We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, but OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elite St. Gallen

Hotel Elite St. Gallen
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Elite St. Gallen to your Saves list
Hotel Elite St. Gallen
Metzgergasse 9 9000 St. Gallen, Switzerland, St. Gallen 9004, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 St. Gallen B&B and Inns
Nijmegen, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Simple, but OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Simple hotel close to restaurants and city center, somewhat outdated, needs some renovation, but clean, helpful staff; very simple breakfast but good coffee. Location good and room rate very affordable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
1
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Friendly staff, extremely clean throughout. Close to the Marktplatz. A 10 min amble to the bus and rail station also a very frequent bus / trolleybus service (2 or 3 stops) .
Short flight of steep stairs to the reception on the first floor, lift to all other floors. Buffet-breakfast was unimaginative.
This was my third visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annemasse, France
Top Contributor
432 reviews 432 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 150 cities Reviews in 150 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

But you do hear everything in the room next door. The location is indeed central. The staff are kind and smiling. The wifi worked fine. Scrupulously clean. Some rooms without toilet or shower for 80 CHF....

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

The Hotel is nearly downtown and therefore it was our choise for the night. We had a double room with bath. The room is small but not tiny. The bath is small and old. Never before I have been in a hotel with shower curtains. It had a smell while I toke a shower. The bed was too soft for me, haven't had a long sleep that night.
The breakfast was special as there were no fresh cheese or meat. Everything is in small single portions: jam, spread cheese (absolutely not easy to spread), liver sausage, butter. There were only plain yoghurt and fruit yoghurt that were fresh. Eggs where cooked and colored like you get them at easter.
Eventually the hotel was "Elite" some 30 years ago, but wasn't refurbished since then. Even the crockery looks that old.
It was disappointing for 160CHF.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
139 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

I picked this hotel because of it location and reasonable price – one can hardly find a hotel room under CHF100! Room rate came with a good continental breakfast.

This hotel located very close to the market square and only 5 minutes walk from the train station. It was easy to find the hotel, once you found the street; you can see the big sign of the hotel. There are lots of restaurants around the hotel so looking for a meal is never a problem. A metro station was just by the entrance of the street. Therefore it is easy to go anyway although I could just walk to the main train station and the city center where the tourist information center are located.

The single room is a lot more spacious then Hotel Oberland. I even have a closet in the room. Room was clean and the double bed was comfortable, although the may need to fix the headboard of the bed.

There was heater, a sofa and a small TV, a working desk and a chair in the room. Free wifi in the room is a plus.

Bathroom was clean with enough amenities.

One thing I have mention here though, I had to walk up a few steps before reaching the reception. This may be hard for people that carry big bags. However the service from the staff was good.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
139 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

I picked this hotel because of it location and reasonable price – one can hardly find a hotel room under CHF100! Room rate came with a good continental breakfast.

This hotel located very close to the market square and only 5 minutes walk from the train station. It was easy to find the hotel, once you found the street; you can see the big sign of the hotel. There are lots of restaurants around the hotel so looking for a meal is never a problem. A metro station was just by the entrance of the street. Therefore it is easy to go anyway although I could just walk to the main train station and the city center where the tourist information center are located.

The single room is a lot more spacious then Hotel Oberland. I even have a closet in the room. Room was clean and the double bed was comfortable, although the may need to fix the headboard of the bed.

There was heater, a sofa and a small TV, a working desk and a chair in the room. Free wifi in the room is a plus.

Bathroom was clean with enough amenities.

One thing I have mention here though, I had to walk up a few steps before reaching the reception. This may be hard for people that carry big bags. However the service from the staff was good.

Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Elite St. Gallen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elite St. Gallen

Address: Metzgergasse 9 9000 St. Gallen, Switzerland, St. Gallen 9004, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of St. Gallen > St. Gallen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in St. Gallen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Elite St. Gallen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Elite St. Gallen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.