that was already cleaned. The location is unbeatable at the edge of old town. The breakfast is nothing special and rarely you get such a small selection of items at breakfast in Switzerland but it covered the basics: yogurt, cereal, cheese, cold cuts, bread, juices.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

this is a very nice quiet hotel which has only 12 rooms. it is part of a nursing home. the staff were excellent friendly and very helpful. there is a supermarket underneath the hotel. it is only a step away from the old town and shopping area and the cathedral. (be aware that the centre of the cathedral is under construction so make sure you down miss out on seen the choir stalls and the cript) the hotel reception closes in the evening so you must enter by the side entrance, which is an easier way in for able bodied people. the main entrance to the hotel is a little confusing if you are standing facing the building the entrance to the hotel is to the left of the supermarket and not on the right as the sign suggests. Don't let the fact that it is part of a nursing home put you off I was in two minds about booking here but so glad i did. Breakfast was excellent buffet and you can have as much as you like. if you can speak German/swiss you will be able to order eggs / boiled/scrambled etc, for breakfast.

Room Tip: as far as I know all the rooms are facing onto the gardens belonging to the nursing home
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel am Spisertor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel am Spisertor

Address: Moosbruggstrasse 1, St. Gallen 9000, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of St. Gallen > St. Gallen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in St. Gallen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel am Spisertor 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel am Spisertor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel am Spisertor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.